We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel. Exceptional staff. Can't wait to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel. Exceptional staff. Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Between the great location, beautiful beach, and fantastic facilities, Live Aqua has a lot going for it. Even above and beyond these compelling features however, are the staff.

We really were unable to fault any part of our 9 day stay. In fact, we found ourselves rather bemused by complaints we had read in other reviews prior to our trip.

The food choice and quality was very impressive for all-inclusive and surpassed our expectations. Breakfast could be busy at times, but we never had to wait long for a table, cooked eggs / quesadillas, or fruit smoothies (what a great addition!). Lunch was always a difficult decision between Azur and Sea Corner. We loved the outlook and vibe of Sea Corner, but the Baja tacos and desserts at Azur were also very hard to pass up. Dinner was always fresh and delicious wherever we went, and it is clear the chefs work exceptionally hard and always aim to please. Chef Eric was often seen around morning til evening making sure that everything was running smoothly and offering guests custom meal options. Similarly, the Siete Chef (whose name I can't remember, maybe Javier? - so sorry!) came around on two separate evenings to offer to make us 'whatever we like' despite the extensive menu plus buffet options!

It's true this isn't an activity based hotel, which had me wondering how we would spend our 9 days as typically very busy and easily bored people. Once we set ourselves up at the beach or by the pool, however, we didn't want to leave (lunch being the main exception) and the days almost flew past! For those who aren't as mesmerized by the ocean view for hours on end, there are 2 sport or game activities per day as well as things like guacamole lessons, tequila tasting etc a few times a week. The hotel also goes to the effort of evening poolside or beach parties (maybe twice a week?).

The pools were stunning. We found the range of temperatures to be just right. The chair game is an unfortunate actuality, but I would prefer that to an allocation system or not having a place to leave our things during lunch and a swim. The swim up bar could get pretty rowdy at times (and I admired the staff who worked there!) but it was easy enough to stay away from the area as it's not our kind of scene.

Onto the most important and impressive aspect of Live Aqua... the staff. The people of Live Aqua are what make it a truly great resort, and perhaps the biggest incentive for us to return - and it's a very long way for us to travel! Everyone was so friendly and gracious, no matter what their role, whether food service, poolside, or cleaning windows.

I am regretful I can't remember more names of great people we encountered, so will have to limit the special mentions to our main men: CARLOS, JESUS, GENARO and SANTIAGO. While we could have had our drinks brought to us by the wonderful poolside or beach waiters, we enjoyed going to see our new mates so much, we were more than happy to visit the Shore Bar, Azur Bar and even all the way inside to AKA Bar to get our drinks. These men not only made superb drinks ('skinny margarita no syrup' ;) ) but were great fun to talk to and really made our days. Also look out for Carlos' amazing fruit creations - so incredibly clever! We miss you guys!!

A sincere THANK YOU to ALL of the staff who made our trip truly memorable and special. We do hope to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have ocean frontage as mentioned by several other reviewers. We booked a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eholidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,969
    1,394
    440
    114
    81
See reviews for
853
5,682
104
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after some friends canceled on a carribean trip with us. We are very glad they did! We love love love this hotel!! The last all inclusive we stayed at was a Sandals, but this is nicer and the people that work here really provide another level of service. They all seem to enjoy their jobs. We upgraded our room when we got here to a Suite with a jacuzzi tub. This is an anniversary trip for us, and they gave us chocolate covered strawberries and Asti Spumante as a surprise. They also decorated our room with red hearts and candles, and filled the jacuzzi tub with bubble bath. They really made us feel special!
The pool area has great service, and if you don't want to get up to get your own drink, someone will be by to get it for you. The beach is very clean, and the sellers on the beach are low key. One no thank you and they move on.
I don't know why people have complained about the food here. We have eaten at 3 of the restaurants so far, and the food is very good as is the service. My family has owned restaurants, and any tip here is very appreciated, but not required or expected.
We look forward to our remaining days here, and will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The property is beautiful! I love the clean marble floors in the hotel rooms. My husband and I came to Live Aqua for our 5 year wedding anniversary!
Every time we went out to eat they would ask if we were celebrating something special. <3

We loved all of the restaurants, we loved the beach party and the bands that would play at the restaurants too.

I def recommend getting a full cabana at least one of your days at Live Aqua. It is paradise luxury. You get a foot and head massage, steady flow of drinks and food too. Me and my hubby even took a nap in the cabana too.

We had a spacious terrace room, and we were very satisfied with it.

We loved the mall and market across the street, it is fun and the employees are personable.

The staff at Live Aqua is A+! They dont ever say NO! Constant greetings and going above and beyond! When you arrive the magic begins!

I recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txbootsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

-Outstanding staff, all the way
-Great location. Across street from La Isla mall which has everything
-Short bus ride to the main tourist area of hotel zone
-Clean rooms and general hotel area
-Mellow vibe at the pool
-Easy beach access

What stood out the most about Live Aqua is the level of service. From the servers to the cafe to the bars, everyone is working their butt off to ensure you're having a good time. Tipping is optional but I felt compelled to tip given how hard the staff works. On one occasion at dinner, our server dropped off some mosquito repellent since he noticed i was being chewed up! Another great aspect is this resort is not too large. It doesn't take long to get to the restaurants, pool, or beach. Everything is easily accessible.

Majority of guests were in their 40s, some in the mid 30s. Lots of Midwesterners were there. So if it's winter and you're from the Midwest, you may run in to some neighbors. Mostly laid back vibe with the guests (keep in mind this was during the week in Feb).

Food-wise there's plenty of options and the servers don't discourage gorging. Foodies may not be that impressed, but if you come in with your standard hotel food expectations, and live it up all-inclusive style by order everything that looks good, you should be fine. And again, the service is ridiculous. One waiter did a tableside flaming coffee service for desert which is a lot of work for 2 people.

La Isla mall across the street has everything you need from high end shopping to low end gift stores.

My only complaints are the poolside chairs get claimed as early as 5am. Guests go down and drop a magazine on a chair and come back when they please. If you don't make it to the pool by 7am you're not getting a chair. I wish there was a better system. And their elevators are really slow.

If you get tired of the food gorging, which we did by day 3, take the bus down to the main tourist area of the hotel zone and find Tacos Rigos. Get their al pastor w/ the habenero salsa cause it's an orgasmic experience!

Ultimately, if you're looking for value, this is probably not it. This is some high end stuff with service as the number 1 focus.

Room Tip: Our "Garden View" room actually had a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awwwyeah206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

By far the most incredible hotel we have ever stayed at. Excellent location with shopping across the street. Complete Zen atmosphere as soon as you walk into the gorgeous lobby. Sleek and modern with fountains and art and plenty of alcoves to sit at. They always have aromatherapy in the air. The food was delicious at all restaurants and buffets. The service incredible. They have a "WISH" button on your in-room telephone. What ever you need, they will take care of it. The beds were super comfy and the marble bathrooms beautiful and very clean. Loved the room service! Especially served on our balcony with an oceanview. The alcohol was all top shelf with informed bartenders and supreme mixologists! The poolside service was incredible, you never had to wait for food or drinks.
Even the night club was trendy and cool though never crowded. Not a late night party resort, but downtown Cancun is a 5 minute bus ride.
The SPA had some very innovated services that truly are in my top 5 . The two parrots that did a daily dance in the air was very cool.
I felt that this resort was very luxurious and first class.
Cannot wait to go back. Truly a trip of a lifetime.....hope to have many more there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maregep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloy, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Live Aqua Cancun for 9 days in late February/early March. We’ve stayed at many different resorts over the years but all we can say is "WOW!" Our expectation bar has been raised! I know all reviews are specific to each individual’s likes and dislikes. But we liked.
First and foremost, the staff is incredible, and I do mean it! Francisco at the front door when we arrived, David at the front desk checking us in, Florentino at the AKA bar who mixes a great drink, Karla, Cesear and Roy at the Hidden Garden. There’s just too many to thank. All of the staff spoke English, they always had a smile and all were willing to assist us at the drop of a hat. What pushed it over the top is Chef Eric De Maeyer and his staff. Just like another reviewer, at arrival we were met by Chef Eric and his full staff of Chefs! Image having 15 people coming out to meet and welcome you to your home away from home. Talk about a welcome and it didn't stop there.
Food! The food was delicious at all of the restaurants. Breakfast? At Siete, ask Maria to make a "Big Foot" breakfast for you, you'll be glad you did. Such a wonderful combination of flavors that started the morning out right. Don’t forget to order a Bloody Mary, or Mimosa, or if you’re feeling energetic you can make it yourself. Every meal at Siete was great, with lots of options at every meal. Hidden Garden, delicious Asian cuisine. On our first night Chef Alejandro prepared a special dinner for us, no menu in sight. Appetizers, a shrimp soup but the best was the main course. The ahi tuna was grilled to perfection with a great combination of spices. A couple of days later Chef Eric invited us to the MB restaurant for our special dinner that he cooked. Surf and turf with wonderfully rich sauces and delicious tender meat and lobster. We were so lucky that he invited us to a second meal later in the week. Wonderful combinations of shellfish, pasta all in a savory bath of Chile chipotle tequila sauce. Don’t forget the room service, it’s there and it’s an option. Prompt service, very good selection and it’s tasted great no matter what we chose. Oh and the coffee shop, grab a cup and something sweet to start the morning, or the afternoon or the…you get the picture.
Bar. We never had a problem getting the top shelf alcohol at any of the bars. The wine was tasty.
Room. The entire property including the rooms are beautiful! We stayed on the 7th floor in 7020. Clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable. I loved the aromatherapy in the room and around the hotel. Make sure to use the aromatherapy order sheet to get oil delivered each day for the burner in your room. We had an ocean view where we could sit on the patio for cocktails in the evening watching the beach and ocean. The refrigerator is stocked with soda and beer. What if you want an adult beverage, not just beer? How about another bag of chips and package of Oreos because your husband ate them while you were in taking a bath? Dial 0. Ask and you will receive!
Pool and Beach! The pool area is beautiful. The sand on the beach soft and inviting. We spent days at the pool and on the beach walking, reading, and enjoying our vacation. My husband says there’s a trick to the umbrellas, spread all of the canopy arm supports and the runner will come up with no problem. Otherwise folks will be there for a while trying to open the umbrella.
Transportation. We booked USA Transport for our round trip to and from the airport. A great deal never hurts, but comfort is more important. The USA Transport folks were outside the second door of the airport terminal decked out in red white and blue, so they were very easy to find. The trip was quick. The return trip, the driver was right time. Both drivers were courteous, spoke English and the vehicles were clean and comfortable. We wouldn’t hesitate to use USA Transport again.
I've informed my husband that we're heading back next year for my birthday, he didn't argue because he's ready to go back too.

Room Tip: Email the resort a week or so before to ask for an upgrade or to ask to meet Chef Eric. North side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank azcruisegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband Karl and I stayed at Live Aqua from February 19 - March 1, 2014. We have been vacationing in Cancun for over 15 years and this is the first time I truly wanted to write a well deserving review. We have stayed in many all inclusive resorts in Cancun and have found an exceptionally unique resort at Live Aqua. I'm not one to give every little detail of our vacation but upon arrival to departure everything was perfect. The beach is spacious with beautiful sand and plenty of loungers. Love the morning messages created in the sand by the staff. The pools were nice as well. Loved the quaint little Italian outdoor cafe for lunch or dinner. All the restaurants were wonderful with a variety of entrees to choose from. Our first day Karl and I were walking around to get aquainted with the resort. We ventured into the Hidden Garden where we meet the most amazing Chef Eric and Chef Alejandro. They made our vacation very special and we are forever grateful for all the meals Chef Eric and Chef Alejandro prepared especially for us. GRACIAS to you my friends!!! I hope when you vacation at The Live Aqua you have the opportunity to get acquainted with them. Chef Eric and Chef Alejandro everyday walk around different areas of the hotel and approach nice couples and ask if they can prepare a meal for you. Please accept, this is not a marketing tactic, and you will miss out on an extraordinary dining experience. They are very compassionate and they just want to share their passion and love in creating a fabulous and delicious meal for you. You won't be disappointed. We met alot of other staff members and they are always happy and they truly will go out of their way to accomodate to your needs. Thanks to Oswaldo, waiter assistant at MB, we enjoyed you everytime we dined at MB. Keep that smile!! You were a pleasure!!!! Chef Luis we loved, loved the Blue Cheese soup! So many names to remember but you all are the reason your resort Ranks #4. And also the reason we will be returning year after year to Live Aqua.

Room Tip: All the room have ocean view but I would recommend a higher floor which is quieter. We stayed in Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
2.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
5,609 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun

Property: Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km 12.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 Business Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live Aqua Cancun, a welcoming place, where being is the first part of feeling. Your senses work together. It's a prism of colors, eclectic rhythms, and seductive details. Enjoy the fusion of idyllic days and energizing nights. It is a monument to your arrival to this Cancun Spa Resort. This sophisticated beachfront resort lies along white sand beaches, across the street from La Isla Shopping Mall and walking distance from some of the best restaurants and shopping malls in the city. Exotic drinks, barefoot luxury and activities overlooking the resort's 8 infinity pools are just part of the exquisite details within our All Inclusive concept. Music worships you at every step, with changes in rhythms that match the emotions you feel and the space around you. The sound is never the same, but always relaxing, exciting and harmonic. Arriving, leaving, just belonging makes you sigh with peace. The Aqua aroma seeps into every nook and cranny up to the sky, down to the sea. Return to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel Cancun
Fiesta Americana Grand Aqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing