We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday of a Lifetime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Holiday of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went to Cancun for 2 weeks in March 2012. We booked through Thomson Holidays and had a terrific experience from beginning to end. I read many reviews on this hotel and went prepared with air fresheners as many people commented about the musty smell. To be fair the main place we noticed it was in the corridor outside the room, but we still used the air fresheners just in case. I am inclined to think that this was exaggerated by many.
Our first impression of the hotel was excellent and we found all staff lovely and helpful. The food was very good and we managed to try all the different restaurants. The only one I would not have gone back to was the Japanese one as the food was very salty.
The location of the hotel was ideal. Our Thomson rep Christian was very helpful with info on local buses etc. and although we booked a few organised trips, we used the local buses frequently, saving a fair bit on taxi fares.
Our room was on the 8th floor, we had a lovely balcony and the view was breathtaking.
We would recommend a trip to Coco Bongos -we bought VIP Gold tickets from Thomsons- well worth it as we got fast tracked in and got seats upstairs with a brilliant view. The Captain Hook dinner cruise is a must! Fantastic!! We also did the jungle boat trip -again very good.
Riu Palace was a wonderful hotel with great evening entertainment and friendly helpful staff. Hope to get back there some day.

Room Tip: If you are on 8th floor request a room with a balcony as some on that floor don't have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M700RAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,924
    1,509
    469
    203
    146
See reviews for
1,190
2,918
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I went their for two weeks in July last year with my boyfriend and his family and had the most amazing time. We went through Thompsons and were greeted onto the bus with free beers!! When we got the hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome and free cocktails with checking in. The main thing about this grand hotel is the view as soon as you go outside, one word - amazing!
Rooms were large and the optics were just a perk!! We had a room with a view and every night sitting watching the pirate ship go by was excellent!
I know their is complaints about the food in past reviews but I can't fault, breakfast, lunch and dinner their was always something different and very good quality!.
We tried out the brazillian japanese and Mexican restaurant and I can't fault them. The Brazillian was my favourite by far.
So much for the drinks being watered down, I think it was quite the opposite and I was drinking ameretto sours and other cocktails every day and they were very strong! The staff are always keeping you entertained with games and dancing through the day, you can't fault them.
I hope this helps anyone who is interested in this hotel, I was amazing from start to finish!! Put it this way this year we will trying out the Riu Palace in Punta Cana hoping its the same!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was the second time my fiancé and I stayed at this location. It was just as amazing as the first time, the staff was constantly cleaning and the bartender remembered us even after not begin there for 18 months. If you go make sure to go see Abundio at the inside bar, he is definately the life of the party. We did not take any trips on vacation but did make it to Señor Frogs for a few drinks and entertainment. We definately be going back to the resort in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobalicious_____1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited the Riu Palace in February 2012. This was our first time to Cancun and it was a great place to stay for the price.

We had an ocean view corner room with a wrap around balcony that gave us a fabulous view of the ocean and the harbour area which was beautiful at night. When you get there and if you paid for the ocean view room ask to see if you can get a corner room. It also looked over the "party pool" which was fun in the afternoon from your balcony. A bit noisy but fun. The resort was always very very clean. They spend alot of time cleaning this place but could concentrate on the beach and hot tub areas a little more. The upper balcony hot tub was just gross by the end of the stay.

The food was very good just about everywhere we ate at the resort. The buffet is full of anything anyone may be looking for. I stuck with the Mexican offerings and I was always ready to go back for more. The Guacamole, fresh salsa, tortilla chips and made to order burritos were very, very good. We ate in every restaurant as well and some were better than others. Our favorite was the Japanese. Their appetizer sushi platter was very good and they had no problem giving us another platter when we asked for it. You just have to ask politely and they will accomodate any of your requests. Our mini bar in the room was empty at times but you just call and they come up with water, soda and beer very quickly. We sat at the "party pool" bar only once and the bartenders always had a backup drink as soon as our glasses were just about empty. We eventually had to walk away before we got to much "all inclusive" in us. The beach waiters always remembered what we were drinking and were also very attentive. A one dollar tip can go a long way with many of these servers.

The chairs around the "party pool" fill up quickly as we found many guests are veteran all inclusive resort goers so many will be up by 4:00am to reserve the best seats around the pool with their towels. If you like the activities associated with the pool and easy access to the bar/food then you may want to get up early and reserve your seat. We preferred going to the beach. You could easily find some nice spots on the beach without getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve a chair. The beach is small but you can spread out the chairs so you are not on top of your neighbor. There are fish over by the rocks so if you get some crackers or bread you can feed schools of fish. The snorkeling is pretty good too. There are vendors who will go around and sell rafts for about $10. I would bring one in your suitcase from the dollar store if you think you want a floating device. Our raft eventually popped but we enjoyed it while we had it!

The location of this resort is great. It is within walking distance to just about everything. We shopped in the shops, the trendy nightclubs are just down the street and it is easy access to everything. When you stay at the RIU Palace you are next door to another RIU resort. Because you are staying at the PALACE resort you also have access to everything in this resort (restaurants, pools etc). The people next door can't use the facilities at the RIU Palace. There is another RIU you can use but that is further away. The RIU Palace is much fancier that the other two facilities.

We did two excurtions. We visited Talum (Mayan ruins) and a snorkeling trip. Talum was a great tour if you want to see some history without leaving for an entire day. There is a shopping area outside the ruins which was fun and the tour was very informative. The snorkeling trip was a 1/2 day trip starting at the Adventure Park and was also a good experience. The facilty was very clean and we had a great lunch after the snorkeling trip right at the Adventure Park. It is a nice bus ride back to the hotel and the tour guides are very informative. We like to adventure out into the different countries we visit so these were both nice tours. I asked how safe it was to venture out (news reports have been bad lately) and the tour guide said that if you stay in the "state" that Cancun is in you should be fine but if you head to another state you will probably have problems. Tip: do a professional tour or stick to the areas near the resort and you should be fine. There are checkpoints on the highways loosly monitoring who comes in and goes out of the area.

We also took a local bus to the Flea Market near the Walmart. That was an adventure! We always felt safe and everyone was very helpful in letting us know where we needed to go as it was a little confusing at first. Ask the front desk what bus number to get on and it will take you right to Walmart and the flea market. You get on the same bus number back and they will drop you at the RIU. Walmart in Mexico was fun. It was nice to show my 12 year old different things you can purchase in a different country (we brought back Mexican candy and plantain chips for his Spanish class). We also purchased tequilla in Walmart. What a selection and it was less expensive than what you can get it in the tourist shops. Be sure to take home some mexican vanilla too (they have it in Walmart). It is sooo much different than what you get in the US!

The negatives: The air conditioning in the hotel was speratic while we were there. You have to keep your balcony door closed or it will not work in your room. The whole system was on the fritz during our stay and when it didn't work it was very, very musty (more that just tropical weather musty) throughout the resort. The lobby area was always refreshing and cool (no carpets). Cancun is a party place so you may run into some late night noise from people coming back from the clubs. We had someone staying across the hall from us and it sounded like they were pounding on our door when they locked themselves out of their room in a drunken stupor. It was annoying and scared my child but we got over it. A couple dirty looks go a long way to such rude people. Just prepare yourself.

Overall this was a great place to stay. Food is good, Service was good and there was plenty to do in this area. We talked to some other people staying at the resort who were frequent visitors of Cancun and this is one of their favorite spots. They all said you have to be very mindful of where you stay because there are some seriously bad hotels in Cancun that they have been stuck in. They all like it here and so did we. There are so many beachy areas in the world to visit that I am not sure if I would go out of my way to come back to Cancun but I would definitely stay at a RIU Palace resort again.

I hope this helps and enjoy your trip. You will like it.

Room Tip: See if they have an oceanview corner room available. Worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is big and beautiful but the beach is not ample size for the amount of people staying at the resort. You have to get up every morning @7 to go down to towel station and get towels and try to reserve a good spot either on beach or on the patio where there are unbrella's. There are no unbrella's on beach. Service is excellent and people are friendly. Hotel rooms have a musty smell to them for sure. Food was ok not realy a "buffet" person I never trust them but they tried to give you variety.Overall it was an average place for calling themselves a palace! lol Also annoying internet was only available for one hour and half all at once. If you didn't use all your time you got kicked off internet. For places like this "all inclusive" it should really include wifi in hotel and the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just got home yesterday from the RIU. I will start with the highlights of this property.

Location, Location, Location!!! This place has the best location on the beach and on the hotel zone!!!! Walking or a quick bus ride to anything from shopping and nightclubs!!!
The pools are fabulous...the view is fabulous.....the bartenders are fabulous....the wait staff is fabulous!
The rooms are definately spotless clean! Our room was spacious! I don't care how many people said the beds are hard...for me? They were so comfortable!!!!!!!! Finally, a firm bed for my back!

The cons?
Food was not special or even great. Very average.
Problems with our room were:
air conditioning did not work.
no ironing board.
maid service forgot to leave towels in the room
no airflow in the bathroom to help with steam

We did have to ask for above but no help on any of it. (except for towels)

If you are looking for luxury????You won't find it here. I have been to other all-inclusive resorts in cancun and this is NOT one of the luxery resorts. Beautiful grounds, Beautiful location, but just not luxury...
I would not go back here unless it was like a girls weekend. I like luxury with my husband.

Not a bad place, just not a 5 star.
Still had a fabulous time though!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McCormicks130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
298 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We traveled to RPLA during the very busy Easter Week, arriving Good Friday. Although it was at capacity, the entire place was under control, it didn't seem overly busy, and the staff did not seem to be at all stressed.
Check-in was simple. We arrived at noon, and went directly to room 615 which was a gorgeous ocean front room overlooking the jacuzzi and pool. We were thrilled to be lucky to get in the room so quickly.
The staff at RPLA is without a doubt the reason that this place has such amazing reviews-and the reason we loved our week. The staff is gifted at remembering guests, and their specific needs. Our housekeeping was fantastic in our room. She left us some neat towel creatures-that we have included in a picture with our review. Special shout outs to Juan at the pool who always kept our bubbas filled to the brim with cold beer, and to Sergio at the buffet. Sergio was so accommodating to all of our needs-even getting us mango one day when they were out.
We smelled no kind of musty smell whatsoever while we were there. We travelled with others who also told us their room had no odors. We brought lots of Damp Rid, deoderizers, etc. and none were needed at all. Damp Rid picked up a very small bit of moisture in the week that we were there. Every morning we would see at least 6 ladies mopping the front lobby. They took their hard work very seriously. The entire resort as well as grounds is breathtaking.
We visited the Spa while we were there. We had a couples treatment of full body exfoliation, 50 minute Swedish massage, and facial. Heavenly!!
We took the ferry to Isla Mujeres for the day. We planned to leave from Playa Tortugas, but ended up realizing that Playa Caracol is at Km 9.5 a short 1 KM away from RPLA. Yes, it costs $3. more ($20. round trip rather than $17) but the convenience was worth it. Our trip over to Isla at 9AM was direct and 20 minutes, the return trip at 4:00 was closer to 50 minutes as we had to make a stop at Playa Linda. Looking at the schedule it seems as though the 9AM may have been added for the busy week as the schedule shows 10:10 as the first ferry.
The sun does get blocked somewhat in the late afternoon. We went about 4:30 or so up to the jacuzzi on the roof to still enjoy the sun and relax in the jacuzzi jets before getting ready for dinner.
Loved the Mango Daquiris in the Lobby Bar!!
No resort is perfect-although this one is pretty close! We did want to mention a few things that we noticed.
The beach is not good for people who like to walk the beach. In front of RPLA is very nice. If you walk towards RIU Cancun generally you have to walk in the ocean as the beach is rocky so just about impossible to walk in that direction. In the other direction there are parts where the beach is actually just rocks. We walked that direction daily, and really enjoyed seeing the houses as a change from all of the resorts.
The shower in the bathroom is very dark. It looks like there is a space for a light, but we did not have one there.
The food at the a-la-carts was "OK." We did go to all of them, but didn't even really have a favorite. We were disappointed that the Japanese did not cook in front of us, as that is what we were expecting. The Japanese and Steakhouse have the best views of the ocean/sunset, and we were fortunate to spend our last 2 evenings at those restaurants. The buffet food was good and varied.
The only problem that was a bit of an annoyance was the Internet. We purchased 150 minutes of internet usage for 205 pesos (no credit card or US dollars accepted) We used it about 15 minutes a day to check our E-mail. The 4th day when we tried to use it it said we were out of time. We went to the front desk who called the internet company. I spoke to them and they said we had neglected to log out. That seems a little strange to me since we had successfully logged out the first 2 days. We probably had only used 45 minutes or so. The internet company (RPLA has only used them the last month or so) said we had no recourse but to just buy another card for another 150 minutes for 205 pesos...which we did. The front desk tried to help us, but this internet company is not connected to the resort. They did give us a special log out code-and told us that this has happened to other guests. This actually isn't a true reflection of RPLA (the front desk did all they could to help us), but was an experience we had while at this resort.
Overall-an amazing trip and we highly recommend this resort. It felt like we belonged...and we were so sad on the day we had to leave.

Room Tip: Room 615 was awesome. Oceanview is important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing