We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”
Review of Terracaribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terracaribe Hotel
Ranked #112 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Naxxar, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Hotel is located in downtown, in a busy street where cars can be heard from the room, but it didn't bother us since we were so tired and slept like a baby! Rooms are clean and spacious, serviced daily. Pool area is nice and quiet. Most of the staff speak in English too. Bus r1 which takes you to the hotel zone and also to the ado bus station, passes in front of the hotel very frequently.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fefa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    81
    44
    13
    15
See reviews for
22
82
30
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was just a bit leery of reserving here because of the "bad Neighborhood" Remarks. I am glad I did not let those sway me. First off the staff from the desk to the maids, to the kitchen are wonderful. Because I was having a medical procedure done and I have difficulty for walking I requested a 1st floor with 2 double beds. They only had the 1 double bed room and the slightly larger jr suite with fridge available as an upgrade.

Veronica on the desk upgraded us at no extra charge and to "please call" if I or my roommate needed assistance after my surgery. They did in fact come out to the car to help my friend to get me to our room and comfortable.

Everything is so clean, and the pool is sparkling and temp is just right. Beds are comfortable and the pillows fat and fluffy. The only down point, and it is NOT a complaint, is that mussey odor that you find even in the best hotels during high humidity seasons. Easy solution is a scented candle or the scented melting cubes that I travel with. For the price you are getting a real bargain here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

we have stayed 2 nights at this hotel before we moved to another hotel close to market 28. The hotel is ok but there was too much noise in the room coming from the kitchen, they changed our room, it helped but not did not work out totally. It says the shuttle from the airport would be free of charge for 2 or more nights stay but they tried to charge if at checkout. I told them in spanish that it would be free. It was time consuming to convince them especially the manager. fortunately it worked out, but we moved to another hotel much nicer again in downtown. I think it is too expensive for a downtown hotel, it is not a beach resort anyway. The rooms are comfortable and big, there was a small pool inside the hotel with a bar nearby. The breakfast was very good and delicious. The location is good, you can walk to downtown or hotel zone (sure it is a little far from the hotel) Speaking Spanish would help to find good deals so try to learn a little bit to get good deals. For instance we were three, me the only one speaking Spanish, my friend asked the room rate of one of the hotels in Playa de Carmen close to the cozumel ferry port, the receptionist told him double room would cost 70 USD, I was not around. After a while I showed up and asked the price in Spanish, he replied it would be 550 MXN (around 50 USD at that time). I haggled and we ended up 40 USD for the room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms above the kitchen. I dont know why but noise was coming from the kitchen. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giritline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Came in from airport and the hotel is a short busride away from the main busstation. It is a little out of the way of downtown Cancun (which is good) but the bus stops 2 minutes away. A direct line goes to the Hotel Strip (if you like that) and also to the Puerta Juarez ferry.
Pool is small but effective and the whole place is very clean (which I find very important). Also I slept like a baby because it is quiet. Finally the shower is the best I have had in 3 weeks of travel in USA so far.
Good value for money!

Room Tip: I had 205 which is on the second floor (there is no elevator). Had airco and a REALLY good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michiel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panorama, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed just one night, so I can only say that this hotel is very nice, quiet, has nice common area, is clean and has swimming pool which is good. The staff speaks english. They didnt have the shuttle to the beach club available for some reason when we were there, and they didnt say why, just some problems. That wasnt very professional. There is a bus station though where you can catch a bus to the downtown or straight to the hotel zone and the beach. There is a safe in the room and A/C.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucianaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is clean, safe and well situated. It is in a residential part of Cancun proper, away from the hotel zone. The hotel was very clean, with a/c and cable tv. Great water pressure in the shower and plenty of towels. That said, the bathroom was tiny. As in...the size of a closet but adequate nonetheless.

The price was right for an overnight when we were traveling through Cancun. It isn't near any beaches or tourist attraction, but you can take a cab or bus to those areas if you desire. Bus is less than $1 USD and a cab to the airport about 250 pesos,

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, with a window looking at the pool to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chictraavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here 3 nights on our way back from Cuba to U.S.
Extremely well-maintained, well-run hotel. Great lights in room. Everything works! Nice staff!
Perfect if you had a car or want to spend several days learning bus routes.
Wish restaurant was open in evening but "taco" place across street is great; and there is a 7/11 store near-by.
Location is a weakness, except for visiting Isla Mujeres. Getting to & from airport adds significantly to cost of staying "overnight"...$20-25 each way. And...a bit noisy/industrial.
But can't beat price, service, restaurant [when open], people who work there!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hindish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 175 in Cancun
141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#101 of 175 in Cancun
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#102 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#108 of 175 in Cancun
114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
1.8 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 175 in Cancun
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terracaribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terracaribe Hotel

Property: Terracaribe Hotel
Address: Av Lopez Portillo 70 | Esquina Av. Bonampak, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terracaribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-friendly hotel offers you Free wireless internet, outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, sundeck on roof, an economical Mexican restaurant. Conveniently located 25 minutes from the International Airport of Cancun, just 2 minutes away from the ferry to Isla Mujeres, near the entrance to the Hotel Zone, Puerto Cancun and the commercial heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Terracaribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terracaribe Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing