We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Nearby Hotels
US$506
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$800
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$451
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$507
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$649
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,543)
Filter reviews
6,543 results
Traveller rating
5,098
969
294
92
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,098
969
294
92
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's platespice restaurantswim up suitehour loungehector zepedaasiana restaurantromance conciergefoam partylobby barbeach cabanahammock on the balconyour honeymoonocean frontcorner suiteturn down servicepresidential suite
Filter
Updating list...
5,468 - 5,473 of 6,543 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just returned from our honeymoon at the royal cancun , now the Hyatt ziliara
We have had a great 2 weeks and met some great friends , when we got there we got some champagne. At check in they asked if we wanted to upgrade but we said no , I think thomas cook could have made it more clear you get 2 queen sized beds in your standard room , we were not too bothered about this to be honest.

Check in was fast and we went to unpack , the first 2 days were cloudy so we could not sun bath , we ended up playing tequila Jenga with EDDIE from the animation team and met some fantastic new friends from America.

We went over to bubba grumps on the second night , this was a great night and the food here is spot on , again another great night , thanks to Chris , Lisa , Dennis and Michele.

The first 2 days were the old menu (the royal cancun) and we loved breakfast at pelicanos.
Unfortunately they changed to new menus while we were there and did not really like pelicanos menu much after this.

Spice breakfast was ok , the bacon was a bit too hard but we mainly had omelette or egg muffins.
Service in here was great , ask for a momosa drink for breakfast (champagne and orange)
We drank plenty of these.

Asiana was on of the best , ate here a lot , OMAR was fantastic , WHY NOOOOOOTTTTT
He was the best sever in the restarunt and in any we went to.

Maria Maria also had a menu change , everyone we met said the old menu was better but we wouldn't know , we thought the new menu was tasty but limited in choice

We did not try tapas so can't comment on this

Chef plate is an experience for sure , if your not daring with different foods then don't go here , we had octopus and eel on the menu , again this has changed and now stays the same everyday , where it used to change each night

24 hous lounge was ok , food was limited in here though.
Good to play pool on a night if you need to cool down and grab a beer

When sunbathing I found we got up at 7 to get a decent bed opposite the pool bar , you never need to get up for a drink as the servers are great , big thank you to DIAZ , FRANKIE , MOSES AND ALFREDO. All worl so hard to make sure you have a drink in your hand all day.

I know some people say why tip when you pay so much for the hotel but when you get here and see how hard the staff work we wanted to give a tip.

We just tipped £140 in the two weeks , £10 per day , we took this out in peso and just tipped 20 peso every morning.

If you don't tip u will still get the same service , we did it because of how good the staff were, this was the best thing about the hotel.

If you fancy a night out see EDDIE , he took us to senior frogs and looked after us all night
Coco bongos is a must , we also did caption hook and dolphins , dolphins was the best thing we have ever done, don't go to the waterpark , it's poor , not worth it.

When you go out of hotel if you turn left you can find a mall there for any shopping needs , don't go to the hotel shop as its triple the price, good pharmacy here you can get amoxicillin and various other medication cheap and not on prescription like back home.

The food overall was good but sometimes was Luke warm , I hope they do look into this

Do not do the romantic dinner on beach , $200 American dollas is not worth it , you get same food as in hotel, why do you pay this much.

Room service was great , again food sometimes not hot nut always delivered on time , within 30 minutes. They do knock on the door each time though and never use they magic box as stated
Order the house champagne free to your room , it's great.

The room was very nice but our cleaner never came in the morning as requested so when we going back to the room after the sun we kept finding our cleaner there.

Swim up bar was great , good cocktails are

PURPLE RAIN ... NICE ICE DRINK , DON'T TASTE STRONG BUT ARE
DIRTY MONKEY ... VERY NICE IF YOU LIKE BANANA
TICKET TO FLY ... VERY NICE ICE DRINK WITH COCONUT

The beach was great , drinks when ever you need them.

Spa and massage was fantastic thanks to all the staff in the spa.
We had relax massage for 2 and it was great


This hotel it good but I think we came at the wrong time as its right in the middle of a change over, the menus changed and the people we spoke to who had been here more than once Said the old menu was much better.

We are thinking about returning next MAY but might look at another hotel, maybe we just came at the wrong time

Once again thank you EDDIE , MOSES , FRANKIE , DIAZ , AND ALFREDO , you made our holiday

Room Tip: Don't upgrade , not worth it , also if you go out make sue you go with EDDIE
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonykettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Tonykettle,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your appreciated comments. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to constantly improve our services.
Please be assured that the concerns you mentioned have already been addressed to the corresponding departments and by now many enhancements have been made to provide an even more upscale dining experience.

We will make sure to pass on your kind words to our associates who assisted in making your holiday special.

We are glad that you had a pleasant overall experience and we hope to see you again in May!

Kind Regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed Nov. 9th thru the 16th 2013. We have been here 5 other times and love this hotel. The Royal is the Best. We had room 801, what a beautiful view. We ate at Pelicanos at least once every day, whether it was breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The Chef's Plate was really good and a lot of fun. Never had dinner at Maria Marie's but ate twice at Asiana. Really good food. The service is wonderful. I want to thank everybody that made our vacation great, Ivan, Eloisa, Ligia, Guadalupe, "Pepe", Franke, Diaz, Paul, Eduardo, Miriam and many others. The Hyatt was changing over on the 15th of Nov. Saw small things changing: layout of the 24 hour bar, menu in Spice, every day the pool got colder. We hope the Zilara will prove to be as good as The Royal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MH_VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear MH_VH,

We appreciate the time you took to leave your positive comments.
We are happy to read you had another great stay with us and received the same excellence of service you are accustomed to and all our valued guests such as you deserve.
Please be assured we will communicate your appreciation to all the associates that were able to make a difference during your visit.

We are excited about our change to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and are sure it will be a substantial boost to all our facilities and services which will you surely be able to enjoy on your next visit.
We very much appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your continuous visits to Hyatt Zilara Cancun.

Kind Regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed the week of 16-22 November 2013. Hotel had already changed to Hyatt. Had researched and read tons of reviews before booking through CheapCaribbean.com. We used the online registration and got the exact room we requested. The hotel is spotless and in a prime location. The corner suite is awesome as we had an ocean view and also a view of the lagoon so that we could see both sunrises and sunsets. The bed felt hard and a little used. Not the most comfortable bed. Ordered roomservice for breakfast almost every day and once for sandwiches. We weren't too impressed by the food but heard that the food may have changed a bit once Hyatt took over. Didn't eat at Maria Marie or the Chef's Plate as I don't enjoy long dinners. Wasn't impressed with food at Pelicanos either time we tried it. Asiana for show and another time for lunch. It was probably the best. The Spice buffet wasn't that great and ended up eating spaghetti there twice. The lobby bar is wonderful and a great meeting place. Manuel made sure to always stash a bottle of Crown Royal or Grey Goose for us. The Crown seemed precious. Hard to get a real Crown and Coke. Most times we'd end up with something like Black Velvet. Outback Steakhouse and Bubba Gump's are right across the street. Ate at Bubba Gump's for lunch one day. Took taxi down to flea market and will NOT do that again. Got taken, but that's my fault. Next time it's back to La Isla Mall. The price on the item is the price you pay. Service was wonderful and the staff was always hard at work. The property is gorgeous. Had a massage twice and highly recommend having a moonlight massage! The beach party on Tuesday night is a blast. We had a cabana with a loveseat and ottoman. Great music for once. That's something they can improve on is the music around the pool area. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear JG,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and are thrilled to know that your overall experience met your expectations.
Please rest assured that we have already made many enhancements in our restaurants to provide a more high-quality and enhanced options to suit all of our loyal guests’ taste.

We will make sure to share your appreciation of his excellent service with Manuel. We are proud to have such dedicated associates that make a difference.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cancun
.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I chose the Royal to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and we weren’t disappointed. This was our first trip to Cancun, for 5 nights at the beginning of November. The shuttle transfer from the airport using BD Travel was very good and the check in was quick, with a warm welcome, fresh towels and champagne. A representative of the Real Club gave us the welcome package and made some dinner reservations for us, and then tried to sign us up for a breakfast presentation but we opted out since our stay was only 5 days and we felt we didn’t have time for it. We booked an oceanfront corner suit which was as beautiful as shown on their hotel website. For us this clearly separated the Royal from so many places we’ve booked in the past – you get exactly what you are promised when you book your room, actually more since our room was so fresh, with rose petals on the bed and hot tub, and on the table they placed a bottle of chilled champagne and a cake to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you! We used the online check-in which was excellent, allowing us to choose the room, floor, and side of the hotel that we liked. Having a corner unit with windows on two sides was very nice and the room was bright. The balcony was amazing, when they call it oceanfront it’s REAL oceanfront, with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean especially in the morning. You can also stretch in a hammock on the terrace, which was a great touch. The room was clean and everything functioned properly, including the in room Jacuzzi, and the bed was very comfortable. We liked the little refrigerator in the room with sodas and beer (the snacks were scarce) and there was a good choice of alcohol spirits. It was also nice to have a coffee maker in the room but we didn’t use it because it was easier to swing by the coffee bar, a nice place to have coffee and sweets. The bathroom was amazing, modern and clean, excellent amenities, with rain shower and four additional jets that you can adjust separately. The beach was great. Our reservation included a beach cabana which we didn’t use because cabanas are far away from the ocean and arranged in several rows so ours was in the last row and we couldn’t even see the ocean. Instead we used cabanas by the pool, and those were very nice. Several evenings they organized some spectacular shows in the main lobby. For an all inclusive place this hotel had great food. We enjoyed Spice for breakfast and Pellicano for lunch, and for dinner we made reservations for Asiana and Marie Marie. Asiana was just OK, but Marie Marie was very good, especially the chef’s plate dinner which we would recommend highly. Equally we were impressed with hotel service; everywhere we looked everyone was working hard and we appreciated how nice everyone was. Housekeeping was excellent. We tipped all, they definitely deserved a little extra. It would be difficult to name everyone, but special thanks to Lupita, the hostess at Pellicano and Spice, this extremely pleasant young woman really enjoys her job and she gave her all to have us enjoy our visits to these restaurants. Raija, the Chief Concierge was outstanding; at the end of our stay there was a bad storm and water started leaking into our room. We called the maintenance so a guy with a ladder showed up to check it, and soon he left leaving us clueless since he didn’t speak any English. I called the front desk and soon Raija came up personally to talk with us, and arranged to move us to Presidential suite for our last night at the hotel. Raija was both professional and pleasant, she solved the problem quickly and to our satisfaction, exactly the type of a manager you wish to have to talk to when a problem arises. We’d like to thank Raija and the entire team at the Royal for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Gazda,

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a detailed review and congratulations on your 25th anniversary. We very much appreciate you choosing to spend such a special occasion at Hyatt Zilara Cancun.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and that our associates, Guadalupe and Raija, provided you with excellent service; please rest assured we will pass on your encouraging words to them.
We are glad that your inconvenience during the thunder storm was taken care of efficiently and that this did not spoil your vacation experience.
Once more, thank you and we hope to have the privilege of hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel in sep/oct for our honeymoon.
This hotel was beautiful everywhere is spotless they are constantly cleaning the place.
The food was average except and Maria Marie that was lovely the drinks were also brilliant you could ask them for any cocktail and they will try to accommodate you. My favourite part was the coffee house me and my husband put on half a stone from eating those cakes lol
The rooms are so big and the hammock on the balcony is a good touch also the mini bar is stocked with drinks and snacks everyday.
Overall this hotel is great couple of things could make it excellent eg language Barriers and treating all tourists the same (members get quicker service) although Miriam served everyone as equals she is a valued waitress.
Wish we were there now not back In rainy cold scotland xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowgal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear glasgowgal88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honeymoon experience at Hyatt Zilara Cancun.
We truly enjoy pampering our valued guest, such as yourselves and are pleased to read that you had fabulous time at our resort.

Please be assured we will make sure to communicate to Miriam that with her dedication and great service she was able to mark a difference during your stay.
We appreciate you choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your honeymoon and hope we will be able to welcome you back for your 1st anniversary!

Kind regards,

General Manager
Monica Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews