We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort! We always saw people cleaning! Family friendly atmosphere where bartenders were able to make drinks similar to adult beverages for kids. My kids loved the virgin strawberry daiquiris.

Rooms are nice. We were able to get two rooms right next to one another with an outside door to lock! Beds aren't great, but not total rocks. Sofa bed was in both rooms, no need for a rollaway.

Food at the buffet was the best restaurant. My kids enjoyed the variety and ability to try new foods. We tried the Mexican restaurant. It was good. The Japanese restaurant was a disappointment- we thought it would be hibachi. My advice is to look at the menu before making reservations. We assumed too much (this is advice we will use from now on when staying at all-inclusive resorts).

Our stay met our expectations!! We will repeat this vacation in our future travels!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FitzBeach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,924
    1,509
    469
    203
    146
See reviews for
1,190
2,918
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've traveled Mexico extensively staying at many All Inclusive properties as well as many non-all inclusive hotels. Because we've already done most of the tourist kinds of tours and activities with our family through the years, we generally go to Mexico these days to rest and relax. My two daughters and I stayed here July 17 - 21, 2014.

Other reviews have already addressed the basic issues, so I will provide information to help you answer the important question - Is this hotel a good choice for my vacation?

This hotel IS a GOOD CHOICE if:
Shopping/activities close is important
Lots of Nightlife close by is important
You want good international food but also plenty of familiar choices such as hamburgers, hot dogs, chips with guacamole, fruit loops and pancakes, etc.
Shallow swimable beach. A five minute walk to the left from the hotel there are lots of shallow warm water areas to enjoy with no seaweed.
Open-air tiled hallway noise is a problem. The hallways here are enclosed and somewhat air conditioned so you don't get the hallway noise that you get in many resort hotels in Cancun that have the tiled open-air hallways.


This hotel is NOT a GOOD CHOICE if:
-You enjoy walking the beach as you only have beach for 15 minutes in either direction
-Laid back atmosphere - this is more of a busy location than other non-downtown Cancun hotels
-You want to be assured a good view. Many of the rooms here have a horrible view of a back street and buildings. Many of the top floor ocean view rooms only have sliding windows with no sliding door or balcony.
- you want to be assured of a quiet room. The rooms on the right side (east) of the hotel not facing the beach face the construction at the Riu Cancun which will be under renovation for a long time to come and woke us up with banging very early the first morning, so we changed rooms. (That is NOT my idea of vacation) Plus, although our third room had a wonderful oceanfront location, we heard a lot of noise from the room above us and the room next to us.
- you enjoy a good cup of coffee. The coffee throughout the resort was weak american style coffee. When you ask for espresso, it is strong but tastes like Nescafé instant (which by the way, is what they give you in the evening if you ask for decaf)

BOTTOM LINE - great location for partying, shopping or playing in shallow calm water but there are lots better places to stay for good food, service and outstanding views.

The Riviera Maya area going south from the airport is much more relaxed with fabulous hotels. We actually prefer the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, where you get the same great service and good food but it is much more laid back and a slower pace.

The hotel is booked FULL for the summer so waiters at the main buffet are actually running at every meal

TIPS - fun way to be popular. You quickly get known as a tipper and everyone wants you at their table. We just tipped $2 US for breakfast, $2 for lunch and $5 for dinner, but it made us wildly popular. I just take bundle of $1 and $5 bills. Doesn't cost us much but is a huge thing for their waiters and service people who don't earn much. Also left a $5 a day tip for the maid, but anything would be hugely appreciated.

-Wifi spotty at best

ROOMS:
-Many non-ocean view rooms have cruddy or marginal views
-Check-in a mess
-Spent our entire second day waiting for a room and then got a room with a loud, barely functioning AC (they had been working on it all afternoon and had to have known it still was not working) and that evening we had to change rooms yet again as it was too hot and noisy to sleep in that room.
-We got different stories about available rooms from each front desk person throughout our stay. Very frustrating!
-Room safes are not even digital so you have to take a key with you at all times
-rooms are very comfortable, although dated
- balconies of some rooms on the Oceanview side are such that you really can't see the view clearly if sitting on the balcony because of the way it is made with thick round columns. Just too many rooms here that are not desirable for the price you pay.
-We found out that the price we paid for the cruddy street view noisy room the first night was the same price that got us the largest two room jacuzzi suite with ocean front view for our last two nights. What is wrong with that picture? Guess it is just the luck of the draw as to what is available when you check-in and how much you insist on a better view, not to mention what front desk person helps you. Part of the problem was that the reservation did not specify an oceanview room because none were available when we made the reservation; however, they were available when we were at the hotel.

Air Conditioned lobby, which is a huge plus
Good location for partying or shopping outside of the hotel

BEFORE ARRIVAL, go to Riu.com to sign up for Riu Class for added benefits. If you are making a rather last minute reservation and you have to call the Riu direct reservations after signing up for Riu Class (888) 748-4990 because everyone else shows them as full, with the Riu Class you get round trip airport transfers for free if booked more than seven days ahead
- Riu Palace Puerto Vallarta is SO much better. New and much more personable. Lovely beach area as well as a much nicer pool area.
-This is an older property much in need of updating, which thankfully we heard should be next year.

To the hotel's credit, when our flight to Cabo San Lucas was cancelled due to thunderstorms, but we were able to get a flight that night to Cancun, because we had booked directly with Riu, they transferred our reservations to Cancun without penalty.

AIRPORT RETURN - Only $32 for a private taxi that can be arranged right before leaving the hotel, which sure beats waiting around for a group shuttle to arrive hours before you need to be at the airport.

So, all in all, we had a nice stay and our third room ended up being quite lovely, but there are just too many nicer, updated properties we would prefer to visit than to return here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the entertainment pool will be noisy during the day and until 11 p.m. on evenings when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Texasmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just came back from Cancun while staying in this Riu Palace. Room is spacious and clean. All inclusive is amazing with mini bar in room, so you don't have to worry about finding way back to your room even if you drunk.
We were there during the FIFA final games. TV in room was so poor that cannot even see where is the soccer ball. So much statics even in their own hotel channel. Luckily, the hotel organize a big screen in their theatre so we could still enjoy the game with everyone in the hotel.
The best part is you could share the facilities with other Riu hotel near by. We went over to the Riu Peninsulas which has different theme. Its a newer hotel but the beach is much nicer. If you prefer better beach, spend little extra.

Room Tip: choose the west side higher than 5th floor so to have both lagoon and ocean view if you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here 10th June -24th June 2014 with my boyfriend! Had an amazing two weeks! We stayed in Riu Palace Peninsula last September! Both hotels are magnificent! Peninsula is more modern! but las americas is due a refurb soon! Still very classy and elegant! i'm hoping they don't change outside too much as it was perfect!!! Staff are great! Atmosphere was better at the Las Americas & two minute walk to the strip :) we saved lots of money on taxis!

RIU chain is amazing love both hotels I have stayed in so far!

Room Tip: We had a standard room but some people we met had a suite! I would definitely recommend the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SophieMarieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Such a wonderful mini escape that should last a lifetime. Beautiful lobby , good beach & great bar pool! It was relaxing and fun,you'll never be without a drink in your hand. All staff are amazing making sure your pleased. If your interested in booking tours or nightlife suggestions , I would definitely recommend Samuel from Olympus tours . He was very attentive and helpful, would go an extra mile to perfect your stay. Second time around in this hotel and I must say it doesn't disappoint with it's great location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Payala93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Riu Palace 2nd to 16th July 2014 had a Fantastic time. Nothing really to complain about just 1 or 2 little things, evening entertainment show was a bit short & not great quality but can't complain as the Karaoke kept us laughing for ages & was worth the rest not being very good. Occasionally the Coffee in the Buffett was warm instead of hot that's it nothing else to moan about.
On arrival taken straight to our room (324) by a bell boy on which we noticed a chip on our balcony with lots of ants on it straight away a cleaner came up & dealt with it so no problem. The floor in the room was a bit sticky & yes a musky smell when you first walk in but never smelt it again after the 1st day. The room was big & had 2 Queen beds pushed together again not a problem.
When you 1st walk through the doors the reception area looks amazing oldish yes but great charm & a lot better than the Peninsula that we visited during the holiday new & modern but boring.
The best bit is when you walk from reception to the 1st pool what a Brilliant View took our breathes away could stay in the infinity pool looking at the sea view all day long loved that pool so much the 2nd pool was the lively pool but only used it the once but that had a great view too.
Food we only used 1 of the restaurants Krystal's once which was very nice but the Buffett was so good we didn't need the restaurants,now I noticed the odd people on here moaning about the food & the service they make me laugh the food was good quality & varied & the waiters never stopped working or offering you more drinks they worked very hard & deserved there tips which We always wanted to give and never ever felt under pressure by any waiter or waitress in the restaurant or by the pool or in fact anywhere in the hotel to have to give any tip. In fact at the end off the Holiday we went looking for certain members of staff to give them a little extra as they looked after us from start to finish.
Had 2 Massages in the spa a little expensive at $169 for 2 or $95 each but never had one before so thought sod it.
Free wi fi in the room & reception I even face timed my kids from in the infinity pool which was awesome showing them the view it worked most times with the occasional time it didn't.
Lots of Americans but we had a laugh with most of them also as the World Cup was on some friendly banter with some people from other country's.
If you go with Thomson I recommend 2 1/2 trips Albatross catamaran had a fantastic day was so hot though, Xel-Ha $209 each with the swim & snorkel with the Dolphins have to pay for some other stuff so can be more expensive we paid another $198 for a video & pictures with the Dolphins so it's not cheap but again a fantastic day.
The half is the Captain Cook trip great entertainment until on the way back when they played that boom boom rubbish music was also a bit overcrowded.
Overall Hotel & staff 10 out of 10 would defiantly recommend staying here unless your a miserable git & like to moan about the smallest thing if so stay at home & don't go anywhere rather not have you anywhere I go too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the riu palace for our honeymoon 24th June for 14 nights, this was our 2nd visit to the palace, yes there is building work going on next door & you can hear it from time to time, yes there is a little dust around the entertainment pool & some debris does make it into the pool.
This takes nothing away from the hotel experience, the rooms are perfectly kept, the food is amazing, the staff are faultless..
Tipping regardless of the amount is appreciated by the staff, Abu the bar tender in the main lobby bar will never let you glass get half empty & he can make any cocktail you can think of.
We had a fantastic 14 nights & we will return in a few years without doubt, we only hope the amazing character of the palace is not lost when it gets refurbished, the lobby is one of the finest I have seen in 30 years of travel...breathtaking views to meet you on arrival...

Room Tip: Beach view high floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing