We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Nearby Hotels
US$506
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$503
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$800
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$458
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$692
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,175)
Filter reviews
7,175 results
Traveller rating
4,569
1,685
540
218
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,569
1,685
540
218
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstio pepemusty smelljapanese restaurantspecialty restaurantsocean viewswim up barcoco bongomattress padsteakquiet poolmake reservationsactivity poolwrap around balconyhotel is beautifulliquor dispenserdinner reservationsjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
2,453 - 2,458 of 7,175 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I have been to Riu Palace las Americas twice, and we have had no complaints either time. A few of the highlights:

FRIENDLY, WILLING-TO-DO-ANYTHING-FOR-YOU STAFF: From the moment you step out of your shuttle bus to the moment you step back in to go home, each and every staff member goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable and worth your money as possible. Please make sure to visit Abundio in the blue bar area (near reception). He places a drink in front of you before yours is gone, and remembers your favorites. Really, though, all the bartenders and waitstaff are excellent!

FOOD: The breakfast buffet is delicious. Many choices or meats and eggs, frittatas, omelets made to order, pastries, breads, etc. The lunch buffet is just as delicious - though it seems to repeat itself more than the breakfast does. For dinner, we made reservations at the specialty restaurants each night. Our favorite was the steak dinner, though all were good. The steak dinner came with a delicious seafood platter appetizer to share and a large lobster tail, as well as salad, potato, and bread. If you stay longer than a week, you will probably get bored of the food, but that is when we ventured off the resort and went to Bubba Gumps or Hard Rock Cafe.

BEACH: The beach is on the smaller side and is a little rocky. At around 1:00 in the afternoon, the shadow of the hotel towers over much of the beach, so it can be tricky to find a sunny spot to tan if that's what you're looking for. Both times we've been, however, it seemed as though most people preferred the pools anyway. This worked out good for us since we like the beach better. We never had trouble finding a chair and staff always came out to get us drinks.

POOL: If you want a chair close to the pool, get there at 5 AM- NO JOKE! The pool areas are crowded and popular. There are games going on all the time, BBQs at lunch time, and loud music. Great atmosphere for kids and adults alike!

HOTEL: Beautiful, well-kept, spacious. There are maids cleaning at all hours, anywhere you look. It is probably the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. Anytime we needed something - towels, toilet paper, refills of the bar (your room will contain a small bar that is refilled daily), we received it within minutes. The only thing lacking is room service, but we never ordered it as we were hardly ever in our room. If you are a big room service person, though, you may be disappointed. It is a very limited menu with mostly sandwiches and salads.

One word of caution - BED ARE VERY, VERY HARD! That is probably the only complaint I have about the room.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this resort and will more than likely be back ourselves. Once you go to a Riu Palace, you won't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Try to pick a room with an ocean view, not overlooking the pool, as it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our 8th time now to cancun and 4th at a Riu Hotel. (18-25 Nov)
What can we say?
The service is fantastic, all the staff without exception have been great.
Never had to leave our sun loungers once to get a drink.
The hotel is lovely and clean and rooms are spacious and comfortable
The food is as to be expected with this type of all inclusive, repetitive but something for everyone.
We never tried the other ones as we don't like being held to times on holiday and the queue to book in the morning was always very long.
We prefer the Excellence hotels which are All a la Carte and you don't need to book them.
The beach is small and busy, the sea is lovely and warm
our only issue with this place is the arrangement of sun loungers in the sun
Perhaps due to the time of year and the positioning of the sun, there is very little space to put your loungers, and where there is sun, the beds are crammed together with no room for manoeuvre. .
We are early birds so this was not an issue but if you are not down by 6am you will struggle to get a good bed in the sun as they all get reserved off with towels.
The main pool is very busy and the other one quiet, again due to fact it gets no sun at all at the moment.
The weather for us was fantastic every day for a week, and got great tans, however the week before was apparently dreadful and the forecast for the coming week is also not great. guess we timed it right.
Only 10 minute walk from Night clubs and shops this hotel is ideally situated and you can also use facilities of Riu Cancun next door which is also nice as have stayed here twice before.
Would I call it paradise ? No, not really, as I said earlier the excellence hotels are more special and are adult only but it is definitely a lovely hotel with great staff and ideal location.
would I recommend? Yes, definitely , apart from pool/ sun lounger situation this hotel ticks all the boxes for a family week away with two grown teenagers who like to go into town.
However there is nothing for small children to do and I wouldn't suggest it being great for families with kids under 10, In fact even younger teenagers would be bored as it's definitely geared for adults

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite and was given a free upgrade to ocean view upon arrival. Get a higher floor to be able to get a good view of ocean
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLH0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from Cancun..We stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas this was the second time..We loved it as much as the first time we stayed there. The first time we stayed here, I asked for an ocean view and they up graded us free of charge and not tip induced! When we checked in a week ago, I mentioned we stayed here couple of years ago and Erika at the front desk has us upgraded to a suite with ocean view...Thank you Erika and to the Riu staff....again not tip induced......We have never had to tip to be upgraded or to check in early.....that's why we choose the Rius ......the staff are amazing and truly love they jobs and will do anything for you!!The hotel is top notch we have not a complaint....they property is beautiful, clean quiet and did I mention the best staff of any place we have stayed! My husband said to say a huge thank you to Felipe, the waiter on the beach, always smiling and bringing drinks not stop and a smile from ear to ear....The dining room staff weither is the outside restaurant for lunch or the dining room for dinner.....very professional, friendly and ready willing and able to help you!!!!I want to thank all of the staff at the Riu for a wonderful stay and making it as memorable as the first stay!!!We will be back in March!!!!Cheers to the Riu Palace Las Americas>.xo

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thunder-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our second visit to Cancun, but the first one at the Riu Palace Las Americas.
We chose this hotel based on the many positive reviews we saw here and there.
We also knew that we could have a very good price at this time of the year (mid-november).

Because the hotel was not full, we were offered for free a better room, meaning an Ocean Front room instead of Ocean View, which would have been on the side of the hotel and which was part of our package deal with Signature.ca.
It was also very easy to find a good spot around the pools, in the jacuzzi or on the beach, and to have reservations at the restaurants. Low-season is always more pleasant if you want to relax and rest.

The Cancun beach is a beautiful one with fine white sand and turquoise water, but there are some big rocks everywhere in Cancun. It was possible to take long walk on the beach when going west (the left side of the hotel). It is true that the hotel cast a big shadow on its own beach and pools from 2:30, but if you are an early riser like us, it doesn’t matter. We were on the beach from 9:00, so in the afternoon, we did appreciate the shadow.

Of all the trips we have done in similar resorts, the RPLA is the one with the best food. The buffet was great with a lot of options, and the ‘à la carte’ restaurants that we tried were very impressive. We loved El Romero, the steak house, Kasura, the japanese one, and the Krystal, fusion gourmet style. We ate huge shrimps, crab, lobster, perfect steaks, grilled chicken, prosciutto, smoked salmon, tons of fruits, fresh vegetables and sushis, and had champagne a few times. My advice: try the fabulous Mexican coffee that is available in the morning. It is the one in the big black cooking pot, not the one they served at the table, and had a bit of hot chocolate to it!

When we visited the RPLA, there was some Canadians, french and english speaking, some Americans, some spanish speaking people, and many, many Russians.
The RPLA is a beautiful place and the staff was always very polite and patient.
Some of the staff deserve special mentions,: Emilia of Sunwing, Samuel who did the check-in and Tomas at the Krystal.
We are very happy with our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mevanwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Arrived on Nov 8th late in the afternoon, had lunch in the Italian restaurant, nice menu and very good attitude from the staff, then unpacked and decided to go out and wander around town, dinner buffet was nice as well but got concerned when the cooking lady was eating while serving, next day enjoyed the surroundings, morning buffet was average, the scrambled eggs taste like lard, arriving to the room I realized that we have uninvited guests, a couple of cockroaches very happy wandering around the room, I've killed them and save them on the cleaning staff message sheet, I've found one cockroach on the bathroom and another on the bar table as well; so I took the four dead bugs and took them to the customer service representative (Pablo), he went mute and told me they will change the room to a better suite (Which I really couldn't care less because my issue was the pest control, not the room, that wouldn't warrant that the cockroaches are not gong to be in the new room). I would have expected the manager on duty to contact me directly.

Went to have dinner on the Mexican restaurant, the food was close to terrible, and the wine listing was not very tasty; the new room view was not much better since was shorter sight relative the old room, and the mesh door to the balcony was not working, the staff went to try to make it less stiff without much luck. The rest of the restaurants food (Steak and Japanese) was from good to average.

The servers attitude was great, however the administrative staff looked stiff and bored.

Visited the Riu Palace Peninsula and I deeply regret choose RPLA over RPP.

Room Tip: Look for bugs as you arrive, and ensure the mesh doors to the balcony works.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ferherrejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews