We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruins”
Review of Avenida Tulum

Avenida Tulum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.99*
and up
Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch
Ranked #6 of 32 Shopping in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ruins”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The ruins at Tulum are breathtaking, the history, the views and swimming at the beach looking back at the ruins. Well worth having a guide to learn about it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jae11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    92
    40
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prettiest view from the ruins”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Loveliest view where it opens up to the sea from the ruins. Off the beaten path - took a bus to the ruins.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HardWorkingYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely location!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The ruins aren't as impressive as some of the others in Mexico but geez... the view from them is just terrific! the turquoise waters, the drinks by the beach, its heaven - the ruins are very touristy with a lot of big groups wondering around

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JazzzSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiells, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everyone must take at least one visit to Downtown Cancun!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

And by that, I don't mean the party center at Punta Cancun--I mean the old Cancun downtown where there are dozens of delicious restaurants, local shops that sell beautiful souvenirs, outside seating and a good feeling of being out of the hotel zone with all of the tourists (like us!) to interact and support the local people of Cancun who make coming here so wonderful. I have been downtown many times, and my preference is to relax on the beach all day, shower, nap and then get ready for downtown. There are busses all along Kukulkan to take you there and as most of you already know, the bus prices are only a few pesos, very cheap. Wandering around Tulum Avenue when it is less hot (preferably, evening) is a wonderful experience. On certain nights some of the locals might put on shows. The restaurants are all so great that it is probably hard to choose one, but many have samples of the platter they offer right on the street, along with the prices. It is a great place to take a walk in the early evening. I probably would not walk some of the streets on the outside late at night and definitely not alone, but if you are on Tulum you can be pretty sure that there will be many others around you and it will be quite safe, and definitely worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank frano429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
194 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely and hot!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have been here twice and somehow forgot how hot it can be out in the open! We traveled in a group of 10 with 4 kids. We arrived at 9:30 am and were touring the ruins by 10am. The kids were so hot and the adults were unable to really listen to the tour guide since the kids were whining. In hindsight, bring an umbrella!!! I wish someone would have told me this simple thing, it would have kept the sun off them and allowed the adults to enjoy the tour more. Other than the heat, it was a wonderful experience and a beautiful place. Try to arrive first thing in the am or in the later afternoon to avoid the crowds. Bring your swim suit and enjoy the beautiful beach too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank babymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avenida Tulum also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Avenida Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing