We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Jack Tar Village

Jack Tar Village
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jack Tar Village
Ranked #121 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great hotel. Very clean. We had no complaints when we stayed here

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank scottjames1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

My Dad, my brother and I, stayed for an all inclusive week. We wanted to relax, see some ruins, and "hang out". We loved the stay. The staff was outstanding, especially Fernando who worked down at the Beach Bar. He made sure that we were taken care of at all times. Plenty of food, drink and entertainment. The staff worked very hard and still kept a sense of humour while making sure that every one enjoyed their stay. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious (not that we spent much time there). We made day trips to the Mayan ruins, we went diving on the reef, we drove little speed boats like maniacs thru the mango swamp, we partied with a very international crowd and.... WE HAD FUN!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SardogComoxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Had a wonderful time here the staff were brilliant especially JoseJuan and Paolo.
Has a great location right on the beach.
Stayed all inclusive and was impressed by the standard of food and drinks.
Entertainment was good too.
Well worth paying a little extra for the better rooms.
Had a top floor room with a nice balcony overlooking the ocean and the beach the view was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BriBriUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I love cancun and the jacktar village. i had a big room great service
and good food. and you cant beat the beach.

Stayed: October 2003
3  Thank sushigal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Jack Tar on our Honeymoon just before Christmas in 2001. We absolutely LOVED it.
We were a little worried when the coach pulled up outside, having dropped other visitors off at various swanky hotels, as it did look a bit shabby and past its sell by date. We needn't have worried. Once through the doors we were warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms.
Our room was quite large and overlooked the lagoon side of Cancun as well as a number of roofs of smaller establishments near by. At our welcome meeting we reminded our rep that we were on honeymoon and within a couple of hours of getting back to the hotel they had moved us to the pool and seaview side of the hotel and the view was amazing, especially watching the storm clouds over the turquoise ocean.
The staff were incredibly friendly, especially the beach bar staff and the cleaners. Our cleaner seemed to take pride in presenting us with ever more elaborate towel sculptures each day once she knew we were on honeymoon.
We only went for a week and have wanted to go back ever since. It's not as large or as flash as some of the nearby hotels but it makes up for it with friendly staff, fantastic views and NO KIDS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2005

Excellent beach. Average food. Smallish rooms, but nicely appointed. Fun, if amatureish, entertainment. Great lobby bar. Fun community games.

Bottom line: great hotel for the money. There are, of course, much nicer places; Jack Tar Village nicely fills the gap in between total economy (read "cheap") and total luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank kellysooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Romford, Essex, UK
114
Reviewed 19 October 2004

My wife and I stayed at the JTV in June/July 2001 for our honeymoon.

Perfect beach, crystal water. Hotel was great too. Rooms were nice and clean. Staff were great. They worked so hard to make your stay that much better. It was my first AI and it was a good one to start with, loved the food too. You have got to try the Mexican Restaurant on sight. Very entertaining waiters. And don't miss the Jungle cruise. Fantastic.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.6 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#60 of 176 in Cancun
1,416 reviews
4.5 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
4.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,097 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
4.6 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack Tar Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack Tar Village

Address: Retorno Del Ray Lote 37 2nd, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Hotel Class:4 star — Jack Tar Village 4*
Number of rooms: 175

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing