We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC,FANTASTIC,FANTASTIC!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of GR Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GR Solaris Cancun
Ranked #33 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC,FANTASTIC,FANTASTIC!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2005

I just got back 2 days ago and loved the hotel, food, entertainment and workers. I went with my 2 younger children(3 and 5) and my 63 year old mother. We all had a great experience at this new resort. My only regret was that my husband and 10 year old could not have joined us. I can't believe some of the terrible reviews. I've been to several all incl. and this one by far had the best food ( and I'm not a big mexican food lover ). Lots of variety all in one week. They even brought in Japenese chefs for one evening and boy did we enjoy the sushi. The surf and turf was perfect. The entertainment team was alot of fun especially Caesar, Milenna, and Chucho... The kids club was great - you have to LOVE Cecilia- she loves the children and pleases their every need- it's really in her heart to be with the kids - thanks Cecilia...
The live band (2 person) in the lobby bar are FABULOUS - Silvana and I don't knoe his name were incredible. Everyone is open to the children dancing and playing just having fun. For the young and young at heart who like to go clubbing well the bus would take you to a different club each night, it would leave at 11pm- it sounded like fun. If there is any down fall it was the beach area. Unfortunately it was shallow in depth - not alot of sandy area. There was still room to lounge but big waves would come in at take you and your belongings down. If you have young children - bring your their life jackets just so you can relax. Being a cautious Canadian - I had the 30 sun block and the life jackets. The pools are great for all ages ( all 3 of them). If your going to stay in Cancun do not hesitate to choose this lovely hotel. Apparently the beaches in the Mayan are a little deeper and at times calmer. From what I've learned Cancun is usually windy, oh and rainy season is late Aug- Oct. They say it's cold in December - that is if you consider 27 C cold - I don't...Have a great time and say hi to the crew. Oh one more thing, I was impressed with everyones effort to speak english, front desk and all. Mackenzie ( ent.team) is from Trail B.C. and very nice.
Have a Margarietta for me... ME from Edmonton, Ab - C A N A D A

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marla1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,151
    1,365
    542
    222
    147
See reviews for
1,525
1,599
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2005

We stayed at the GR Solaris Feb.24-Mar.3. The hotel & staff definitely exceeded our expectations. The only complaint we had was the long wait to check-in.

Can't wait to go back!!!!

Helpful?
10 Thank blondemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2005

My girlfriend and I vacationed between Mar 6th and 13th and we certainly enjoyed our trip with some exceptions. For a new hotel, I don't understand why there is an adjoining hollow door between rooms. (Just one side) You can hear everything such as coughing, drawers opening, etc. This can be overlooked as rooms are very nice and bar fridge is refilled with beverages at no cost. The room is set up on sensors so the air will remain on when you are in the room. Smart idea from the Hotel! You can also regulate the air temperature digitally and fan speed. Very up to date! The marble floors can be very slippery if wet, so please watch it! A friend of ours sprained her foot the last day before going home. There are yellow pylons to notify slippery sections. The Management are going to pay all the medical bills(USA)! Quite nice. The staff were entertaining, friendly and very helpful in everything! The timeshare thing is a pain! Be firm! The pool can also cut your feet if you are playing volleyball or waterpolo continuously. Nothing to worry about as the surface is fairly smooth. Lots of chairs so know worries about early moring rush! The food was good to very good. I did get really sick on Friday, Mar 11. From 11pm till 8 am. I was active running to the bathroom all night vomitting, etc. I was out of commission Sat. I talked to a few other people that had the same thing....Don't know what it was but was quite sick! I took Imodium, Zantac, Pepto but nothing worked and it was not food poisoning, it was a 24 hour bug. However, the positive did outweigh the negative. Yes, I would return to the Grand Solaris.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2005

I have been to Mexico a few times and have enjoyed all of my visits. I love the culture, the people, the country and the weather. I have never had cause to complain prior to this visit.

The Grand Solaris is new and rated a 5*, which it is not! It is a 1* at the most and I would give that rating only because it is newer than some of the other places I have stayed in Mexico.

I stayed at the GR Solaris for 2 weeks (Feb 21-Mar 6). It started out badly and ended the same way. I arrived at 3 am and I was put into an ajoining room (I specifically requested not to be put into an adjouning room when I made my reservations). The room was nice but as a female travelling alone I was not comfortable knowing that my neighbors could enter my room. I went down to request a room that was not adjoining and they put me into a corner room facing the next hotel, not a very nice view. I did not pursue this further because judging by the scenes I had witnessed in the lobby I did not think more complaining would help and I did not plan on spending a lot of time in the room.

Housekeeping came and went the first few days and all they did was make the bed and change the towels (and water on occassion). On the second day I gave the housekeeper a generous tip but that did not help. The only time my room was cleaned in 2 weeks was when I did it or on the last day of my vacation.

This hotel had overbooked and there were several scenes in the lobby. People were angry that they were being bumped to lower rated hotels. The manager did not handle these situations in private instead he chose to deal with it in the lobby of the hotel.

The staff was not helpful and in fact were actually rude at times. This is a 5* hotel, I expect to be treated as a 5* guest and this did not happen.

The food was ok, very institutional, like many all inclusives. I chose to eat out a couple of nights because it tends to be the same menu every week.

The entertainment staff were unfriendly and not very helpful. They did not go out of their way to ensure the guests were having a good time or go out of their way to be helpful. The shows were ok, when there was one.

On my last night I got in very late so I chose to go with a late check out so I could catch up on my sleep prior to my 2 am flight the next night. I was scheduled to leave the hotel at 11 pm. I went and paid for the late check out and went back to sleep. While I was trying to sleep, the front desk called me 3 times to see when I was checking out and to let me know that a late check out was $70, which I had already paid. Late check out was at 6 pm and they started calling at about 3:30 pm. The maid came to clean while I was trying to sleep and finally the Manager called and told me I had to come and pay for my late check out. Then he informed me I would have to leave so the maid could clean the room for the next guests. I refused and I stayed until 6 pm then went to check out. The person who was checking me out cut off my wristband. Without it I was not able to eat, drink, swim or hang out in the hotel until my pick up at 11 pm. He returned it to me so I could pack in my pocket all day.

The room service people were very helpful and always professional, courteous and punctual.

Omar the bellboy was excellent and always went out of his way to help. He was the most helpful person working at the hotel.

The driveway to the hotel is very steep and some of the elderly people were having a hard time getting up it.

I would never stay at this hotel again and I would definitely not recommend it to anyone I know. I would rate it a 1* only because it is new. There are so many other options in Cancun. This hotel was a waste of my money.

Of course Mexico and specifically Cancun are great and I always have a good time! This time was no exception, I just spent a lot of time away from the hotel.

My advice is to spend your hard earned money elsewhere. Other 5* hotels appreciate their guests and ensure that the needs of their guests are met and that concerns are addressed.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2005

I just came back from Cancun Friday (03/11/05) and we stayed at the GR Solaris. LEt me tell u I LOVED it!! We got room service the first day for breakfast and they were very prompt. THey we're actually 15min early. The pool activities staff was very friendly and convincing. They had me in a few games. The rooms were clean although my only complaint about that is we can hear when the people in the next room are taking a shower, the phone rings, or talking. The lobby bar was a hot spot at nite if u didn't want to hit the clubs. All in all it was a five star expierence. THe staff was friendly and eager to accomidate u.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
6.2 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Solaris Cancun

Property: GR Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Lote 59 2 Etapa, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Family Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Solaris Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Solaris Cancun is an all inclusive beachfront resort that offers a range of facilities and a full slate of activities daily. Guests have access to two swimming pools, a spa tub, a 22.5-Meter (74-foot) stretch of beach, and a fitness center. The hotel also has a marina, where non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, and a volleyball court are available. Other amenities include concierge services, a spa, a hair salon, and laundry facilities (no dry cleaning services). Business amenities include meeting rooms, banquet facilities, event catering, a ballroom, and business center with Internet access (surcharge for all). Three restaurants, two snack bars, and two bars are on site. Room service is available 24 hours a day. NEW Wall climbing and mini cinema Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GR Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Solaris Cancun
Grand Solaris Cancun
Gr Solaris Hotel Cancun
Gr Solaris Cancun & Spa
Gr Solaris Cancun Mexico
Grand Royal Solaris Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing