We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace Las Americas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was an all inclusive package, booked directly through Riu.Com, saved about 400$ with flight and hotel, 7 nights Friday to Friday out of Austin, Tx. direct flight. Hotel gave us an upgrade from jr. suite to 2 room suite ocean view. Food was great, good selection at buffet, went to 2 of the specialty restaurants, Japanese and Fusion both where excellent. Drinks at all bars were very good sometimes asked for extra shots in mixed drinks. The beer served was Dos XX. Pool bar was fabulous but get there early to get a lounge chair , just lay a towel on it , pool entertainment was fun. Don't bother with Market 28 its not that better on savings, the little shop across the street next to "OXXO" was just as cheap ask for Carlos real nice guy, and there's a shopping mall just down the street. Better to have Mexican money other than US dollars. The rumor is that this hotel is going under renovation in the next month or so, but the Riu Cancun next door is about to reopen after its renovation, the beach area at it looks better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lokey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,883 - 1,889 of 6,828 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were here September 2013. (We were just talking about it now, as we're getting ready for this September's trip) For perspective, we are in our 40s. We heard good things about this place from others, and had already stayed at a Riu Palace in Rivera Maya. Everything was perfect. The resort was beautiful, very white and clean, and had everything you need. The room was excellent in our 14th floor ocean front, with a nice breeze and a beautiful view to wake up to. The pool, the beach, and the restaurants were all excellent. Reservations at the a la cartes were easy to make, walk up to the desk, someone was there most of the business day. Drinks and wines were ok/good, with a decent variety of Mexican beers (incl. Bohemia, Modelo Negro, others). It's a relatively small place, so everything is right there in the "square," a short walk, unlike many all-inclusives that are spread out. This is right on the main street, with shops outside the front door if you want to try some other food, massages (very reasonable), and cerveza! We took a few walks, and even made it down to the club area of Cancun for a wild night. There's another Riu next door available to you, which is bigger, with additional amenities, like a club/disco, sports bar, etc. We like the Riu Palace line. We never repeat an all-inclusive resort (we go twice a year), but this is definitely one we highly recommend. Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinnieBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is our second trip to Riu Las Americas and it couldn't have been better. We were there from Jul 8 - 13. From check in to check out our every need was catered to. The much talked about construction next door did not interfere with our vacation at all. It was barely noticeable at the activity pool and once the music started any noise from the construction faded away. Once again the entertainment staff went above and beyond to keep you entertained. A special shout out to Jack, Vanessa and Uzi who were all great and absolutely added to our enjoyment. All of the staff including the bartenders and waiters work hard to ensure you have anything you need. We traveled with six people and all of us were sorry when our vacation ended. We enjoyed it so much we are planning a return trip in September. Hoping when they refurb this hotel it keeps the same colonial charm. I would book this hotel without a second thought.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent a 2weeks here and a lovely time. The beach at the back of the hotel is small but crystal clear. The food was the best all in we have ever had,the Italian restaurant has waiter service and really good red wine,which is rare in Mexico. The staff are polite,and work very hard. The rooms are lovely,but I think they have been decorated since we stayed. I would recommend this hotel,easy walking distance to the malls and restaurants etc.Would return any day,loved it.

Room Tip: The pirate ship trip was excellent,great entertainment and food was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annam124851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful resort! We always saw people cleaning! Family friendly atmosphere where bartenders were able to make drinks similar to adult beverages for kids. My kids loved the virgin strawberry daiquiris.

Rooms are nice. We were able to get two rooms right next to one another with an outside door to lock! Beds aren't great, but not total rocks. Sofa bed was in both rooms, no need for a rollaway.

Food at the buffet was the best restaurant. My kids enjoyed the variety and ability to try new foods. We tried the Mexican restaurant. It was good. The Japanese restaurant was a disappointment- we thought it would be hibachi. My advice is to look at the menu before making reservations. We assumed too much (this is advice we will use from now on when staying at all-inclusive resorts).

Our stay met our expectations!! We will repeat this vacation in our future travels!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FitzBeach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've traveled Mexico extensively staying at many All Inclusive properties as well as many non-all inclusive hotels. Because we've already done most of the tourist kinds of tours and activities with our family through the years, we generally go to Mexico these days to rest and relax. My two daughters and I stayed here July 17 - 21, 2014.

Other reviews have already addressed the basic issues, so I will provide information to help you answer the important question - Is this hotel a good choice for my vacation?

This hotel IS a GOOD CHOICE if:
Shopping/activities close is important
Lots of Nightlife close by is important
You want good international food but also plenty of familiar choices such as hamburgers, hot dogs, chips with guacamole, fruit loops and pancakes, etc.
Shallow swimable beach. A five minute walk to the left from the hotel there are lots of shallow warm water areas to enjoy with no seaweed.
Open-air tiled hallway noise is a problem. The hallways here are enclosed and somewhat air conditioned so you don't get the hallway noise that you get in many resort hotels in Cancun that have the tiled open-air hallways.


This hotel is NOT a GOOD CHOICE if:
-You enjoy walking the beach as you only have beach for 15 minutes in either direction
-Laid back atmosphere - this is more of a busy location than other non-downtown Cancun hotels
-You want to be assured a good view. Many of the rooms here have a horrible view of a back street and buildings. Many of the top floor ocean view rooms only have sliding windows with no sliding door or balcony.
- you want to be assured of a quiet room. The rooms on the right side (east) of the hotel not facing the beach face the construction at the Riu Cancun which will be under renovation for a long time to come and woke us up with banging very early the first morning, so we changed rooms. (That is NOT my idea of vacation) Plus, although our third room had a wonderful oceanfront location, we heard a lot of noise from the room above us and the room next to us.
- you enjoy a good cup of coffee. The coffee throughout the resort was weak american style coffee. When you ask for espresso, it is strong but tastes like Nescafé instant (which by the way, is what they give you in the evening if you ask for decaf)

BOTTOM LINE - great location for partying, shopping or playing in shallow calm water but there are lots better places to stay for good food, service and outstanding views.

The Riviera Maya area going south from the airport is much more relaxed with fabulous hotels. We actually prefer the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, where you get the same great service and good food but it is much more laid back and a slower pace.

The hotel is booked FULL for the summer so waiters at the main buffet are actually running at every meal

TIPS - fun way to be popular. You quickly get known as a tipper and everyone wants you at their table. We just tipped $2 US for breakfast, $2 for lunch and $5 for dinner, but it made us wildly popular. I just take bundle of $1 and $5 bills. Doesn't cost us much but is a huge thing for their waiters and service people who don't earn much. Also left a $5 a day tip for the maid, but anything would be hugely appreciated.

-Wifi spotty at best

ROOMS:
-Many non-ocean view rooms have cruddy or marginal views
-Check-in a mess
-Spent our entire second day waiting for a room and then got a room with a loud, barely functioning AC (they had been working on it all afternoon and had to have known it still was not working) and that evening we had to change rooms yet again as it was too hot and noisy to sleep in that room.
-We got different stories about available rooms from each front desk person throughout our stay. Very frustrating!
-Room safes are not even digital so you have to take a key with you at all times
-rooms are very comfortable, although dated
- balconies of some rooms on the Oceanview side are such that you really can't see the view clearly if sitting on the balcony because of the way it is made with thick round columns. Just too many rooms here that are not desirable for the price you pay.
-We found out that the price we paid for the cruddy street view noisy room the first night was the same price that got us the largest two room jacuzzi suite with ocean front view for our last two nights. What is wrong with that picture? Guess it is just the luck of the draw as to what is available when you check-in and how much you insist on a better view, not to mention what front desk person helps you. Part of the problem was that the reservation did not specify an oceanview room because none were available when we made the reservation; however, they were available when we were at the hotel.

Air Conditioned lobby, which is a huge plus
Good location for partying or shopping outside of the hotel

BEFORE ARRIVAL, go to Riu.com to sign up for Riu Class for added benefits. If you are making a rather last minute reservation and you have to call the Riu direct reservations after signing up for Riu Class (888) 748-4990 because everyone else shows them as full, with the Riu Class you get round trip airport transfers for free if booked more than seven days ahead
- Riu Palace Puerto Vallarta is SO much better. New and much more personable. Lovely beach area as well as a much nicer pool area.
-This is an older property much in need of updating, which thankfully we heard should be next year.

To the hotel's credit, when our flight to Cabo San Lucas was cancelled due to thunderstorms, but we were able to get a flight that night to Cancun, because we had booked directly with Riu, they transferred our reservations to Cancun without penalty.

AIRPORT RETURN - Only $32 for a private taxi that can be arranged right before leaving the hotel, which sure beats waiting around for a group shuttle to arrive hours before you need to be at the airport.

So, all in all, we had a nice stay and our third room ended up being quite lovely, but there are just too many nicer, updated properties we would prefer to visit than to return here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the entertainment pool will be noisy during the day and until 11 p.m. on evenings when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Texasmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just came back from Cancun while staying in this Riu Palace. Room is spacious and clean. All inclusive is amazing with mini bar in room, so you don't have to worry about finding way back to your room even if you drunk.
We were there during the FIFA final games. TV in room was so poor that cannot even see where is the soccer ball. So much statics even in their own hotel channel. Luckily, the hotel organize a big screen in their theatre so we could still enjoy the game with everyone in the hotel.
The best part is you could share the facilities with other Riu hotel near by. We went over to the Riu Peninsulas which has different theme. Its a newer hotel but the beach is much nicer. If you prefer better beach, spend little extra.

Room Tip: choose the west side higher than 5th floor so to have both lagoon and ocean view if you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 177 in Cancun
10,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,801 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £216 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotels private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Cancelon, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing