We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Southgate, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I just got back from my trip in cancun and I am so glad that I stayed in GR Solaris, I was there from 3/31-4/8 and i did not want to leave, their beach is absolutely absolutely beautiful, you can see it The moment u walk into the lobby, everyone was so attentive and entertaining everyone seemed to really go out of their way to make us have a great experience and they did excellent, Elias from the dinner show and gilberto from the breakfast restaurant and Matilde from the lobby were AMAZING servers, Luis the bartender from the lobby, ale and jona from the entertainment crew and not to mention the couple that sang for us at the lobby they were all so awesome always with a smile on their face and ready to please us! Thank u so much for a good time, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia_jv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,210
    1,395
    552
    225
    150
See reviews for
1,566
1,630
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,075)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent Valentine's week at GR Solaris - this was our third time visiting this resort and would recommend. Staff is great - hotel is very clean. Entertainment is good however need more of a variety for shows. Great location and food was good - I do believe however the food was better three years ago as there was more seafood than there was this time. Would also recommend that the sales people leave you alone after you tell them once you are not interested in becomming a member. Gets rather annoying. Sue in Michigan.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summetime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went the first week of March and had a blast. From the clean rooms, beautiful view, great food, fun staff, and awesome friends we met, it was a great week. I will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from our trip 3/29-4/2. We had heard of this resort through an online deal where we were issued a voucher. The instructions were very easy to contact the reservation department with your preferred upgrades, it was within a 24-hr period that they emailed me back with my confirmation of our hotel stay.
On our way to Cancun, our flight was delayed, which had me worried since I had arranged for airport transportation to pick us up shortly after our arrival time. The employees of the Sol-Ha agency for transportation (which is through the Hoteles Solaris company) were very accommodating and understanding about our delayed arrival and still sent for transportation to meet us at our new arrival time just outside of the airport. I highly recommend using this company to get to/from the airport. They have an office within the resort, which makes it convenient for making arrangements for your outbound transportation to the airport, which is what we did.
The rooms: they are clean and have air conditioning. We had an ocean view room on the top floor with a balcony and it was BEAUTIFUL! There are sliding doors leading out to the balcony and the main pool courtyard area and the seal isn't that great on them. So if you prefer some quiet during the day, it's difficult to achieve that while the daily pool activities occur from 11a-5p. Room service is available at all times and they say it takes 30 minutes for your order to arrive to your room (they were 30 minutes on the dot every time we ordered!). You have a mini-fridge stocked daily with 4 bottles of water, 4 beers (Sol Mexican beer, good stuff!), and 4 cans of soda, which were all replenished daily. The sheets were changed daily and we were supplied with fresh towels.
Wifi access: Wifi is available at a reasonable cost of $16 for 1 day, $27 for 2 days, and so on. But, that cost is per device. With that said, the Wifi access is available from your room, the pool, the lobby, and restaurants (pretty much everywhere at the resort, but I'm no sure if it reaches to the beach).
The food: there are 3 restaurants on site. Marco Polo is by far the fanciest non-buffet restaurant there and usually requires reservations (we never made it to this place). There are 2 buffet-style restaurants, as well. They would have various cuisines on the menu daily, but there was always plenty of food available to make anyone happy. There is a deli that is open from 4p-6a, which is a nice option when you want something quickly. During the daytime, there is a poolside buffet station with grilled favorites, such as hot dogs, burgers, French fries, wings, as well as chicken tenders and various sandwiches. Again, always a variety of food to please anybody from young to old. Also, in the main lobby around 430-5p, they would set up a hot coffee bar where the server would mix in your liquor of choice from their list, she would light a flame on it as she mixed up the liquor with Khalua, it made for a spectacle! They even had a frozen coffee bar one of the days we were there where a server was mixing up Frappes!
The drinks: the bar staff is very efficient with making frozen drinks! You tell them your order, then within the next minute, they are handing you your daquiri or pina colada. They have beer on tap (Dos Equis and Sol) and will also make you basically whatever you ask them too, as long as you know what's in it. My husband and I were craving Moscow Mules, and with some direction of the ingredients, our bartender crafted the perfect cocktail for us!
The pool: large pool with plenty of lounge chairs. Be sure to get up early, grab your towels, and stake out a few chairs next to the pool (people go as early as 630a, but we were still ok to find chairs by 730-8a). You will be issued towel cards which are you "tokens" for the pool staff issuing you towels. At the end of the day, when you turn in the towels, they will hand you your towel cards. You don't want to lose these since it costs $30 to replace a card. There is an activities hut where you can sign up for various trips to go snorkeling, jungle trip, parasailing, rent waverunners conveniently at your resort. There are also daily pool activities with such an animated staff and makes for a fun day at the pool. They usually start with yoga, stretching or pool aerobics, then play games and get volunteers from the crowd. We played bingo, saw a fashion show of the latest swim fashion available from the resort store, danced Zumba, learned Merengue, etc. The fun never stopped! Also, there is a swim-up bar near the upper level pool, which is next to where all of the entertainment is.
for the Kids: my husband and I don't have children, but there are activities available for children. They had a daily movie for kids around 4-5p (usually a Disney Classic, when we were there is was Cinderella, Madagascar, and The Little Mermaid) and there is a Kids Club Zone with toys and such. There is also an arcade rooms with some arcade games, a ping pong table, foozeball, and a basketball hoop. Overall, it's a kid-friendly/family-friendly resort.
the Entertainment: the staff does a really great job with providing activities all day and night for the resort guests. from the daily poolside activities, to the nightly shows in the main ballroom (Magic Show, their versionof a Cirque "du Solaris," Mexican Fiesta night, Glow party night), to live bands and karaoke in the main lobby bar, to nightly outings to downtown Cancun (usually $50-60 per person for a trip to a bar/restaurant/club to Senor Frogs, Mandala, Palazzo, CocoBongo and you were provided transportation to the venue, a table with bottle service, all-you-can-drink). You would be responsible for the ride home- taking the public transportation bus was safe (and always packed with tourists) and cost only $1.
the Beach: not too crowded and plenty of lounge chairs available beachside. Cocktail waitresses covered that area, too, so you wouldn't be left without a drink in your hand for very long. There is a full sand volleyball court. We walked up and down the beach on both ends. It's safe, no random people loitering on the beach, the sad is white, water is blue. Many beach activities available: parasailing, waverunners, even saw some people kite-sailing.
Overall: we thought this location was convenient, still nearby the airport, check-in/check-out process was a breeze. We were pleased with the accomodations for what we paid. We were impressed with the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff (please don't forget to tip them! they work so hard to take care of us while we are on vacation. It was always a shame when people would order drinks or leave their table after a meal and not leave a tip). If we had to do it again, we would return to this resort!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms looks out into the main pool area towards the ocean. It is loud during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chitowngal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were there March 5th thru the 15th. My wife and 2 other couples. What a great time. we arrived early on the 5th. check in was easy. Our friends rooms(ocean view) were ready by noon, but we had to wait till 3pm. They upgraded us to a panoramic view on the 5th floor, what a view. The best...... Now we are spoiled...The hotel was as clean as others have stated. The staff was great. The food was better than some other hotels with same ratings. The buffet in the theatre was outstanding. Marco Polo was just OK. The other buffets changed daily from great to just ok. The entertainment we enjoyed, as it was a great way to take a break from the daily routine. This was also better than hotels of the same ratings. We got to know the bartenders an servers, they were outstanding. They took care of us, and we took care of them. A tip goes a long way. The whole staff was great even before any tip was given. Never was bothered by time share people. Pools were clean. Wait staff at the pools and beach were great and promped. Over all a great trip. Thank you to all at G R Solaris we will be seeing you again. We have been to Cancun over 20Times, The first time here, but not the last.

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited GR Solaris March 22 - 29, 2014 with two other couples. We arrived before our friends and the staff accommodated our request to locate all of us on the same floor. We received ocean view rooms - and we all had spectacular views! The rooms were comfortable and clean. The bed was a bit hard for us. We asked for and were promptly provided with a mattress topper! It was perfect.

The food choices were good. It was especially nice to have the outdoor snack / food shacks for lunch.Everything from Burgers to Chips and Guacamole! And,just around the corner is a Pizza Bar. Fresh made choices of Margarita, Buffalo Chicken, Hawaiian, Pepperoni, and the classic olive, mushroom, etc. No need to dry off and cover up to go the buffet! However, the buffet had plenty of options, as well.

The entertainment staff provided good times for all! Very friendly and talented people. The pool bar was good. You will be sure to find something to suit your pallet, due to their extensive menu. And, they were very accommodating and made drinks to my specifications!

A big plus, was the poolside and beach service. Mathilda was superb. Always checking to see if we needed anything! Great Service!

All the waiters at the buffets were great however, two were outstanding...... Cen and Nino provided us with warm welcomes and kept our beverages full. Nino even made us special Margaritas!

The Lobby Bar was a great place to meet before / after dinner. Mary also provided us with excellent service. Always greeted with a smile and fast service. There was also live music int he lobby bar after dinner. So much fun!

The nightly shows were great. The theater is indoors with great seating around tables. Drinks are offered during the show. All the seats are good. The entertainers are talented. We saw the 70's tribute which included superb dancers and two excellent singers. Another show was a tribute to the sounds from the 1800's to current day! Again, the dancers and performers were great. We also saw the Magic Show! Again, and excellent and well worth your time!

We had a blast! Hope you do, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orion, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited GR Solaris the end of March and beginning of April. The weather was just beautiful every day. 1 day there was a brief 10 minute rain in the afternoon, but every other day was sunny and warm. Checking into the hotel was very easy and quick. Throughout the vacation the staff was great, especially the entertainment crew. When we arrived it was late, so the only bar that was open was the lobby bar. It was very nice, but a little warm to sit and enjoy some drinks. Our room was well kept and huge and we were pleasantly surprised that we could use and drink the water in the bathroom. Having spent the last 2 years at resorts in the Dominican where you could not drink the water - We were happy that we could brush our teeth and shower without fear of getting sick. The room was cleaned very well each day and 2 days we had a little animal made of towels waiting for us. The food here at the resort is very good. Lots of fresh fruit and authentic Mexican food was available every day. We especially loved the Mexican Salsa and Guacamole with their homemade corn tortilla chips. We liked how they changed the cafeteria every night to reflect a different theme for the night. I think we enjoyed the Italian night the best. The pools were very nice, but maybe a little cooler than we expected, but after a few minutes they seemed to be the perfect temperature. We liked how there was a place to sit in the pool, however, it does seem a little bumpy as the pool is made out of little stones. The drinks were great - we thought they were very strong and tasty, and not as sweet as some other resorts we have been to. The service at the pool bar was the best - Those guys do a great job. The beach was also great to spend time on. We were a little surprised on how rough the water was - Lots and lots of big strong waves. I loved it, however, it was a little too rough for my wife. The lifeguards are great though - We saw them rescue 2 people that had been taking out by the strong water - and we also saw them practice rescues so they are ready! The sand was not very hot here and it seemed to be looser and stickier than other resort beaches we've been to. The resort has a lot of birds flying around, so don't leave a plate full of food on a chair - They will eat everything - They especially love the guacamole. The resort is very well maintained - It seemed like they were constantly cleaning. They even cleaned the chairs and umbrellas from what the birds left behind. Again - when I see some of the negative reviews I wonder what people are expecting - This is not a 5 Star resort, but you are not paying for a 5 Star resort. I'm positive you will love this place if you give it a chance - It's one of the best values for the money that you will get.

Room Tip: While it would be nice to have an ocean view - Rooms on the other side of the hotel (Front) have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bcfbbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 175 in Cancun
641 reviews
12.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 175 in Cancun
4,325 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 175 in Cancun
2,831 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Property: GR Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing