We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,356)
Filter reviews
9,356 results
Traveller rating
4,904
2,599
907
490
456
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,904
2,599
907
490
456
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset grill il pescatore caribe resort maria's restaurant gran caribe real big mac real resort lobby bar hour snack bar ocean view vip lounge entertainment staff pirate ship main pool kids pool junior suite tequila volleyball
Filter
Updating list...
1,173 - 1,178 of 9,356 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016

If you go to Cancun and decided to stay in Gran Caribe, one place that we highly recommend to go would be Restaurant Marias. We had a very memorable surprise there to celebrate our son's 8th year birthday. Captain David showed genuine care to our little getaway celebration, from the moment we walked in, we felt like we were the VIP of the hotel. Our waiter Raul, was very professional and helpful to take our dinner to the best possible experience. And the final Mayan Coffee was really on fire! Strongly recommended if you haven't tried yet, probably one of the most sophisticated coffee that have ever made LIVE... In addition to Restaurant Marias, my boys and I also had a lot of fun playing beach Soccer led by staff Fabian; and my wife was very thankful to waitress Anna by recommending the best possible beach drinks to the ladies. Like my two boys said in the end, we'd like very much to come back again!

Room Tip: Turn off the AC in the night would make your room a lot quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Panama Jack Resorts Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Chao T,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

So glad to know that you had such a fun vacation and truly liked our Mexican restaurant Maria´s. It is certainly an authentic palate experience. I will be happy to share your review with Ana, Fabián and Raúl.

We will be happy to welcome you again in Gran Caribe.

Kind regards,

Matias K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We got an awesome couples massages by Thelma and Georgina. We chose the deep tissue message and it was wonderful! Very professional and Thelma took all of my knots away! The food is quite bland in the buffets, but Maria's (Mexican) restaurant was really good. We went off-site and ate at Trattorias one night and the food was spectacular. You could tell that the noodles were homemade.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Panama Jack Resorts Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Jenny B,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to know that you had such a great time and truly enjoyed the massages that Thelma and Georgina so greatly provided. Glad that your experience was good.

We hope to welcome you again in Gran Caribe Resort.

Kind regards,

Matias K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

This is our 13th year in a row staying at this resort. We have seen so many changes over the years and it's always for the better.

It's very clean, the employees are friendly and if you don't see something you want, just ask.

It's super nice to tip your hard working staff; from your Capitan, wait staff, bar tenders, room service, house keeping. Tip people, we all work hard for our money and giving a little something shows your appreciation. $1 American dollar is worth over $20 pesos right now.

The beach is amazing - white, baby powder sand. You can walk anywhere and the surface is always cool. Water is at least 7 shades of blue.

The rooms are a really nice size and always super clean.

We stick to two-three main restaurants, but there are 5 and also food on the beach, room service and 24 hour service.

There's buffet and you can ask for a menu at any restaurant. If you don't see something, just ask.

People who have made our trip extra special: (I apologize for spelling errors)

Our favorite chef: Claribel - she makes our breakfast every morning and God bless her that she can fit all the veggies my husband Spiro gives her to make his omelette.

Room Service: Idealphonso - he spoils us with so many special treats - we celebrate our anniversary and my hubby's bday every year.

House Keeping: Mariana - you kept our room inaccurate and made so many cute towel animals and fresh flowers.

Bell Hop: Rodrigo R, Carlos V - you guys make sure our stuff is safe and you took care of our Elf on the Shelf.

Checkin: Jesus - amigo - gracias

Concierge: Letetzia, Diana - you girls make sure everything is perfect - thank you.

Restaurants:
Gaviotas: Liliana, Abel, Fermin, Vincente, Lino, Roberto, Argenez - you remember us year after year. We never have to ask for anything - you remember what we love.

Albatros: Jaime, Javier, Leo - thank you for always taking care of us. I swear people think we're celebrities. lol

Capitans: Enrique, Fernando, Jesus, Jesus (There are two - don't know last names) thank you for making this our home away from home.

Bar tenders and servers: Victor, Jesus, Daniel, Norma, Maclovio. Thank you for keeping us hydrated and for your

Other tidbits:
Everyone always works so hard to make our trip special. I hope I didn't leave anyone out. Thank you for everyone making us feel welcome, safe, comforted, at home and wanting to come back again.

Sunset grill was putting up a tarp so you could eat outside during inclement weather. It came out really nice. The lighting at night was too bright though. Lost it's relaxing ambiance and made it more like dining inside.

If you're in a room on the bay side, you get to see beautiful sunsets. Just can't go to bed early, because you'll hear the band from the lobby bar.

If noise bothers you: don't get a room near the elevator, or the 6th floor. It's fun to stay up late and you'll hear all the fun stuff happening when you're not participating and trying to get sleep.

All the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Don't need to bring an iron or blow dryer, all the rooms have them.

We don't usually leave the resort, but when we have, there's a tiny "mall" within walking distance and you can get into town by bus.

If you're an adult looking to have fun or have kids you want to keep busy, they have stuff going on all day every day. You can book excursions right from the hotel.

If you like to relax, like we do, you can chill on the beach. There's lounge chairs, cabanas and even hammocks in the shade under the pool deck with a beautiful ocean view.

Any questions, just ask. As you can tell, I'm a huge fan. People ask why we don't try some other resort? I agree with my husband - if it isn't broke, there's no need to fix it.

Room Tip: For better sleep, stay off the 6th floor and away from elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lbminma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Panama Jack Resorts Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear lbminma,

Thank you for taking the time to offer such a great review of your stay in Gran Caribe Resort.

Wow, how wonderful it is to read about the excellent experience you had with us during this and all your trips to Cancun. We appreciate your trust and loyalty with our heart. Thank you also for mentioning each and every collaborator that went above and beyond to ensure that you had an amazing time.

We will be here and ready for one more time welcoming you in your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Matias K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Many of the Cancun Hotels are beautiful with very nice facilities and beachfront. What made our visit to the Gran Caribe Resort special was the exceptional staff. We were at the resort from November 19th - 26th with 14 family members in 4 rooms. Particularly the following staff members:
Fernando Antunez - Butler. Every time we saw him he made us feel like we were the most important visitors in the entire hotel. I thought he was the general manager and just made things happen for our family. In the Gaviotas cafe, Captain Jesus Hurteds and Hostess Liliana Fuentes were incredibly attentive and make good meals great. And on the beach, Violeta Chavez was genuinely caring and thoughtful. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and thoroughly taken care of - Bravo Violeta. Also Norma Cahuich is another one of the wonderful staff. Clearly the team at Gran Caribe Resort enjoys working there and please do what you can to make these great people even happier - they make the difference between a good and a great vacation. Thank you Fernando, Jesus, Liliana, Norma, and Violeta. Warm regards, Gary Morris

Room Tip: The room does not really matter - you spend most of your time on the beach
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 107garymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Panama Jack Resorts Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Dear 107garymorris,

Thank you for offering us such a kind review on Trip Advisor.

It is with great joy that I read your review. So proud of the outstanding staff the represents Gran Caribe in every single interaction with our guests, making you feel as special as you are and truly providing an excellent experience. I will be honored to share your words with Fernando, Jesus, Liliana, Norma and Violeta.

We will be happy to welcome you the nest time.

Kind regards,

Matias K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

First time at this resort and would definitely return. Really can't think of anything to complain about. Check in with Hesus went smoothly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were in 2126 and it was located close to the main lobby, pools and restaurants. There was plenty of room at the pool and beach and we always had a good selection of loungers at the pool and beach beds with sun protection at the beach. The staff said the resort was booked at 80% capacity. The concierge Gabriella was caring, efficient, and helpful. The animation team Oscar, Fabian, Angelo,Jose, Sara, and Sabina were great. All the staff was extremely friendly and seemed to love their jobs. Lots of tasty drinks and food, the best we've ever had. We tried a lot of shooters recommended by the beach bar staff. Mm! We ate at all the restaurants and buffets. One night Gaviota's had a "Mongolian Grill" type meal including salmon, tuna, crab, scallops, mussels, shrimp, calamari, beef and pork. Our favourite was the melt in your mouth steak at Maria's and the amazing Mayan coffee that Fermin treated us to. The evening shows which started at 8 pm in the lobby bar were very entertaining. We especially enjoyed the Mexican show.

Stayed: December 2016
4  Thank Carrots57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias K, Director General at Panama Jack Resorts Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Dear Carrots57,

Thank you very much for you review on Trip Advisor and excellent recommendation.

I can definitely imagine how wonderful your trip was, it sounds just great! Our staff are happy with their jobs indeed and always go above and beyond to pamper our guests. Thank you for mentioning them by name. I will make sure to share this with them.

We will be looking forward to welcome again in Gran Caribe Resort.

Cordially,

Matias K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews