We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Ranked #102 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This was a very clean, very nice room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We had king size bed which was very comfy! The floors were very slippery though when they got wet (with the humidity they were always wet so we had to keep air conditioning on 24/7). The showers were clean and had hot water (not good water pressure though). We didn't use any of the amenities as this was just a place for us to sleep. The hotel is on the beach but it's not water you can swim in. Also parking is not sufficient for the number of guests they have and we had to get very creative when arriving back late at night (can't even imagine this during the high season). the hotel is just outside the hotel zone (which is a blessing if you rent a car so you won't have to drive through the hotel zone every night which is hell!) I would stay here again during the low season but if you're looking for beach access/ all inclusive hotel that you can spend the day at the pool this is not for you!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tboutili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

Hotel is only 2 yrs old. It is clean and comfortable. Most of staff is friendly and helpful....HOWEVER: Restaurant is closed - Buffet Only for all meals. They gave excuses,but finally admitted, not enough tourists to keep it opened.

First day there was no hot water. Had to have maintenance come up and turn it on.

Second day the Air COnditioning went out at night. After suffering through a hot and humid night I reported to fron desk clerk at 9:30am. At 1:00pm it was still not fixed. No one tried. At 4:30 pm, still no A/C. I visited the desk again and clerk tried to pu me off. No maintenance ever visited room. Finally argued to get the manager. He finally admitted the A/C was out all day in that part of hotel and would not be fixed. Did not even try to notify guests. After pushing, he agreed to move us for the last night. We got to the roon, A/C was on, but no place to store clothing. Not dresser/chest in room. Oh well, at least we had A/C. Until coming back to room at 11pm, the A/C was out again. Maintenance came in ad worked on thermostat to finalyy get some air.

It's not worth staying anywhere you have to fight to get the staff to correct things.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVworldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We loved the excellent service and food variety. Also this hotel is right on beach and very close to downtown attractions. Staff is very professional.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank WandererYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

would have been great until the end ......Decent stay until our last hour at hotel. Loved everything about the hotel for the price until our belongings;passport, ipod touch, camcorder, bluetooth, camera, and gold necklace were stolen from my bag the last hour there while in hotel bell closet. Manager says hotel not responsiblle(thanks for being a great manager). Had so much trouble trying to get back into U.S.A. without passport and had to obtain special permission.
PS. PLUS THE ANT PROBLEM ON 1ST FLOOR ROOMS

THANKS FOR A GREAT CANCUN NIGHTMARE VACATION

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
Thank mobile_mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

At the beginning I was a little scared about this hotel because of some reviews but honestly if you travel to Cancun in a tight budget this hotel its great. The check in was extremely fast, the lobby and main entrance is very clean, the staff also is very polite and helpful. The room also was very clean, the AC, shower, TV, safe worked fine... the only thing not so fine is that the hall (from the elevator to the room) its similar to a maze/labyrinth. The pool its great but a little cold (not an issue), the bar its near the pool and also the staff there is very polite.

CONS: The beach its bad, its very dirty and there isnt a lot of space available. The price of the beverages its overpriced, I recommend ALL INCLUSIVE.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

1. room - good size, nice view, easy to use free wireless and safe, but no closet doors and bottom rod of the sliding door needs to be fixed
2. food - we all like it so far
3. service - overall poor.
* has not delivered on promises to either fix the sliding and closet doors or change room.
* room cleaning done in the evening and did not replace removed towels
* front desk staff not very responsive (call instead of going down. More friendly over the phone (recorded?)
* bartending - not experienced yet but is small
4. location - not in the hotel zone. need to take cabs to the hotel zone and may be expensive to do so every day but hotel does offer free drop offs and pick ups to one night club at 10:30pm every night.
5. entertainments - no hot girl performance sbut good for family with little kids
6. Pool - good for family with little kids but may not be good if you are a big teenager (16-100 yr old)
7. Beach - not the nicest blue water but calm and shallow for kids to play in
8. Fellow guests - majority is mexicans and other latin americans. Nice people so far. Do not expect to meet lots of americans or canadians but not what we expect to do here.
9. Noise - loud. Rawdy and showy guests
* first night - two guys singing opera at 3 pm
* second night - a group of caucasian mexicans jumped and danced in pools until midnight after performed poorly at the karaoke night
10. tours - service desk available in the lobby but not used its services yet

Sounds like 10 top reasons not to come here? but overall, value for the money, safe surroundings for the kids, decent food, clean room (fixed the sliding door myself) makes up for the poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notsaloanymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

CONS: SMALL ROOM, PARKING, SOME TOPLESS WOMEN ON BEACH, PELICANS
PROS: GREAT PRICE, GREAT STAFF, SOME TOPLESS WOMEN ON BEACH, PELICANS

The hotel and rooms were basic and very clean. The staff is very friendly. We have a timeshare in cancun that still costs us $350 a night for all inclusive food and beverages. We stayed here and saved $280 a night which we used much of for great meals in great restaurants and felt better about our savings when we left.

The room overlooked the ocean and the view was great. We could see Isla Mujeres lights at night.. The beach has no waves and that is great for families. If you prefer five star hotels at five star prices you may want to go elsewhere. If you want to have a great time on a budget you would be smart to stay here.

Most of the families were Spanish which we loved because of the international feel of the hotel, which is Mediterranean in style and feel.

Parking was a problem so we often walked outside to take a bus to the entertainment zone or the downtown restaurants, away from the hotel zone. We never waited more than two minutes for a bus which stops right at the hotel or across the street depending on where you are going.

We did not get all inclusive because we wanted to experience the local restaurants and we were delighted with that move. We actually stayed a few nights at one of those five star hotels in Playa and we preferred Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas.

So, don't be discouraged by all the negative opinions voiced here. Go with low expectations if you must and you will be more than happy with your decision to stay at the Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#97 of 176 in Cancun
809 reviews
3.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 176 in Cancun
2,944 reviews
5.9 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
1.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 176 in Cancun
1,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 176 in Cancun
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Manzana Km 2.5, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £92 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION ALSO AVAILABLE**** KIDS FREE UNDER 12 Beautiful BEACH FRONT Hotel, Mediterranean style, perfect for couples and families. Located in front of the calm Cancun beaches. Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas with the best location in the Hotel Zone with a warm environment, surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a walk way that brings you a gorgeous view, that goes from Cancun downtown to the heart of the Hotel Zone, where night clubs, shopping mall and restaurants are located. The Hotel offers All Inclusive Plan and European Plan, beautiful and comfortable rooms with ocean or lagoon view, quality service and four star facilities. Your all inclusive package includes: - Comfortable rooms with Internet access, hairdryer, safe deposit box, iron & ironing board, TV cable, voice mail system, alarm clock and coffee maker. - All meals at the International buffet Restaurant. - Snacks next to the pool - Italian Specialties a La Carte for dining option & The Ocean Grill Tequila a'La Carte' (Reservation required) - Domestic Drinks at the Lobby bar, Pool Bar and the Theater Bar. - Room service (limited menu and hours) - daily activity program and night entertainment. - kids Club - Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas Hotel Cancun
Cancun Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Arenas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing