We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Communication, No Collection, No Tour and No Refund (yet)”

Cancun Vacation Experts - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun
More Info
US$62.00*
and up
Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun
More Info
US$78.98*
and up
Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves
Ranked #104 of 330 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“No Communication, No Collection, No Tour and No Refund (yet)”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Viator booked this tour for us through Cancun Vacation Experts who did not show up to collect us and were completely unprofessional from start to finish.
Firstly, we were told we would get hotel pickup and be advised of the time when we received our re-confirmation email. By 7pm the night before the tour this so called re-confirmation email still had not arrived so we called Cancun Vacation Experts. It was at this point that they advised that of course they could not collect us from our hotel and that we actually needed to meet at a hotel approximately 2km away from our hotel at 7.50am the next day. Later that evening we checked our emails again and there was now a confirmation email stating that pickup time was in fact 7.45am.
So off we go the next morning to the designated meeting place arriving between 7.35 and 7.40am. There was one coach onsite who we asked if we were on the list of passengers and they advised that unless our name was ‘Karen’ that we were not on the tour. Several other smaller coaches came and went, each of whom we asked if were on their tours and each time we were told we were not.
At 8am I asked the concierge to call Cancun Vacation Experts to see if they were running late. It was at this point that they told me that the coach had been at the meeting point but as we weren’t there it had left without us. I dispute this point as we were there from 7.35am onwards and the only coach we saw come down the street at all told us we weren’t on the list. I asked if the coach could turn around and was told that this was not possible.
The customer service department was not helpful at all, and kept telling us that we were not at the meeting point. After 10minutes of discussion they agreed to give us a refund, but that we would need to request this through Viator. At this stage we still have not received anything.
We ended up booking through another vendor ‘Easy Tours’ who were great. They had a small van, on time pickup from our hotel lobby and a good guide for a cheaper price. My recommendation would be to not use a third party agency to book your tours as you are unsure who their local operators are, which in our case was Cancun Vacation Experts.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Littlelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CancunVacationExpert, Gerente at Cancun Vacation Experts - Day Tours, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sir.

Thank you for waiting on the refund process.
Our main concern is customer satisfaction. Viator has helped us and already informed of your full refund.
We apologize for any misunderstanding.
In deed there is a record of the e mail sent, stating a 7:45 a.m. pick up time. But later on the same night when we received your call to our office our Agent Miguel kindly informed of a change to 7:30 a.m. pick up service. Perhaps there was a confusion with the previous e mail. We lament you could not reschedule the tour for the next day as offered by our staff.
Pick up arrangement was fixed for in Gran Porto Real because many of the hotels in Playa del Carmen have restricted access to pedestrians only. This was the Case of your hotel Playa Palm Beach which is two blocks away from Gran Porto Real (in this case 450 meters away )
Many different operators use this hotel as a check in point. We are sorry that our tour transportation could not wait more than ten minutes because there were more hotel pickups to be made. As there are many different operators using this hotel as a check in point for hotels in this area.
We hope that in the future we can help you on your next visit and give you an added service to help amend this misunderstanding.

Sincerely

CVE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    11
    5
    0
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
“Awesome Tours and Follow up”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Francisco Villavicencio met us at our condo and directed us to the best Dolphin Discovery tour. The four of us all had a great time!!! The boat ride over had a light snack and once on the island there was a all you can eat buffet. We had a great time swimming with the dolphins and spending time at the pool. lockers and towels were included. The second tour was fantastic as well, we went to Tulum and Xelha from Cancun. The tour guide gave a great briefing on the way there and we spent 2 hours at the Mayan ruins and then to Xelha for a fun time snorkeling, zip lining and cliff diving(there is something for all ages if you want to just float the river that is ok, it is all safe and protected). Francisco also helped my wife and made contact for a cooking class with a chef that was not even part of his contacts. E-Mail follow up was excellent. I would highly recommend Francisco@cancunvacationexperts.com

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CancunVacationExpert, Gerente at Cancun Vacation Experts - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Family,

Tthank you for sharing. We were honored to have here and help you with these fun activities. And we are glad you enjoyed Cancun and Riviera Maya . Best wishes from Francisco and our Team in Cancun Vacation Experts. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Perfect service!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I booked the tranfer between the Cancun airport and my hotel in Playa del Carmen and from our hotel in Cancun to the Cancun airport. We treated everything throught email. All the responses were very quick.
Arriving at the Cancun airport was very easy to find them. Our drop off was in Playa del Carmen. Our driver asked us if we knew where our hotel was exactly because the address we gave him we just could go by walk, isnt possible to drive through that street.He also said he could not leave us somewhere where he was not sure was safe for us.
Arriving at out hotel we found out we had no reservation under our name and if we would like to stay, we had to pay for a night the same amount of money we booked to pay for 3 nights! What a rip off!!! Our driver, Eduardo, talked to the owner of the hotel and convince him to get us a bedroom for half of the price the owner was wanting to charge us at that moment. Our driver even offer us to help us to get another hotel, but said that location was really good for the price he got from the owner. If it wasnt for our driver, we wold have spent lots of money more than we planned. Definitelly he exceeded our expectation!!!
In Cancun they picked us on time and took us to the airport.
The cars are new, clean, with air conditioner and the service is flawless!
I loved the service and i strongly recommend to everybody. I will use the service next time Im in Cancun/Riviera Maya next time for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaroKbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CancunVacationExpert, Gerente at Cancun Vacation Experts - Day Tours, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ms. Caroline,

Thank you for your time and feedback. We were pleased to help and assist in your vacation in Playa del Carmen.
Best Wishes from Cancun Vacation Experts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Poor communication and customer service”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked an xcaret day tour on viator.com from cancun vacation. Since there was no confirmation email from the tour company, I called them the evening before (Dec 23) to confirm the exact time and location for pick-up. We were in the hotel zone, our condo complex was not listed on their pre-populated list of hotels so they asked us to wait in the lobby of the hotel adjacent to our's. They asked us to be there by 7:25 AM, we stood on the steps of another hotel's lobby from 7:15 till 8:10 AM using the courtesy phone to repeatedly call this tour company. The lady answering the phone had a new story each time-- from that they are running behind schedule to that their agent missed picking us up because we were not there! Finally she asked us to stand across the hotel at a place which has no sidewalk or stop sign and wait for a minivan that had been arranged to pick us up at 8:30 AM. It never happened. We waited in sun till around 8:55 AM only to return to our condo, angry, tired and frustrated. I made a final call to the tour company asking them to cancel our package, they said that their minivan was delayed but still on its way and that they were having a busy day. At that point we were in no mood to take their tour and fed up with lack of punctuality, explanation and professionalism. The tour package was cancelled. I did get an email from them saying this tour never happened. For refund, we were asked to contact viator.com upon our return to the US.
I called viator and provided them the booking number along with a description of what happened. Their customer service representative put me on hold to confirm with the tour company. He came back on line to tell me that we were not there for the first pickup and refused to take the second opportunity and as a "one time courtesy" viator would refund the full amount. The conversation and the framing of this communication from viator and cancun vacation experts squarely put the onus for a bungled tour on to the customers. No one apologized. We did not visit xcaret and had to make at least 6-7 phone calls.
It would have been better to skip these third party vendors, buy tickets directly from xcaret website and take a local bus or a taxi to visit the park. Awful vacation experience. Not recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My hubby and I found a last minute deal on viator.com and we were blessed to have Cancun Vacation Experts be the local company to lead our day tour to Chitzen Itza which included a trip to Cenote as well as have an authentic Mayan lunch. Our guide Rueben and our drive Jose were awesome! They took care of us from the time we entered their van to the time we stepped off. Reuben was an awesome tour guide who gave us great information through out the whole experience. It was so hot when we got to Chitzen Itza and Reuben found us wonderful shady spots to explaing the Mayan heritage/etc. We were so impressed by the service and when we plan to return in August we hope to use their service to visit other places in Cancun. Thank you Reuben and Jose for blessing us with such a wonderful experience during oru 15th anniversary trip to Cancun!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cancun Vacation Experts - Day Tours also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Cancun Vacation Experts - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing