We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and location. Great party location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloft Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Cancun
Ranked #68 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Value and location. Great party location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here twice in a period of 3 weeks. Once on my way to Isla Mujeres and once on my way home for an early flight out of the airport.

This hotel offers a Spartan but well equipped room with everything you need in a clean, modern environment. Most importantly, the AC works well , the staff is very efficient and friendly and the bar offers a good selection of food and drinks. The parking is free and safe and the ferry to Isla Mujeres leaves from across the street. Did I mention that staying here is a relative bargain?

The real reason to stay here? The beaches are still a few minutes walk, but so are all the night clubs. This is a great hotel to hobble home from the clubs late at night, without being extorted by the taxis late at night and they are literally around the corner and across the street. Check your map, you will be surprised. Also surprisingly, the hotel itself was quiet inside...very quiet...despite the very young crowd...

For me, this is a great stopping off point when I am arriving to Cancun late night or having to leave very early in the morning...Why pay a premium when I only need a bed? On the other hand if I were still partying and on a limited budget? Did not mind a short walk to enjoy the beaches, I'd stay here as long as I could... It is probably the best deal, probably location for partying & more importantly value on the Cancun strip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahoru w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, Manager at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear KAHORO, Aloha from Aloft Cancun!

Thank you so much for the time you took to write so nice comments about Aloft Cancun. It is great to know that you enjoyed of our propery in every aspect during your recent stays.

Hope you come and stay with us in a near future and keep enjoying of the Aloft Style.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    368
    156
    39
    43
See reviews for
122
362
67
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
260 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed on business in cancun for 8 nights. Hotel was located close to the nightlife within a block or two. Beds were very comfortable, lobby is nice with pool table. Roof too pool is fine and you have a great view from up top. More of a business style and younger crowd atmosphere but I liked it. Modern comforts.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMarkKucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, Manager at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Aloha CaboKucera!

We are glad to hear that you spent your business days in Cancun with us and that you enjoyed of our facilities. Thank you for the time you took in letting us know.

Your kind comments are well received and hopfully you can visit us again in your future travel plans for leisure or business. We will be glad to receive you back!

Best regards from Aloft Cancun,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Aloft for three nights and found the hotel to be good enough considering their price rates. We wanted somewhere reasonable to sleep a few nights before flying home and thought we at least could take a glance at Cancun. If this is what you're interested in, and no longer have the need for sunbathing, Aloft will fulfill your purpose. Wouldn't recommend Aloft for a longer stay. (Even if you're interested in the party scene you're probably better off at a hotel with better access to the beach during the days.)

The rooms are clean enough (but some mold in the shower since it's very humid) and the service is okay (check in took a long time though). Didn't have a problem with the AC switching off when we left the room. In fact the room somehow got so chilly we didn't even have it on during sleep. Our biggest concern was that the walls are extremely thin. At night you constantly overheard neighbors' TV or people talking in the hallway.

Had the breakfast buffet one morning. Although good with various choices you're better off without it since the price is ridiculous (200 pesos each).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MaMaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Aloha MaMaSweden!

Thank you for your time in leaving your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Aloft Cancun.

It is good to know that your purpose of your stay at Cancun was reach by choosing to stay with us for a few nights.
We are sorry to hear that the walls in your room were not sound proof. This is the first time we hear this comment and will be attentive if someone else has the same opinion as to consider this in our future building progress.

Hope you come back again to Cancun and give us the opportunity to host you back.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here because it was close to the bars and clubs and for 25 year old female it was all walking distance. As soon as I check in they tell me my friends can't stay with me. EVEN THOUGH I CALLED the Starwood and asked. They wouldn't upgrade me for their companies mistake and told me if I didn't like it to go somewhere else. They made us get another room and spend another $400 for the room. The supervisor was a total jerk. Every time we'd leave and come back someone was always there checking our room keys and names. It was like I was staying with my parents. SEX is defiantly out of the question unless you meet someone in your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Cristie C, Aloha from Aloft Cancun!

We appreciate the time you took to leave your comments and for giving us the opportunity to clear and explain ourselves.

At Aloft Cancun, our guests´ safety and comfort is our priority. Our rooms are designed to host up to 4 people and if any additional person comes in, will need to have a second room; this is to guarantee your comfort as well your security. We are really sorry you did not get this information by the time you made the reservation and please, accept our apologies if our supervisor was not kind enough for you to assist with this situation. We have taken actions in this regards.
Visitors are welcome to our public areas and if you wish to invite them into a room, we will need to register them for safety purposes; hope you understand we have our security procedures to keep your safety at all times.
Yet again, thank you so much for your comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is conveniently located and is walking distance to two beach accesses. One is the beach access next to Mocambo restaurant right opposite it's front entrance and the other is a 3 minute walk to the beach access next to the Mandala Night Club opp. Coco Bongo. The hotel offers the Mandala Club entrance but don't bother with it because you still have to buy drinks in order to sit down on the chairs by the beach. The rooms were okay but the room service was slow to respond and the sheets were not very clean. Another important thing about the hotel is that at checkout, they charged a bill much higher than quoted on the spg website because of an unlikely exchange rate of 13.07 (when the market rate is around 12 peso = 1$). We ended up paying 60$ more. The bus stop is nearby and is good access to and from the city and around the hotel zone.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean View on a higher floor than one in a lower floor because of obstructions from surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH221211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear SMH221211, Aloha!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you at our Hotel Aloft Cancun on your recent vacations, and for leaving your comments regarding your experience lived here. They are very important to us to identify our opportunity areas and improve our services every day.
We are glad you enjoyed our great location for your experiencing Cancun’s night life and best beaches in town.

Please accept our apologies for not reaching your expectations with our house keeping services. We are indeed working with them to improve the response service.
In regards of the billing, unfortunately it is not in our hands the exchange rate as in Mexico it may change 2 even 3 times per day and we apply the one shown at the moment you are paying, so this may reflect a variation in your final billing.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with my Partner for three nights, It was our first time In this hotel. The hotel is beautiful, modern, has friendly staff and is located in the heart of all the entertainment and nightlife. Its great if you're young and single or planning on going out with a bunch of friends. We are in our early 30's and over the Party Scene so (DID NOT LIKE THE LOCATION). As soon as we stepped out of the hotel we were approached by men offering us Drugs, Prostitutes and everything else you can think of. This continued all three days we were in Cancun every couple minutes on ever single block. After our stay in Cancun we stayed in Cozumel three nights and another three in Playa Del Carmen. Our favorite was Cozumel, We we're able to walk around all day and night and felt safe the entire time. On our next vacation we'll be staying in Cozumel and Playa Del Carmen. We plan on visiting Cancun in the future but only for a day trip.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room, it was pretty much great views of other hotel roofs so check the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RanaRenegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana V, administrative assistant at Aloft Cancun, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Aloha RanaRenegr,

Thank you for leaving your comments about our staff and facilities.
We care much of our guests´ safety in Aloft Cancun, and we are really sorry you had not a good experience outside though we do not hear Cancun is a dangerous city.
We would love to have you back on your next getaway to Cancun and offer you a great time and experience during your stay at Aloft Cancun.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Very minimalistic. It's in the "heart" of all the entertainment or nightlife for the younger set. Music in the lobby was CRAZY INSANE LOUD. Did enjoy a nice lunch in the restaurant. From what I could tell they have a pretty nice breakfast buffet. On the positive side it's attached to the convention center for those doing meetings. Within a short walk to the beach. I don't understand the "mini" ironing boards that barely stay up. And NO full length mirror.

Room Tip: Might ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#70 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#61 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.1 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cancun

Property: Aloft Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulkan Km 9, Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Cancun, a hip new hotel where you’ll be steps away from the convention center. We offer easy-breezy access to the beach, upscale shopping, sizzling entertainment, vibrant nightlife, and the best restaurants in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing