We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Inexpensive - Centrally Located”
Review of Hotel Alux Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alux Cancun
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Inexpensive - Centrally Located”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

As I stated in my Mexico city review of the Hotel Riojas...this place is perfect for the non-preferential traveler...someone who just wants a centrally located, clean, safe, comfortable, and inexpensive place to stay - apart from the Hotel Zone - I am a Maya Archaeologist and have stayed here since 1993 and highly recommend it to those with similar attitudes. If you consider your hotel simply a safe and comfortable place to sleep with air conditioning and cable TV...this is it 4 U...why spend hundreds of dollars per night in the Hotel Zone, when you can just show up, sight unseen, and get a great room for tens of dollars on the hundred (compared to the Hotel Zone) and be centrally located in downtown Cancun, which is regularly serviced by a local bus to the beaches in the Hotel Zone every 15 minutes, as well as access to a supermarket, nightclubs, restaurants, etc., ....just pay your airfare and get a room once you arrive...you'll save hundreds of dollars and get just as nice a vacation

However, if you are expecting Miami Beach in Mexico...this place IS NOT 4 U...spend the extra $500 bucks or more 4 the week and stay in the Hotel Zone...this place is for someone who understands commonplace comfort, affordability, locality, and desires more of a local experience.

I absolutely LOVE it and would HIGHLY recommend it to any friend of mine...but the again...I am a archaeologist...lol!

Room Tip: Great Place in Downtown Cancun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karllorenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXHotel, Gerente at Hotel Alux Cancun, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Hello,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. Although all reviews are welcome and useful, It was encouraging to read yours. As a budget hotel, many times it is difficult to achieve a balance between the service we offer and the rate we charge.
Again, We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
19
35
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The only good thing I have to say about this place is its location (close to the bus station, downtown, and local transportation stops). From the outside , its kind of charming. But inside,its really old, and the rooms really suck. We only paid about 35 US a night, so I guess I got what I paid for . If I had to do it again, I would spend a little more and stay somewhere else downtown. NOTE- Please dont confuse this or associate with the Hotel Alux in Playa Del Carmen, which was an absolute joy to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockinahawdplayse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

italvegan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Right in the centre of Cancun. No massive infestations of gringo tourists. Just a few who stray off that crazy path of the resorts.
It is very loud as it is right downtown. BUT it is a block away from the main bus terminal! Great location in terms of travelling to other destinations. THis stay was only for one night before travelling onwards.
The price is okay (about $34-40 USD/night) but no breakfast means having to roam around.
We found a great restaurant just a block away which offered great veggie options (always have to ask the servers to make options veggie friendly and the food is always awesome). And LOTS of natural juices by the blenderfull. YUM!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This is a very average hotel, but it has a good location and a good price. There is a free internet computer at the lobby, and each floor has a complimentary drinking water dispenser. Most of the rooms are above a busy street (with traffic 24/7), so bring ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise. The staff does not speak english (they can quote the price but that's about it).

There is no breakfast, but all kinds of small shops where you can pick up something to eat are close by.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Clean, safe, and just a block from the bus depot in the centre of downtown Cancun--the location couldn't have been more convient. Stores, services, and buses are all within a couple of blocks. The bed was comfortable; the sheets were clean; the air conditioner worked; everything was spotless. Hot water: Who could ask for more?

No one speaks English, but everyone was friendly. My 60 words of Spanish got me through.

I paid MX$ 330 a night. A sign says that prices have been lowered; I assume because of the downturn in business. It also indicates US$30 a night as the rate, so you save a good 10% by paying in pesos. There's an exchange counter between the hotel and the bus depot. It's open in the evenings with good rates.

Other reviewers mentioned breakfast; no sign of it during my stay. I went to the big grocery store across the way for fresh croissants, yogurt, and orange juice. Pick up one of the sandwiches from the front counter. They're fresh and sealed, perfect for taking along for the day.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

After staying at the Alux in Playa del Carmen I booked this place for 1 night to be near the bus station. It certainly was a come down definitely grungy & the place - lobby & room - definitely didn't smell too nice. It was only for a night as we were catching the ADO bus to the airport in the morning. Tepid showers. If I was staying any longer I would have changed hotels. Staff were pleasant & spoke English. No wifi.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Right next to the ADO station, which is its main plus value. Oh and the fact that there is AC. Apart of that, the place is very normal, a bit expensive (350 pesos for one double bed), and has no spirit. But that's the story of Cancun. There is Internet access but you cannot sit and the area stinks. In fact the whole lobby stinks (you read me right, it is smelly). There are no good restaurants around. There is bottled water available for free. The staff does not speak english. The rooms are clean. I did not shop a lot for a place to stay as Cancun was a transition city during my trip but if I were to stay in Cancun longer, I would definately look elsewehere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#126 of 175 in Cancun
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tankah
Hotel Tankah
#134 of 175 in Cancun
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#71 of 175 in Cancun
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#131 of 175 in Cancun
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alux Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alux Cancun

Property: Hotel Alux Cancun
Address: Av Uxmal #21, Cancun SM23 MZA 3, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alux Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alux Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing