We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay for a decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #118 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent stay for a decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have now stayed here twice for one night both times. We have been pleased both times. It lacks bells and whistles so if that is what is what your loking don't stay. But if you are loking for a decent place to and on a budget, this place fits that bill! Clean room, friendly staff, ok breakfast, and an ok pool. Couldn't be happier for the $50ish we spend to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    166
    113
    64
    65
See reviews for
104
151
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
276 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I agree that one of the best things here is the jungle garden. The pool is nice too and their restaurant serves decent food for very good prices! Chicken burrito at 55 pesos and a glass of wine at 35 (not the best wine of course :).

I got a nice spacious room (K2) with a big French window into the garden. However, the room was badly kept … humidity on the walls, the mirror frame was rusty, patio was full of leafs, there was no drinking water bottle and the shampoo was half full (probably left there after the previous guest!). K1 and K2 were alike, however K3 was smaller and much darker with only a small window, so check your room beforehand.

At reception they allowed me a later check out and stored my luggage, but otherwise they did not exaggerated with friendliness or smiles.

Internet is included in he price, but works only at the reception and in the restaurant.

I agree you could here almost everything your neighbors were doing in the next rooms.

Generally, I think the place is nice, but lacks more care.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big window! There are some rooms that are smaller and very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you look for a cheap and safe place to stay, close to the Hotel Zone in Cancun, this is an ok choice. But I couldn't do more than one night.

My room smelled terribly (once I put the a/c on, it got slightly better), it looked depressing and was very noisy. You could hear the a/c run in the next door room, let alone the people running up and down the stairs and slamming doors. The noise seemed to be inside my room....

The personnel was very unfriendly, and seemed to be bothered if I asked for any information (guys, if you don't like your job, go do something else, or you will soon me out of business...)

Breakfast was pitiful! I had to ask for bread, milk and their whatever onion/sausage cooked dish (which was all that the menu consisted of, anyways)...because the pots were empty and they didn't even notice it!

Not a pleasant experience... I still have to decide if the hotel was worth the money...(I booked online for $43 usd). I have definitely been in cheaper places that looked soooo much better. But I guess ... for Cancun pricing ... I could say that the hotel was cheap... in all senses!
Sorry...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
502 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spacious rooms with a nice terrace, a decent swimming pool and if you're looking for a midpriced hotel between the hotelzone and the center of "old Cancun", Sotavento is kind of allright. The Yacht club is no such thing however, it's more like a small harbour where people are working on their boats and often creating a lot of noise and fumes (no fun when you're relaxing at the swimming pool). The breakfast is a bit meagre and you have to be in time to get what's there or order extras. Staff is OK, with the exception of the dutch touragent who does not really know or care a lot. Better (and cheaper) to book your excursions somewhere outside. Also try to avoid the overpriced taxi across the street, they will ask you 3-4 times the going rate to visit anyplace

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank werdlerswereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and liked it a lot. The pool is ok and clean. The breakfast was included and ok. There is a short walk to a beach. The selection of restaurants in the area is limited. Very good balance between cost and rooms. Friendly staff

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Overall, the hotel was exceptional and had excellent service. The food in their outdoor restaurant was delicious (yet basic). Pool (with the volleyball net) was clean and very relaxing with the forested path back to the main office. Upon check-in, there was a very irritating and pushy woman trying to sell things. In Mexico (particularly Cancun) you're constantly bombarded by aggressive vendors... the sales lady at the hotel was rude and entirely unnecessary. The room was below par-- small fruit flies EVERYWHERE and an unpleasant moldy smell that wouldn't go away. AC was not great and room got very warm at night. Nevertheless, on a budget, this hotel was fine. .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We met nice people from around the world, the pool was clean, and breakfasts were nice. The bed was really hard, but the staff were all very friendly. We will stay there again, if we ever have to overnight in Cancun, on our way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBELL710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#124 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Royal Lagoon
Grand Royal Lagoon
#114 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#84 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#59 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.0 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#110 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bonampak
Hotel Bonampak
#72 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Blv. Kukulcan km 4 Zona Hotelera | Calle del Pescador Lote D-83, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Hotel And Yacht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing