We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #29 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have to tell that this place is awesome. Well, you can find many along the zona hotelera in Cancun, but the access to the sea (except rocky parts) is amazing, just directly from the pool area. Animators are great. And the hotel is exceptional. Service is just according to Riu standarts - one of the best offer of food :-) It is not so far from town by bus (ruta 1 or 2) and close to the ferry to Isla mujeres. The only thing i hate about cancun is one hotel next to each other. But this is worthy....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,083
    2,767
    950
    442
    341
See reviews for
1,816
3,936
132
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I after suffering the dreaded Deli belly on precious holidays I was skeptical about eating anything not cremated however the food choice, quality and preparation was first class. Staff were friendly and appeared to genuinely care about guests having a good stay. Beware of the mosquitoes after grounds have been watered but all rooms have screens to save you being bitten and rooms on the higher floors were too high for them to venture to. Loved our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors. Views are great, noise is reduced and mosquitoes don't fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very nice rooms, great staff, great food, there's always something going on. Less then 10 minute walk from all the attractions and the location is safe. Highly recommended. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Absolute love this hotel. We visit it every 6 months. Fantastic friendly staff. Great food. Fun pool activities. We are looking forward to our next trip after the hotel renovations. Excited to see was is changed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-lyme
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wow what an amazing holiday.everything I imagined and more.food-amazing. Setting-amazing.beach-amazing.beautiful white sand and blue ocean 12 steps down from the hotel grounds.swimming pools lovely big shout to kelly, ste and lacey who we met and had great fun with jet skiing on the sea swimming with dolphins and kayaking brilliant definately on our 'to do' list to return.first time to a hotel with optics and mini bar in our rooms.dont hesitate to book this dream place x

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank mrsbaggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

First time visiting the area and we booked the Riu through a travel agent who highly recommended the property. We were not disappointed! Four of us had two adjoining rooms that came well stocked with bottled water, sodas, and alcohol, all of which was replenished every other day during our stay. We ate most of our meals on the property and because the dinning room had a different theme of food every evening we did not get tired of eating there. We took turns eating in the outdoor areas and dining room for lunch and the variety was great. All of the bars were wonderful and there was always someone coming around the beach offering drinks. My girls loved the disco at night and all of the activities during the day at the pool, and I just enjoyed relaxing.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor which had great views but a bummer waiting on the elevators in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Amazing hotel, staff were amazing and very friendly always wanting to help! Variety of different types of food.

Rooms were dated however they have all been done up this year and look amazing!
Entertainment staff were very friendly entertaining everyone at the pool all day then the same in the night doing different shows. They also sell all the nightclub tickets and take you the busiest nightclubs when the final show is finished.

Recommend this hotel to anyone whether you are a couple, young, old or families its a mixed hotel different pools to suit different people.

Hotel is most central for people travelling to Cancun for their first time, walking distance from all nightclubs such as coco bongos and all the shops, also their is a shopping mall facing the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing