We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exchange Rate Beware!”
Review of Aloft Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aloft Cancun
Ranked #65 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is conveniently located and is walking distance to two beach accesses. One is the beach access next to Mocambo restaurant right opposite it's front entrance and the other is a 3 minute walk to the beach access next to the Mandala Night Club opp. Coco Bongo. The hotel offers the Mandala Club entrance but don't bother with it because you still have to buy drinks in order to sit down on the chairs by the beach. The rooms were okay but the room service was slow to respond and the sheets were not very clean. Another important thing about the hotel is that at checkout, they charged a bill much higher than quoted on the spg website because of an unlikely exchange rate of 13.07 (when the market rate is around 12 peso = 1$). We ended up paying 60$ more. The bus stop is nearby and is good access to and from the city and around the hotel zone.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean View on a higher floor than one in a lower floor because of obstructions from surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMH221211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear SMH221211, Aloha!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you at our Hotel Aloft Cancun on your recent vacations, and for leaving your comments regarding your experience lived here. They are very important to us to identify our opportunity areas and improve our services every day.
We are glad you enjoyed our great location for your experiencing Cancun’s night life and best beaches in town.

Please accept our apologies for not reaching your expectations with our house keeping services. We are indeed working with them to improve the response service.
In regards of the billing, unfortunately it is not in our hands the exchange rate as in Mexico it may change 2 even 3 times per day and we apply the one shown at the moment you are paying, so this may reflect a variation in your final billing.

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with my Partner for three nights, It was our first time In this hotel. The hotel is beautiful, modern, has friendly staff and is located in the heart of all the entertainment and nightlife. Its great if you're young and single or planning on going out with a bunch of friends. We are in our early 30's and over the Party Scene so (DID NOT LIKE THE LOCATION). As soon as we stepped out of the hotel we were approached by men offering us Drugs, Prostitutes and everything else you can think of. This continued all three days we were in Cancun every couple minutes on ever single block. After our stay in Cancun we stayed in Cozumel three nights and another three in Playa Del Carmen. Our favorite was Cozumel, We we're able to walk around all day and night and felt safe the entire time. On our next vacation we'll be staying in Cozumel and Playa Del Carmen. We plan on visiting Cancun in the future but only for a day trip.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room, it was pretty much great views of other hotel roofs so check the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RanaRenegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Aloha RanaRenegr,

Thank you for leaving your comments about our staff and facilities.
We care much of our guests´ safety in Aloft Cancun, and we are really sorry you had not a good experience outside though we do not hear Cancun is a dangerous city.
We would love to have you back on your next getaway to Cancun and offer you a great time and experience during your stay at Aloft Cancun.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Very minimalistic. It's in the "heart" of all the entertainment or nightlife for the younger set. Music in the lobby was CRAZY INSANE LOUD. Did enjoy a nice lunch in the restaurant. From what I could tell they have a pretty nice breakfast buffet. On the positive side it's attached to the convention center for those doing meetings. Within a short walk to the beach. I don't understand the "mini" ironing boards that barely stay up. And NO full length mirror.

Room Tip: Might ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had to stay here for business (company chose hotel). I get that this is a vacation resort area, and I get that during "spring break" it can be rowdy.

No offense to the staff, who are great ... This is not a place to go if you want to sleep! LOUD, Loud, and LOUD. Also, the hotel website advertises ocean and lagoon view rooms. I have to assume that the building to the left of the hotel is call "The Ocean" and the building to the right of the hotel is called "The Lagoon" because the only views are of buildings ... not a strip of sand in sight!

Nice staff, really ... but, not a great location, unless you want cheap bars and tourist-trap shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhumphreylkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

good staff,clean room,and my favorite is pool on the top floor.

私は夜のチェックインでしたが、特に待つこともなく、スムーズにチェックインする事ができ、ウェルカムドリンクが出てきました。その際、「最上階にプールがあり、眺めがいいので、ぜひご利用下さい」と案内がありました。
部屋に関しては、綺麗で広いです。初日は少し湿気が気になりました。シャワーは天井固定タイプです。
窓からビーチを望むことができ(目の前にはありません)すべて徒歩圏内で楽しむ事ができます。cy-coz expressというサンドウィッチ屋さんは安くて、朝食にピッタリです。夜も遊ぶこともできますし、静かです。スタッフに教えてもらったプールは眺めが良く、時間を忘れて過ごす事が出来ます。部屋でもプールでもWi-Fiが使えます。
価格に対して、マイナスポイントがありませんので、この評価です。

もちろん(?)日本語は通じないのですが、最終日にひと組、見かけた程度です。周辺のホテルを見ると、ハネムーンなどで使うホテルではないと思います。

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriy-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha eriyt!

Thank you for your kind comments and the time you took to writing them.

Hope you can come back soon to visit the beautiful turquoise waters and get to live the Aloft Style again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good hotel. Staff is good, and the girl on the front desk, they now made her a manager is top notch. Been there for 2 weeks over the last year or two and she always takes personal interest and ensures everything we need is more than cared for. Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweepingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, Administrative Assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear sweepingman,

Thank you for leaving your nice comments about our Hotel Aloft Cancun.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our staff, specially in our Aloha Desk.

Hope your next gettaway brings you back to Aloft Cancun. We will be glad in hosting you back and keep living life Aloft!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel experience was truly amazing. The service was amazing, the gentlemen at the front desk were all very helpful in assisting with all the activities in my itinerary. They were all very kind and professional. The rooms weren't top of the line luxury rooms however the service and location makes this place a 5 star hotel for me. Breakfast at the hotel was great (not inclusive). I would definitely stay here again. The security at the hotel was great as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibeastonthem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Aloha Ibeastonthem23!

It is great to know that you lived life Aloft! We are very happy to know that our enjoyed of a great service, location and facilities.

Hope you come back soon to Cancun and let us host you again for another great experience!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
2.1 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#69 of 176 in Cancun
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 176 in Cancun
5,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.2 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#84 of 176 in Cancun
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulkan KM 9 | MZ 48 L-8-1, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £76 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Cancun, a hip hotel in Cancun, Mexico where you’ll be steps away from the convention center. We offer easy-breezy access to the beach, upscale shopping, sizzling entertainment, vibrant nightlife, and the best restaurants in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Alpha Holidays Limited, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloft Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing