We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but boring hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Ranked #101 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but boring hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

So i stayed at the holiday inn arenas from march 3rd to 6th. Short trip indeed but cancun is sooo worth it! Its a nice hotel, clean and cozy rooms, nice balcony. We were located on the second floor and had a view on the pool and the ocean which was amazing. The staff is frendly and courteous! They know how to make you feel welcome.
Food is good, not excellent but good. Drinks are good too! They made the best pina colada i have ever drank!
The beach however is something else. We went to the hotel beach the first day but the rest of the time we went to other beaches on the island, such as playa delfines! Turquoise water white sand, wonderful. The hotel beach is very small, full of seewead and you can only swim so far because it is limited. Im a tall woman and the water would go higher than my belly. So yeah go to other beaches!
We are 2 mid 20s looking for a good time and honestly this is not the place to go if you wanna have fun! A lot of old people and family with kids. There is no snack bar after 10 so if you arr hungry well...too bad for you lol! And there's no bar after 10 pm neither! So basically the hotel is DEAD after 9 pm!
If you want good authentic mexican food, I recommend La Parilla restaurant in downtown cancun! I also recommend la playa delfines! For clubs and bars, try Mandala club, Coco Bongo and Senior Frogs with open bar! Fun guaranteed!
Enjoy cancun!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Melodious_Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Melodious_Butterfly,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We were pleased to see you had an overall good experience as our guest. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    268
    217
    112
    131
See reviews for
326
282
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The people at the reception were friendly but the workers in the restaurant we really rude and only interested in getting as much tips as possible. First night we paid for a buffer dinner 23 USD for a mediocre pasta, lasagna and cold chicken and cheese pizza. I forgot about the salad, which consisted mainly of lettuce and more lettuce. Next morning we decided to take an a la carte breakfast. We ordered an American breakfast consisting of a juice, coffee, eggs and ham. The orange juice was more of like a fluorescent yellowish orange flavored (artificial flavor of course) water. The glass had lipstick stains on it and when I told the waiter about it he just nodded and smiled. He did not even offer to replace my glass! We got the bill and realized we were charged extra for the juice which was supposedly included in our meal. We left a little tip and that drove the waiter mad and he was rudely protesting about it to the receptionist (really? was I supposed to tip for having a dirty glass or for being charged extra for what was included in my meal). And did I mention I got sick after eating that breakfast? Now we went back to our room in order to pack and leave to the airport. The key of our room would not open (we had the same problem the day before). After going to the reception twice to reactivate the key we gave up and finally they sent a security guy to open our door. This whole commotion took about 45 minutes while we are stuck outside of our room and stressing out about packing and leaving for the airport. I had stayed in Few Holiday Inn hotels before and my experience ranged between good to very good. This one was a definite NEVER AGAIN. If you really want to enjoy Cancun and have a pleasant stay I strongly recommend to stay away of that place.
We finally came home and thought this ordeal was over. We checked our credit card statement only to realize that we double charged after our online reservation and later by the hotel upon our check-in. Now we are desperately try to reach out for a customer service representative to try to get our money back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank crisss80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear crisss80,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. It is unfortunate that this visit was a disappointment on several aspects. We have sent you a private message to discuss.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is just fine, but I wouldn't recommend it, as there are better options nearby for the same price or less. We stayed for the weekend and that was okay, but I wouldn't stay here if I were staying longer.

Location: It is at the end of the hotel zone, but it is easy to catch a bus to the restaurants elsewhere on the strip.
Beach/pool: Okay, but not great. The beach was clean and pretty, but not huge. The service on the beach was good.
Food: We only ate breakfast here, but it was very good!
Rooms: The room was nice and clean, but the floors were tile which made everything very loud! We could hear all of the conversations going on in the hallway. I felt like I could even hear when someone put their key in the door on the opposite side of the hotel.
Check in/out: The people were friendly, but very slow and inattentive. That experience could have been much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginnyh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear ginnyh4,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the noise from other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We did appreciate the perfect score for Cleanliness and your comments about the friendly staff. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel has average service. For some reason everybody assumes you speak spanish. The rooms are fairly clean, with a bit of a mold smell. They have an HD TV that is not iPad compatible. The advertised wifi signal is fairly weak, we could only use Netflix half the nights of our week's stay. Sometimes it took 30 mins to connect and you wanted to give up trying.
The food is decent, always some selection, but not much variety day to day. The fruits selection is limited and juices are not fresh. Unfortunately, I got food poisoning and had to be on the BRAT diet for the rest of the trip.
The drinks are not well made at all, I don't think I've enjoyed a single mixed drink there. They use cheap alcohol and premixed mixed drinks. They also usually lack ingredients.
The beach is good and clean. There is always someone keeping it clean of seaweed. It starts of shallow and then gets progressively deeper (maybe 2m at most). That was nice!
There were 2 dinner shows over the course of the week. The dancing was superb! Costumes and showmanship was really good! Overall enjoyable to have with dinner.
There was not much other entertainment, there is a volleyball court on the beach which takes up a lot of space. There is some "animacion" with very loud music and lots of talking in spanish. This was unpleasant as you couldn't get away from it to read a book or talk to your neighbour. I found this highly irritating.
The terrace for taking lunch or breakfast is very pleasant. You get to look out and see the beach and the palm trees with a nice sea breeze.
There are a few city buses that you can take for <$1 to downtown cancun. This was convenient, as we could go to the Isla Mall dolphin show and to the ferry docks to Isla Mujeres and to the Maya Archaelogical museum.
When we checked out of our room at noon, they also took our "all inclusive" wristbands off. This meant we couldn't eat or drink until our airport ride at 6 pm! This hotel thought it was normal and we had to reason with them about this. We ended up speaking to Manuel (who was introduced to us as the manager), after arguing he thought he was doing us a great kindness by extending our all inclusive privileges until 2 pm. We couldn't even get a bottle of water This was the first time ever over 10 trips over the last 5 years that we received this sort of service. My understanding is that you pay for a vacation package, not just the hotel room (undoubtedly checkout of the room is at noon, but the other privileges remain until you go to the airport). Furthermore, there are no restaurants close by and no resources were provided for order-in food. Additionally, when we got into the taxi to finally leave, the doorman wanted a checkout slip we never got! And this was our problem!?
From what I understand, Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun will now reply with an apology. It's interesting that most people want good service for WHEN they are there, not after they left.
Overall, the service was decent and the beach was nice and clean. The hotel could improve their entertainment section and maybe tone down the mike on the beach. But it's unfortunate that our last day was quite unpleasant and leaves a bitter taste.

Room Tip: choose one elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viktor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Vittorio1_11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I was lucky enough to change my mind right before completing check-in, but for my relatives was a little too late.
The Hotel staff was EXTREMELY RUDE, they treat guests like prisoners checking guest by guest on wristband by the minute, supposedly based solely on the premise that they got to control access to hotel facilities because it's an All Inclusive hotel.
The staff was SO rude that they wouldn't allow guests' visitors not Even in the Lobby area on a short visit.
Not to mention on the other end that I had the unpleasant opportunity to access one of the rooms, which smelled horrible and featured a nasty outdated and tiny bathroom.

Room Tip: "I'd recommend this Hotel ONLY to your worst enemy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Marco R,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Thank heaven we only spent one night. Air conditioning did not work in our room! Went to front desk twice and called front desk. Was reaaured it would be taken care of. NEVER HAPPENED!
Poor food in their so called Italian restaurant. Breakfast buffet was a little better.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel nor would I recommend their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nativson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Nativson,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided from your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to provide critical feedback which we use to help us improve our services for you and all our future guests. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused by the air conditioning unit and food selections received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Everything was good in check in, the breakfast good, but the lunch and dinners bad,in the Italian restaurant do not serve Italian food, was open daily for all meals (bad)
Stay was the worst of a holiday inn , tatiana receptionist don’t understood me , another man came for help her, and was the same. the blind leading the blind. The communication was very hard,very few speak English.
Waiters are not attending the bar, air conditioning not worked, the room was not cleaned daily. I told all to the receptionist but did nothing, no one else for to talk about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear robert s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#94 of 175 in Cancun
805 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
3.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 175 in Cancun
2,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 175 in Cancun
1,369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 175 in Cancun
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Property: Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Manzana Km 2.5, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing