We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young families, long winded review from a not too picky Canadian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seadust Cancun Family Resort
Ranked #73 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Great from Feb.16-23rd this year and this was our 3rd time to Cancun (1st time bringing our daughters ages 4 1/2 years old and 20 months) overall we had a really great vacation, for the price it was definitely worth it. If you don't like kids or expect 5 star, this hotel is not for you. If you've stayed at a 5 star (like we did the last two times we were in Cancun) you will notice right away this is def not 5 star quality, that being said...keep an open mind and don't let the little things get in your way of enjoying a beautiful place with your family. This hotel is the perfect place for a family on a budget looking to enjoy a vacation south.

Check in: The hotel has an open lobby which we really liked, lots of space and areas to sit. We arrived just after midnight due to a flight delay so there was no line up to check in. Took about 15 mins and we were done. Because it was so late staff was reduced so we ended up taking our luggage up ourselves (which wasn't a big deal for us, we are pretty low maintenance) The only snag I would say we did encounter is that we had requested a playpen however there wasn't one in our room so we had to call the front desk and request one which took almost 45 mins to get which was irritating just due to the fact it was like 1:30am by that time.

Room: we were in a family room 524 so 5th floor (which is on the dreaded Iberostar side lol) the room was very big and clean. We had a king bed as well as the bunkbed for our 4 year old which was great, she loved it because she felt like she had her own room and my husband and I loved it because it gave us some privacy in the evenings after the girls were sleeping. The balcony was wonderful, large and partial ocean view, the bathroom was large and had a large closet as well. We actually put the playpen In the main part of bathroom at night so our little one could sleep without the noise of the rest of us in the main room (the toilet is in it's own little room in the bathroom so you still have privacy to do your business) Some of the things that weren't so "great"....the Iberostar AC unit next door was definitely an eye sore. The air conditioning units are loud but that didn't bother us, it was just ugly to look at and there is an area behind that hotel that is unkept and there is some garbage so we just made the best of it and focused on the ocean, and looking in the other direction we also had a partial view of the lagoon which was nice too. There were minor scratches and marks here and there on the walls, and the room didn't have a mini fridge which was kind of a pain. The only thing that made up for it was free room service 24/7 so we always had bottles of water delivered and sitting in our ice buckets.

Hotel: the hotel itself is aging and this is apparent in some spots, cracked tile here and there, roof does leak in the main hallway when it rains (staff lay towels on the floor to try and keep up with it) we only had about 20 mins of rain one day and didn't really have an issue with this. It was cleaned up very quickly. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially in the buffet dining area.

Pools: they have 3 infinity pools that overlook the beach, and then the swim up bar pool, you had to arrive usually by 9am to get a decent chair. We spent most of our time at the swim up bar with our kids, this pool was a little more shallow than the others so our oldest daughter enjoyed being in it more, definitely not your typical swim up bar where it's just adults sitting and drinking lol. Kids are everywhere except the adults only area (unfortunately we didn't get a chance to check that area out). There were various activities going on through the day in the main pools, we didn't really participate but enjoyed watching.

Kids Club: the pictures of the pirate ship and castles with the water slides is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. Both our kids are water babies and completely LOVED this area. Our 4 year old was big enough to use all the slides herself, our 20 month old was too little for all but one of the slides, so if you are the type of parent that just wants to watch from the side I would say to do that your child would at least have to be 3 to really enjoy the slides. Parents aren't allowed on them, but you can stand and catch your child at the bottom. Our 4 year old attended kids club a couple days while our youngest napped in the room, gave my husband and I some down time and she really enjoyed it, they give them the option of staying inside our going out to the wAter slides (the area is connected) and she was always chose to be outside in the water park. Honestly the inside is kind of dingy, and musty smelling so I was glad to have her outside, that part of the hotel definitely could use some work. We were very nervous leaving her the first day but the workers are all very nice and do a great job keeping an eye on them. We didn't try out the baby club only because it was out of our comfort zone, our youngest is quite shy so she wouldn't have enjoyed it.

Side note: the big castle is actually only for people of a certain age or height, can't remember which so most little ones are too small, it is also separate from the kids area. I went down one of the slides and the climb up the stairs was a little concerning, the stairs are all rusty and gross. The kids area was much cleaner/safer.

Food: we had no issues with food. We mostly ate at the buffet as with the kids we usually had early nights. There was a good variety and no matter what time of day there is always fresh fruit. One thing I will say for parents with small kids, their apple juice is not like ours, it looks almost brown and it took our kids a few days before they got used to it. 24/7 room service we used every day, there isn't a huge selection but everything on the menu was pretty good.

Beach: the beach was beautiful, we had a great time building sand castles and looking for sea shells. It was red flagged all week so we couldn't take our girls in the water other than holding their hands and standing at the shore line letting the waves splash, but that was good enough for them

Most of our time at the hotel was spent at the pools/kids club, we took the bus down the strip to La Isla mall and shopped, went to the aquarium and my husband and oldest daughter swam with the dolphins. Another day we took a taxi to the Crococun Zoo (apparently you can take a bus and save a ton of money but we just wanted the quickest/easiest way to get there). We loved the zoo, it is a guided interactive 1 hour tour where they have various types of birds, reptiles you can touch. Well worth the trip!

Overall we had an amazing family vacation, a few hiccups here and there but I would recommend this resort for a young budget conscious family. Would I take my kids back again, maybe...if the piece was right, would I go back again without my kids, no.

Room Tip: North side has the best view, iberostar side has the noisy/ugly AC but if you get in a room higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Alyssa472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa, we much appreciate you to share with us such a detailed review.

Our water park is definitely one of the most appreciated attractions of the Resort, parents and children truly enjoy of a fun time there. Our Kids Club cater kids from 4 years and on, our professional team takes care of them and keep them entertained while parents enjoy some quality time.

In addition we have 3 infinity pools for all the family, a pool with a swim up bar and an adult only pool with Jacuzzi and bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for you to enjoy another great family vacations.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 5,504 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would like to thank Mr. Vite at the Great Parnasus at Cancun , the service attitude, the smile , the confidence in the service, really make us feel comfortable, I believe Mr. Vite its difficult to find because in our vacation about 6 days we only saw this kind of approach in all the hotel...

Thank you Mr. Vite

Room Tip: Higher Rooms in the hotel are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us these beautiful comments about a member of our staff. We take pride for them as we know that their hard work makes the difference on your stay.

It will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for a family vacation. When we arrived we were told there were no rooms available, our vacation was booked in March. I paid for a oceanfront suite that I never got to sleep in they put me in a lagoon suite with a sprinkler that didn't work. The shower was old and smelly, the towels are hard it felt like I was bathing with a brillo pad.Every morning my body was sore from the hard bed. My daughters shower in her room didn't work they never came to fix it. The bell men were the most customer friendly. The manager was nonchalant about not having rooms available we waited in the hot lobby for several hours before they finally found a room for us, yet we saw them putting other people in rooms that checked in after us. The food was terrible except for Big Bens. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this resort. It doesn't matter which room you pay for you might not stay in that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank TYE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear TYE M,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay, we are very sorry to learn that your vacation in the Resort could not meet your expectations.

These unfortunate situation was not made on purpose, for us all of our guests are equally valuable and try to meet everyone’s expectations.

We will be grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you the real Great experience that you were expecting from us.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We waited an hour after our flight arrived to be taken to our hotel. When we arrive we waited 30 minutes for the front desk to tell us that they overbooked and didn't have enough room in the hotel for us (we booked our rooms 3+ months before). We were then sent to their sister hotel which was MUCH better. The next day we were sent back (and promised an upgrade) which we didn't receive. There were still Christmas decorations up 3 weeks after Christmas...until the last day of our trip. The food was okay, the staff wasn't that friendly, the rooms were clean enough, one of the ladies at the front desk was useless (rest were fine). There were more kids and pre-teens than any resort I've ever seen and there were never beach or poolside chairs. None of the drinks ever came out the same. The one good thing about the hotel is the magical spa, best spa I've ever been too. Also the French Onion soup is great

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool have a Jacuzzi on the balcony on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank monicamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear monicamah,

Thank you for staying at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa. We are so sorry to know that you couldn’t enjoy your vacation in Cancun.

Being a Family Resort, we usually receive large groups of families with kids and teens, we have exclusive areas for every member of the family to enjoy, kids club, teens club and also only adult areas totally separated from the rest.

We are glad to know that you could indulge at The Spa this is the perfect spot for relaxation, we have high qualifies therapists to provide you a sensation of wellness.

We appreciate you to bring to my attention the attitude of the staff, here at the Great Parnassus our service culture is focused on the guests’ total satisfaction, achieved through our excellent service, we will take the right measures for this to don’t be repeated in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you back to provide you our real Great experience.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just stayed at this hotel from 7/11 - 7/18/14. There is no air in the lobby or main areas of the hotel and it isn't cool in the rooms. The hotel is old and needs to be updated. The Italian food was the best. It seems like they use the same food vendor for every restaurant so you get the same thing over and over. By the end of the week, we were sick of all of the food. The beaches are great and the pool was really nice. We had problems with the maid service not cleaning our room one day but they did fix that problem. Room service was sketchy. Sometimes it would take a long time and other times they were fast. They wouldn't always bring everything we asked for either. This is truly a budget hotel. So if that is what you are looking for then it is worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Angela H,

Thank you for staying at the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa to spend your vacation in Cancun.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed of our Italian specialty restaurant Porto Fino. We have 10 restaurants to offer each with different type of food freshly made for you to enjoy.

All of our guests’ truly enjoy our three infinity pools from where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea.

Your positive criticism is very welcome, rest assured that we will work on it in order to improve our service and quality.

Do not hesitate to come back to the Great Parnassus, we wil be grateful to have the opportunity to attend you once more.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is huge catering for families and couples, the private beach is fantastic the hotel shadows the beach from the sun about 4pm but then you can move to the adult pool which is located on second floor, very quiet great bar man with a pool and jacuzzi. The best restaurant is the French and no booking required. Worse restaurant was Big Ben poor service and terrible food. You must visit the sister hotel Golden Parnassus The Old Barn steak house was superb well worth the free bus ride too which run every hour free of charge from reception. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Great hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank W2B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear W2B2013,

Thank you for choosing the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed of a pleasant vacation in our Resort.

Our location is one of our strongholds as it is located in a pristine beach with turquoise water.

For our adult guests we have separate exclusive areas where you can enjoy a relaxing time, we have only pool with bar service, Atlantis bar and our VIP restaurant Sanctorum. In addition we offer the opportunity to visit our sister Resort, the Golden Parnassus where you can use the facilities and enjoy its restaurants, we have free transportation between Resorts.

We hope to have you back for another superb vacation in Cancun.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The staff is very friendly especially Fernando and Claudia at the Kareoke bar who went out of their way and made sure my family and I would have a good time.
This is an all inclusive hotel and offers a great variety of good food, such as: oriental, Italian, Mexican, American and sushi. make sure you take plenty single dollar bills for tips to prevent having to deal with exchange rates. This hotel is ideal for families, I would not recommend it for couples, there are other options out there.
Make sure you inquire about the hotel's boat trip and any other things the hotel offers.
There is a kids pool with a slide, a jacuzzi on the second floor, a spa and a kareoke bar (My favorite). there are also two bars in the lobby area as well as one in the main pool area. Two of the bars have pool tables and kids are welcome
The hotel is clean, however, it could use some maintenance as it shows signs of aging.
The biggest disappointment was that the hotel does not offer WIFI, you must buy a pre paid card for $15 dollars that is only good for 24 hours and is limited to one device only.
For adults, I recommend the Xoximilco tour,this is separate from the hotel; inquire at the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Frankie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Seadust Cancun Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Frankie G,

I would like to thank you for your preference by selecting the Great Parnassus Resort & Spa to spend your family vacation in Cancun. Your honest review is greatly appreciated as it shows the multiple options that our guests have to enjoy during their stay in the Great Parnassus.

Here at the Hotel we have 10 restaurants to cater all the palates, there is always something for everybody.

If you’d like to explore and venture Cancun’s area we have hospitality desks from tour agencies where you can purchase your excursions.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you back at the Resort in a near future.

Greetings,
Susanna Melikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#49 of 177 in Cancun
2,219 reviews
5.3 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#48 of 177 in Cancun
6,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.7 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#25 of 177 in Cancun
10,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seadust Cancun Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seadust Cancun Family Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 17 | Lote 52-04 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £142 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seadust Cancun Family Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Resort is located at KM 17 on the Hotel Zone. It is an ideal hotel whether you are vacationing, celebrating or working. Ranging from fun to excitement for the whole family. With areas specialized for baby care, plus a complete children’s water park with a castle, pirate ship and water slides. Teenager club and a complete day and night time activities program. All the upbeat fun imaginable for families; snack bars, coffee and sweets at our creperie. Offering also exclusive areas for adults only. When choosing suites or club rooms for adults only, guests have access to our elite lounge restaurant for breakfast, and in-room special amenities. A variety of 7 different restaurants, 11 bars, 24 hour room service, 4 pools, mini golf plus a variety of different suites to choose from including family suites that fit up to five people. Entertainment at night, with interactive games and shows performed by our entertainers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Seadust Cancun Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Cancun
Great Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Parnassus Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing