We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Emporio Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporio Cancun
Ranked #49 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in april for a week. We really loved this hotel. Everybody that worked here was extremly nice! Our suite was amazing, it had everything that we needed. I see alot of people complaining about the internet but it worked great for us and our room was far from the lobby. My parents loved it so much they ended up buying into the vacation club.
The only reason why i didnt give it 5 stars was because on our last night there we had no room service, nobody came to do the beds or clean, we called several times to the front desk and still no one came. But other than that everything was wonderful

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank lessleeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for your comments.
We apologize for the details on the last night, but at the same time we thank you for letting us know.
We are certainly working on the internet as well as other aspects of the operation to make it even better.
We are looking forward to see you back soon at Emporio Family Suites Cancun.

Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

This our first time In Mexico and we decide to go to Cancun and we opted for this hotel because reviews on Trip Advisor were excellent ones.

I totally agree with all that and we made the right choice !

Hotel is fantastic and staff & manangement are one of a kind - Mexican people are fabulous, kind and very helpful.

Nice surroundings and very clean hotel with all the commodities that you need in the hotel and outside the hotel.

Clean & tidy rooms are a must here !

In the hotel you have a restaurant, a mini market and BD Travel where you can buy your excursions with reasonable prices - You also have access to the wonderful beach which is extremely marvellous.

On the outside of the hotel you can find an exchange booth, pharmacy, mini markets and restaurants of your choice. You can catch the bus and you can go to the Plaza del Isla where you can spend a whole day going around in shops, cafeterias, restaurants and whatever your holiday needs from excursions to relaxing !

Special thanks & hugs to all the people in the breakfast area and the bar which made our holiday a memorable one !

I would surely recommend this hotel.

Thanks Emporio Family Suites Cancun

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaxMarcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Is very pleasant to hear that your expectations were met
For Emporio Family Suites Cancun, and the whole staff is the prime reason of our business.
We are thrilled to find out that in your first experience in Mexico you decided to stay with us.
Thank you again for your nice comments and, hope to see you soon on your second trip to Mexico, and Cancun.

Best regards

Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed there on July. Agree that this is not one of the modest and most beautiful hotels in Cancun. But it is still new and beautiful. My family was so pleased when we stayed there. The only problem was I had to request many times and spent couple hours to wait for the staff to come and check for missing things in kitchen (I booked a suite with full kitchen; they gave me a paper to check for things that were listed on and I had to sign on that paper). The staff is so nice and friendly. Definitely, I will recommend this hotel to my friends. Moreover, the location is right in hotel zone and the beach is beautiful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank grmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for have spent your holidays in Emporio Family Suites Cancun.
I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the inventory, thank you for letting me know. I can assure you that measurements were taken.
We hope to have you again with us , and that you can enjoy of the warmth of the staff and the great facilities that we have.

Most sincerely

Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pros:
- Came during low season and got a free upgrade to a nicely sized junior suite for 2 people with a huge balcony and a nice partial view of the ocean and pool area from the 6th floor. Exiting the room from the main door to the opposite side, we were also able to catch some beautiful sunsets.
- Quiet and uncrowded.
- Beautiful stretch of beach.
- Room rates are reasonable.
- Free no-hassle lounge chairs under shade on the beach.
- Nice and clean.

Neutral:
- Food was just ok. 2 restaurants.
- Sometimes too quiet, seemed like nothing was going on. Definitely more a family-friendly, low key place rather than an active, party place. No real entertainment. They had 2 Ping-Pong tables set up by the pool that they put away at around 4pm, which I thought was really early. The swim-up bar at the pool also closed while the sun was still high in the sky.
- They played different music in the poolside restaurant and at the pool - that was a little annoying as you could hear two distinct things playing as you were eating.
- Décor somewhat dated.

Cons:
- Unreliable wifi!! Whether you're in your room, at the restaurant, by the pool...
- Super noisy and old AC system. Boyfriend said it sounded "like a mack truck" and kept him up in the middle of the night whenever it turned on.
- A lot of little hidden charges showed up on my bill during check out... be aware of service fees and taxes.
- If you're heading to the airport from here by taxi... it costs 350pesos or $35usd (better pay in pesos, eh?) for a 15-20 minute ride. Apparently, according to the hotel, if you hail one in the street it'll cost 500-600pesos.

All in all, it was a good stay. Stock up on stuff from the OXXO across the street. Take a bus to/from downtown (R1/R2). Enjoy the flour-soft sand and clear turquoise waters, but beware the strong surf, which, imo, was lots of fun! There were two attentive lifeguards. But watch your kids =)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank floofymiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments , they are extremely important for us, since is the only way to keep improving.
We are working on the internet, we deeply apologize for this inconvenience, we understand that nowadays is a must, and are taking particular interest in providing the best service possible
Emporio Family Suites Cancun, is definitvly a Family oriented hotel, that provides to our guest the perfect environment to spend quality time for the whole family. Also since we are an EP (European Plan) hotel, the families and our guests have the time to explore the areas nearby and acquire a bit of the culture.
Again, thank you very much, and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Still at Emporio while writing this review. A very good place to stay with family especially if you have kids. Service staff are very good but reception staff seem to be oblivious to what they are suppose to be doing. DO NOT BELIEVE THE FALSE ADVERTISEMENT THAT THERE IS FREE WIFI IN THE ROOM. YES, WIFI IS FREE BUT YOU CAN ONLY GET CONNECTED IN THE LOBBY. If you want to stay connected, then set up a tent in the lobby. Fitness center and pool are not even 100 feet away from the lobby and yet you CANNOT connect to the wifi. This review will have a part 2 as still have 4 days left here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Chaching1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the opportunity of been helpful while you’re here.
We do have a limited wi fi access en the room, and are working very fast to get this fixed as soon as possible.
Unfortunately is not going to happen within the next days.
However, as a temporal solution, we are enhancing the lobby internet as of today.
TelMex is pending of installing the line today and we are all set for enhance the lobby area.
We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced.
If I can be of further help, please let me know

Warmest regards

Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I'll bullet the benefits and drawbacks of staying here.

Benefits
-spacious rooms (we stayed in a two bedroom suite with 3 balconies, but only one with chairs)
-fabulous breakfast (prepay or it's $20+ pp) with a great deal of variety and freshness (meats, boxed cereal, nachos, yoghurts, fresh juices, pancakes, french toast, waffles, pastries, eggs, vegetables)
-very friendly staff at the beach bar
-location was fabulous! (ON the ocean, very close to a bus stop for R1 and R2, small convenience store across the street)
-security (much security everywhere- though not as much as the Omni next door)
-free water each day (when the room was properly cleaned)
-nice lounge chairs on the beach under umbrellas (no charge)
-very clean hotel overall and beautiful ambiance (with three pools!)

Drawbacks
-room not consistently cleaned (not all things cleaned each time and the one day we asked for an early cleaning they didn't come until 5pm, just as we were getting back from a trip) and the substance used to clean the floors left them constantly moist (not fun for bare feet)
-internet intermittent (while free, it often didn't work or just had a signal in the lobby)
-despite the decently sized safe passports that were new became water damaged (as well as some papers left in the bedroom)
-nickel and diming: be advised that there is a fee to connect a call (even a toll-free call within Mexico, even local calls) and they did not advise us of this (50 peso surprise on the bill at checkout), to print out a piece of paper it cost 5 pesos, internet in the lobby was $5/hr

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drsheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for have selected Emporio Family Suites Cancun as your resort on this past holidays.
We highly appreciate the comments that you post, we strongly believe that is only throughout our guests feedback that we can improve constantly.
We are working on the internet issue, we understand that is a need nowadays, and are looking for the best to offer to our guests.
Thank you for the comments regards the cleaning of your room, I have shared this information with the Housekeeper to correct it.

We sincerely hope to see you soon,

Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are looking for a low key environment, this is the place to be. We stayed 7/5-7/10 in an Ocean view Junior Suite. We were literally able to walk from our balcony to the beach in less than 25 ft. It is a very family friendly resort with many activities for children. The pool was clean and staff were constantly available (lifeguard, security, bartenders, i.e.) There is a couple of restaurants and a deli/grocery on site, however, the food was low quality and expensive. Thankfully, there are a couple of convenience stores just across the street with anything you need. The bus stop is in front of the hotel, so transportation was never a problem and was always safe. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Emporio Family Suites and hope to return there myself soon.

Room Tip: Opt for the Ocean front rooms. Worth the extra rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Director General at Emporio Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your nice comments on regards to your stay at Emporio Family Suites Cancun.
Is a privilege that you decide to stay with us to enjoy your holidays.
We are totally family oriented as you were able to witness and our rooms have full equipment so you can enjoy the nice views that Cancun has to offer.
Thank you for the comments on the Deli, we are going to take a good look on it.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Omar Vazquez Gaytan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.6 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#71 of 177 in Cancun
5,275 reviews
5 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#62 of 177 in Cancun
1,474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.6 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
6.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#51 of 177 in Cancun
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Retorno Gucumatz, Km, 17 | Lote 49, Segunda Etapa, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £52 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporio Cancun is located 15 minutes from Cancun International Airport at km 17 next to the newly opened Museo Maya, between the Caribbean Sea and the Nichupte lagoon in the hotel zone which is a strip of white sand being the main tourist attraction city. Inspired by the grandeur of the Mexican-contemporary architecture, Emporio Family Suites Cancun is located in a tropical oasis, combining natural beauty and unique landscapes making it an ideal resort for the whole family. Consisting of 12 towers hotel offers a resort that will make you feel at home. Has a total of 399 rooms and suites with a contemporary style, equipped with fully kitchens and confortable areas indoor to provide warmth, privacy and comfort needed to rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Emporio Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing