We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional hotel in convenient location”
Review of Hotel Alux Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alux Cancun
Ranked #141 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Brussels
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Functional hotel in convenient location”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I needed a hotel for one night before my departure from Cancun airport. I got a good rate via GalaHotels.com, paying around €23 for a room with a double bed (hard mattress), air conditioning (cooled well but rather noisy), and cable TV (few English stations). The spacious bathroom had towels, bathmat, soap, shampoo, and the water in the shower was nice and hot. There was no breakfast included.

There was quite a bit of audible traffic noise in the street outside, but it didn't prevent me from falling asleep.There is no elevator and my room was on the third floor, which was a bit tough to carry up all my heavy baggage.

There was free cold purified water available on every floor. The two receptionists I met were both friendly. Check-out time was 1:00 pm and there was a little room where I could leave my baggage after checking out. The hotel was conveniently located just a couple minutes walk from the ADO bus station, which has frequent buses to the airport as well as everywhere else you would want to go. There are little supermarkets right across the street from Alux Hotel.

I would recommend this low-budget hotel for a short stay in Cancun when practicality is the most important priority.

Room Tip: I had a room on the street side, which was rather noisy. You might want to request one on the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
19
35
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is only good for a night and a really brief stay in Cancun, because it is right next to the bus station. Don't plan for a hot shower - water was hot only one day in four - who knows the next day of hot water may have been another 10 days away ?
The magnetic card for the door kept on decoding day after day - first guess is they failed to change the batteries of the door, or postponed the activity altogether.
Is also one of the few places where credit cards are not accepted and for some reason this has to be yelled at the guests. But, as I said - if you arrive late at night and leave early next morning, might be a reasonable solution.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corporativo H, Gerente at Hotel Alux Cancun, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We checked every single shower in the hotel (32 of them) after reading your review. We got hot water from each one. The magnetic cards code change everyday as a protection in case the key is lost. All the guests have to do is to request that the key be activated again.
It is not the guests fault that at the moment we do not accept credit cards. We do inform the guests about this when they arrive and in the case of the reservations, we inform them in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for a stopover before getting a bus from the ADO bus station in Cancun which is a 5 minute walk.

We wanted to have a room with a double bed, but were told one wasn't available so we ended up with a room with two double beds which was 35 USD so the price was fine.

Our room was a good size and the shower room was a clean with hot water. There was an air conditioning unit, TV and free wifi.

There is a road outside the hotel is really busy and because of this we did struggle to sleep a bit. We were told that breakfast was served at 7.30, but when we asked about it in the morning they said it wouldn't be until 8am so we just checked out as we needed to get a bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night. Our room has a good size, clean and has air conditioned, pillows are comfortable but the bed is slightly hard, small television but has an English channel. Our bathroom has a hot shower. The receptionist is helpful.This hotel don’t have an elevator we were assigned in the 4th floor it’s okay for us because we’re still young. Lots of nearby restaurant, grocery store and ADO bus station.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylmer, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

If you cant say anything nice, dont say anything. So I have thought of what I can say that is positive. Not much. The best thing is it's one block to the ADO bus station. The first room the girl tried to give us (202) had no window! What's with that? What hotel has rooms with no windows? I said no, I want a window, so she took us next door to 201, which does have a window. I was annoyed that she would even try to palm off this windowless room on us.

201 faces a side street and you can see the peacocks in someone's back yard! The room has one double bed even tho our reservation said two doubles. I decided to not push the issue, she spoke no English, it was not worth the hassle. So we made do with one small bed.

There's a tiny tv and two mirrors in the room, not even one small picture on the walls. No cups, no nothing. Bathroom was a decent size, the shower actually worked better than I dared to hope. Had to ask for more toilet paper, there was not a spare roll. Had to get a second towel, there was just one.

The breakfast was fruit, tea bags and no hot water, coffee, bread, cereal, milk and juice. Better than expected.

If you are broke, then this place will do, but we will never go there again. It's not near anything but the bus station. Not a nice place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkynassau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXHotel, Gerente at Hotel Alux Cancun, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for the time you invested in your review. Sorry to know that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are a budget hotel and we offer basic amenities. We focus on providing a clean and confortable room. We are always willing to fullfil our guests requests. We do offer, as you noticed, the convenience of a good location, near to the bus station. We do have rooms with no windows. Some of our frecuent guests appreciate them because they can sleep better away from the street noise. Would you had expressed your dislike with the room at the beggining we would have tried to accomotade you in a more suitable hotel with more amenities at a higher rate level.
We really appreciate your objectivity in your review. If you think there was a mistake and you were charged for something you were not offered, please contact us and we will be glad to clarify. Thank you for your words on the breakfast and shower. Your opinion, along with the good reviews from our other customers, keeps us focused on the quality of service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We found this little gem here on Tripadvisor when searching for a place near the ADO Centro bus station. The price was very low, so we were expecting a dump. Instead, it was clean, had friendly staff and the room was quite large. As we entered (room 207), the bathroom was on the left. Clean, large shower. (Good hot water, too.)
Entrance room led to the bedroom itself. Two beds with good mattresses. Small desk, tiny TV (which we never used). Window AC very effective. Some street noise, but not so much we couldn't sleep.
Breakfast was fine--cereal, yogurt, rolls + juice and coffee.
Anyway, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terdal_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

This place is right near the bus station and you can email and reserve a room with no deposit. Was about $30 US for a room with aircon, and private bath. Was a bit loud and not too fancy but was fine for a quick sleepover in cancun. Also heard the Tierra Caribe is a good cheap hotel but further from bus station.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#122 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tankah
Hotel Tankah
#136 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maria De Lourdes
Maria De Lourdes
#125 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#127 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alux Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alux Cancun

Property: Hotel Alux Cancun
Address: Av Uxmal #21, Cancun SM23 MZA 3, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alux Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alux Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing