We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cancun, But not this resort”
Review of Gran caribe resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran caribe resort
Ranked #30 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this resort in February, and unless it was free...we would never stay there again ! We arrived about 2 am , there were two other couples checking in at this time, and we waited an entire hour to get checked in ! Completly unacceptable...We were given the "Im sorry, We are overbooked, we only have 2 rooms left ( yeah right) but for an extra $200 US per night we can upgrade you to an ocean view. " After already paying ALOT, we were not about to fall for this trick.Call me crazy, but when you book an all inclusive vacation,Your room should be available when you arrive !!
Our room was really nice, super BIG and clean ! The floors sparkled, and the bathroom was fantastic, It was split into two rooms, one in the back with a sink ,nice big shower ,and a toilet ...and another room with a double sink and HUGE counter and a closet with the safe in it. It was perfect .The bed was big and comfortable, We had a little cot in the room too, which was nice. We were on the 2nd floor and our room over looked the pool. We had a little deck , and even a hammock ! The pool was lit up at night and was very beautiful ....On the negative side, it was also overlooking the bar ! Which turned out to be a HUGE problem ..... The music at night was so loud it literally vibrated the glass tumblers across the table in our room,..which is fine..unless you need sleep !! This lasted until about 1 or 2 in the morning ... Not cool ... we put up with it for the first 3 nights, We didnt want to complain and ruin our vacation..but after a while we couldnt handle it any longer so I went down to the front desk and asked the manager for a different room. He agreed, and we were told they would put us in a room on the other side, AWAY from the lobby bar. That was great..until the next day when the bellboy took us to our new room..It was in the BASEMENT ,even closer to the bar ! So, I had to once again ask for another room ... We ended up in one of the rooms in the back , on the ocean side. It was definatly a downgrade, the room wasnt very clean, or well maintained, But the view was nice !! Beach front, we could walk down the steps from our room, and be right on the beach !
The location of this resort is really great though... Its perfect walking distance to everything. You can walk to downtown Cancun, and La Isla is also a short walk the other way. We stayed up on the end of the hotel zone last time, and found it was too far out of the way, this was much better.
The buffet at Albatros was really good, the cooks and waiters went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, they were awesome ! The buffet by the pool, wasnt as great, not as much selection.
The drinks at the bar were pretty good, and if you tip when you order you will get a much better drink !!
Overall I would say this place falls short , It is a perfect location, but If you plan on relaxing at all..Go somewhere else, there are so many resorts to chose from !! Pick another one !!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kentsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

First and foremost thank you for taking the time on writing us your comments, we take into account each of them to improve in all aspects.

We hope you give us the honor to receive it again to improve your experience and enjoy a great vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,300)
There are newer reviews for Gran caribe resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,351 - 3,357 of 8,300 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was recently a guest at this resort and it is, by far, my favorite resort I have visited. The live, nightly, entertainment was great! There was such a variety of great food to chose from. Also, there were activities for all ages, from water aerobics to balloon fights in the pool, I ensure no matter what age you are that you are guaranteed to have a great time! There were two in particular staff member whose personalities stood out from any other members of the staff Heliodoro who is the bartender at the bar on the beach and Gama who is in charge of the activities. Both of these men deserve recognition for their dedication, hard work and their ability to make any guest feel right at home! The only downfall I found with this resort was the check in and check out process, it was very lengthy. I will definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Gran CaribeCancun and we very much appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please know we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

When we arrived in Cancun, the hotel had a driver waiting for us at the airport. The resort is walkig distance to downtown Cancun. The people were very helpful getting us checked in and to our room, holding luggage and getting it promptly to our room after we checked in. Our room was nice. We have stayed in much nicer rooms, but it was also a much larger resort in Playa del Carmen. Pool area was nice. There are three restaurants and two buffet style restaurants and all food was very good. There is only one bar inside the resort and one open at the pool during the day. Lots of activities around the pool during the day and there was some kind of entertainment every night. Live music and dancing every night n the bar area inside and they have their own dance troupe which put on shows in the evening. Seems like they needed to advertise the shows during the day, not much attendance. We stayed with the all inclusive package and it's very much worth it. The only complaint we had was the bathroom did not have a fan and we had to leave the door open when taking a shower. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Gran Caribe Cancun and for taking the time to share your honest and detailed feedback with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to host you in order to provide you with the personalized and excellent vacation experience you have come to expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I had gotten the deal off of the Today Show and was glad that I did. The resort was beautiful and right on the beach.

PROS: There were lots of avaliable cabanas, hammocks and lounge chairs everywhere from the pool to the beach so you dont have to fight for one. The waitstaff was amazing. If you tip them a couple of dollars for every few drinks, you'll never have to wait for the next one. The 24hr snack bar loaded with nachos, hot dogs, and etc. The buffet food was not horrible but decent.

CONS: We kept getting woken up from the doors slamming throughout the hallway. Its disturbing because people would be coming back to their rooms and slamming doors all night long. It was very warm in the "upgraded room" because the air conditioning wasnt working very well. The main pool was quite small but the beach was within a 100ft.

After this whole experience, I would visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melindapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to Cancun.

It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My daughter was married on Saturday June 9 at the Catholic Oceanfront Chapel Our Lady of Guadalupe at the resort. The pictures on the internet do not do the site justice. It is absolutely beautiful, breathtaking. It is in a quiet location. Looking out at the crystal blue waters and white sands is amazing. The priest was right on with his words for the ceremony. The wedding coordinator was extremely helpful from the moment my daughter and her fiance arrived. After the ceremony, they had a cocktail reception at the wedding site while pictures were performed on the beach. The resort photographers were very good. They also had a gentleman playing the harp at the wedding, very good. The reception was indoors and private. We had seen receptions being performed on the beach and on an outside patio area and we were glad the kids went with indoors due to the wind and heat. The food was excellent. The service impeccable. We had such a good time, we hated for the wedding and reception to end.
My daughter, myself, and two of the bridesmaids had our hair and makeup done at the resort. The ladies at the spa were amazing. My daughter looked absolutely beautiful. I must say for myself I looked good too. Definitely give them a try -- you will not be disappointed.
As for our stay at the resort, it was soo great. Check-in was a slow process once completed, we got settled into our rooms and hit the pool and beach. Must give a huge thank you to our housekeeper Dora Poot -- our room was very clean and no smells. We had a junior suite and did not upgrade. We liked our room. Some of the guests did upgrade and all were pleased. For us, it was the people staying at the hotel who were not considerate in the late night hours and were noisy that was the negativity to our stay, not the room. There is endless drinks and food. Our favorite -- Gaviotas. It is outside. Great service - thanks Karla, Pablo, Abel, and others we did not get their names. The food was great. One of the cooks, Bertha, each morning made me pancakes and she always had a big smile. Birds are a little unsettling but the crew keeps the dishes cleaned up when people leave, so it isnt too bad.
we ate at the Albatross. It is indoors. Great service there, good food but liked Gaviotas the best. We ate at Marias. Raul was our server -- thank you for excellent service! We loved the Mayan coffee presentation. Truly amazing and it is sooo good. You must try one.
Read on one of the many reviews of the resort about the air conditioning and lack of it at nighttime. We had no issues. Our room was cool the entire time of being there. Read on many reviews about not finding a cool place other than your room; this is true, however, remember you are in Cancun -- your bathing suit is your best friend. Just relax and enjoy all the resort has to offer. We rode bikes, we did karaoke. The kids (old and young) loved the water slide and the old ship with the slides and sprinklers. dont forget there are 2 swimming pools. We loved doing the water exercises and the morning stretch. The entertainment crew (Billy, Cindy and I forget the other 3 gentlemen names) kept us moving and they were always smiling and making all have fun. Make sure you catch a sunrise or sunset -- What a work of art.
Will advise the internet is not free. Only on the 6th floor are you able to use and that is if you have the correct colored band on. You may print out your boarding passes there for a fee -- do not do this as when you get to the airport, they print out for free.
Definitely recommend Gran Caribe -- it was the perfect wedding location -- plenty to do for all who come to celebrate the special occasion. There is plenty to eat, drink, activities, shopping, live entertainment, or just relax by the pool or on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chocowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

First of all thank you very much for writing this detailed review about your stay at Gran Caribe Cancun! We thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just got back from a short trip to Cancun and we had a great time! We were on a promotional trip from "the Today Show" and the price couldnt possibly be beat. We were supposed to be traveling with friends but due to a death in the family they were unable to attend. They were truley missed and we often thought of them in this trying time for them. I had read many reviews before we went and was prepared for a few of the pitfalls that we did encounter. For instance do not leave your card towels with the towel hut when you check out, if you do you will be charged. Read this tidbit prior so we didnt. Also, be prepared for the "free upgrade" first night. As we stood at check-in I watched them literally explain this whole "we're full" and we will upgrade first night for free to everyone who checked-in, but you can stay in the upgrade for only another additional $240 for the next two nights. We fought but didnt win, but neither did they, we had them switch our room while we were out on a tour to Chichen-Itza and the process was virtually seamless. We did get free transportation to the hotel included in our package but not on the way back, no problem they will give you free return as long as you go on their "tour". We were very strong on this and refused the tour for their "vacation club" (not "time share" as per the salesman, Lol- some folks must actually fall for this crap). Admittedly, they gave up sooner than any other place we've ever been to where they want you to take "the tour". After about 5 minutes, Usi, a pretty nice guy, saw this was going nowhere and just asked us to sign that we werent intertested and that was it, onto the vacation. As far as the return trip, it cost us all of $9 each, booked with the tour company at the hotel, Best Tours. The free upgraded room at first was amazing, full glass view of the beach, In-room whirlpool, and beachfront walk out. So nice at first that we almost went for the extra fee to keep the room. Glad we did not. Once we settled in for the night we noticed that there was a smell (musty) to the room, that the temperature never really got cool, and that the ceiling leaked causing puddles in the living area, and the Wi-Fi didnt work. The second room was much nicer, cooler, and had a balcony. The only thing I could not find in the second room was the in-room bar which was in the tv cabinet of the first room. There was the mini-fridge which was stockked with beer, water, and soft drinks, and the Wi-Fi worked. (BTW, it also worked out on the beach and at the pool as well which was nice) So, in the end we won, they didnt, no extra charges.
The service at all the restaurants and bars was good, the food was good in all as well. Surely not 5-star restaurants, but good selection and service, and tasty enough for what you'll need on a beach vacation. The drinks really depended on which bar or bartender you got, once in a while one tasted watered down, but never so at the beach bar, plenty of booze in those drinks as far as what we got. We did manage a reservation for Maria's on our last night (at 10PM though) and the atmosphere and service was once again pretty good. As I read in other reviews here, I had to have the "flaming coffee". Tasty (has booze in it) and the presentation as they make this stuff at your table is pretty cool. Our waiter was Roman and he was very attentive, even left us with a tripadvisor card asking us to post if we were happy with the meal and service, hence what you are reading.
The SPA was also very nice, we went for the couples massage in their private massage room and also utilized the hot tub whirlpool while waiting our turn. We booked our massage right on the beach right from our lounge chairs as a representative was coming around offering a discounted special. ( it was about $40 bucks off the regular price). We had Liliana and Marisol who were great, Really got in there to spots that I didnt even know were tight. Aroma-thereapy throughout and very relaxing. We reccomend completely.
Beach and Pool spots were never a problem, never a long wait for anything. didnt get to see too much of the daily entertainment at the pool, but what we did see seemed typical and fun without being intrusive. The varied and differant spots available made the beach a very nice and easy experience. You must however realize the the water at the beach is more like Jones Beach waves than Aruba lagoonish and the lifeguards would not allow you to go in too far. Hanging at the beach was still very nice and when it was time for getting wet, the pool was only a few steps away and the temperature there was very nice and never crowded, except for a bit on the last day when a party of some sort arrived consisting of mostly youthful individuals. Not enough to creep in on our space at all though, so for the pool area we also give good marks.
The tour company they use is Best Tours, at first "smiley" wasnt all that helpful, but after a few minutes he booked us on the deluxe tour to Chichen-Itza for the next day. This actually turned out even better for us as their tour apparently was full and the next day we were dropped off to the "skybus deluxe" tour run by Cancun Passion. Really good time, service and information on the bus was great and included water, light breakfast, juice, BEER and TEQUILA! Our tour guide at Chichen-Itza was Carlos who was very informitive and friendly. These rest of the staff, Mikal, and Diego were also great. Just wish we had a little more time to ourselves at Chichen-Itza and Il-Kil (the natural sink hole or cenote where we stopped for a refreshing swim before making the trek back to the Hotel.
All in all, a great trip, no kidnappings, bribes, or safety issues of any kind, the hotel zone is very "American-ized" and easy to get around, as well as, in our opinion, safe. Would most certainley go back to both Cancun and the Gran Caribe Real. Will aslo stay on the lookout for more "steals and deals" like this one.

Room Tip: Dont bother with upgrades unless you get a beachfront walkout and if you do that make sure the room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thank you for your brief yet encouraging review about your past stay.

Our associates strive to provide excellence in service and we are proud to read we were able to meet your expectations throughout your visit at Gran Caribe Cancun.

Once more, thank you and we hope to have the privilege of hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I will preface this review by saying that we don't usually do all-inclusive vacations, this is only our second time but this is a nice environment for everyone as long as you understand what you are getting. We bought the NBC promotion from Jill's steals and deals and planned to bring our college aged daughter and a friend, they cancelled and we decided to go alone for 4 days.

It is not 5 Stars as traditionally interpreted. This hotel club group has their own rating system which has stars and Diamonds. If you want luxury you will chose the Diamond rated "Royal" property next door or at Playa de Carmen.

If you want a fun time that is great for all ages on a nice beach then this all inclusive will work for you. The pool area looked fun but we are beach people so we spent our time there, there is drink service on the beach but you may have to chase them down to keep your cup full. The surf is rough and seems to limit the actual time you can swim in the ocean, wading is fine all day with a life guard on duty. We noticed that many of the other hotels did not have a lifeguard on duty so we thought this was an asset.

This is not a large property, everything is right there, nothing to figure out. The staff goes out of the way to make sure you are having a good time. The food was not fantastic but the selections at every meal, and the fact that it was available 24 hours was certainly adequate. The all inclusive liquors are not terrible and you also have a selection in your room. Premium liquors are available in the gift shop and the reservation restaurants, if you want them but they are not part of the all inclusive. The lobby bar staff were very good about mixing drinks to your taste if you are not satisfied. Tips are not required but they are not turned down. They have entertainment in the hotel but if you are looking for exhilarating nightlife you will have to leave the hotel. There are shops down the street and discount coupons for all the clubs and activities can readily be found there.
BTW don't talk to anyone at the airport, they are selling things to you as soon as you get out of customs. If this your first visit to Cancun they can overwhelm you, say no, period! Figure out what you want to do before you leave home and find the tours you want once you get to your hotel.
The maid service was very good, and the hotel is very clean, the property is not new but is is maintained reasonably well.
I thought Maria's restaurant was good, the wine selection is great although there is an additional charge for the wine's on the wine list. (There was a very good selection of Mexican small vineyard wines) The Sommelier was very helpful and even hosted a tequila tasting that was creative and informative.
We liked the Albatross for breakfast and lunch, and there was one especially attentive waiter, Jesus, who made you feel pampered and special. His service was so great that we would only sit in his section. He even did magic tricks!
The complaints others had in previous reviews could have been valid, we had a problem with a toilet, but we called the housekeeping staff, not the front desk. Someone came within minutes and took care of the problem. The beds are hard in the rooms that you don't upgrade, they are a vacation club property (more on that later) so the is some up-sale effort. You can just say no.

The negative: The vacation club presentation. If you have never considered this type of club just don't go to the presentation it is a high pressure sales pitch that lasts long after you have said no. Goggle vacation clubs and time shares, in my mind they are the same but there are some differences.
If you have done your research and you are interested then just go and get them to cut to the chase about the points you can buy, how they work, and how much it will cost. Our representative was very gracious in showing us the luxury property, and the sales staff were nice but it is a hard sale so be prepared.
I hope this helps.

Room Tip: If you really plan to sleep in your room, then upgrade. If you are there to party for 48 hours don...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macmack73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Gran caribe resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

First and foremost allow me to thank you very much for choosing our Resort as host to your recent holidays.

I truly hope to change your thoughts regarding our Resort and of you allow us another opportunity to welcome you in the near future I am certain that you will notice the improvement we have made since your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
1.1 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran caribe resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran caribe resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £131 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran caribe resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful stretch of pristine white sands in the heart of Cancun's famous Hotel Zone stands the spectacular Gran Caribe Resort, welcoming couples, families, friends, and colleagues to relish all-inclusive luxuries, enjoy genuine hospitality, and explore the region's cultural heritage and vibrant entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran caribe resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Caribe Real Resort Spa
Gran Caribe Cancun
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa
Cancun Gran Caribe Real Resort
Gran Caribe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing