We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in October 13 probably one of the best and friendliest I have ever been to. The staff couldn't have been better. Food was also very good. Extremely good value for money. We were all inclusive which seemed the best option.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Neil12142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,314
    2,877
    993
    465
    359
See reviews for
1,916
4,158
136
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon, pure white sandy beach, brilliant location, lovely hotel and brilliant staff. There are lovely places to visit nearby, boat trips ect. The main eating area is lovely and has a very wide choice of food. Excellent place to go, as soon as we got back we wanted to go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very nice from when u walk in the hotel they greet u with drinks. breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet style … Rooms were amazing free liquor in room. Each morning when your room is cleaned out they refill ur refrigerator with soda and water. Please don't over pack i overpack with too much clothes and didn't get to wear them all. Go with shorts n skirts maybe 1 pair of pumps and thats all… Party life was amaziingggg. Only thing wrong was the the elevators very slow. Drinks were water down except for the long island ice tea other than that i recommend u get drunk in ur hotel room i stayed on the 15th floor my ocean view wasss amazing….i stayed for 5 days just came back today. i highly recommend for your first time. i walked with 500$usd and came home with 150$ only because i booked excursions...

Room Tip: 12 floor or higher for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rolondra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We found RIU Cancun in 2008 and have been back every year. The staff are hard working, friendly and accommodating. The all you can eat buffet always has something even the pickier eaters will find tasty. If you can, reserve a dinner at the Steak House, it was delicious and the view of the sun going down over the beach just gorgeous. The hotel was just remodeled and looks beautiful and kept immaculately clean which is hard to do because some guests were careless/thoughtless/inconsiderate. One downside is that they didn't leave an outside walkway from the pool on the far right side to the rest of the outside area which causes you to walk through the hotel with a wet bathing suit (frowned upon and slippery) or having to walk the beach to get to the eating areas. Also, they put the stage for the nightly entertainment outside where as before it was in doors and air conditioned. The breeze helped but the pillars blocked the view from some seating areas. Sadly, it seemed that there were not as many workers as there used to be, which is probably the cost of the renovations. All and all, you cannot go wrong coming to the RIU and we can't wait to come back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is spotless and the rooms are very nice--especially with the ocean view! The restaurants on-site serve amazing food with a wide variety, so much so that you do not get bored with the food and don't actually WANT to dine outwith the hotel! The staff are all really attentive and friendly. I loved my time at Riu Cancun and cannot wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stopped here a few years ago and have to say its the best value AI we have had. The hotel was well kept throughout, the staff were friendly and always happy to help. The rooms were cleaned daily and well presented. We were on 11th floor with a view out to sea, the room as part of the AI had 4 optics with shorts and a fridge full of beer and soft drinks that were replaced everyday. The food in the main areas was great for buffet different every night and well cooked always hot and tasted great. there are some themed foods available and all worth a try as they match up to the food throughout the hotel,

As for cancun its quite in the day and mad at night. most hotels have AI so most people stay in or around their hotel, at night the fun starts and of course that depended on what you want to do.

Whilst there we went on a couple of trips to Chichen itza and Tulum. Tulum was part of a trip that took in an eco park something that is well worth trying especially if you enjoy swimming

All in all a good value hotel with great food and service

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here with friends in July 2013 and can't wait to go back! We stayed in a Junior Suite which had plenty of room and the views from our huge balcony were amazing. I read some of the reviews before our trip that stated that the food wasn't very good so I was a little worried. After visiting this lovely resort, I must say that he previous reviewers must have been very picky eaters because we all thought the food was great AND we had a couple of picky eaters in our group with us. I must say that burgers were not very good, but there are plenty of food choices so you should find something to suit your tastes...you will not go hungry here. We mainly ate from the buffet so everybody could find something they liked. We did eat at the steakhouse and the Japanese restaurant and both were exceptional. The staff was very friendly. The beaches were pretty, but watch out for the big rocks in the water. Since this resort is all inclusive, I was able to try different alcoholic drinks that I normally wouldn't buy myself and have found a few new favorites. Overall, this was a fantastic vacation. I just can't see someone being disappointed with their decision to stay at this resort. If we go back to Cancun, we will definitely be returning to the Hotel Riu Cancun.

Room Tip: When booking a Junior Suite, the views are better from the 4th, 5th, and 6th floors. It seemed to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#39 of 175 in Cancun
690 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 175 in Cancun
7,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,157 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#38 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing