We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
winnipeg,MB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have travelled all over Mexico and the Hyatt Zilara ranks in the top 3 for sure. Food was very good lots of choices for dining...loved Maria Marie! Service for dining was top notch. They bend over backwards to please you. Room was cleaned every day at the time we requested between 10 -12noon. They ask you when you check in. The hotel itself is clean and beautiful. The alcohol is top shelf and the bartenders are very well trained so they know how to make a very good drink and they are fast. We believe in tipping for good service and did a lot at this hotel..they deserved every dollar. The beach is one of the best in Mexico, clear blue and little wavy....very relaxing listening to the waves at night. We will definitely be going back to this resort. We stayed for ten wonderful days and we could have stayed longer.......definitely worth every penny we spent on this trip!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gee-Geesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Gee-Geesfan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

We are thrilled to know that you had an awesome vacation and that our assocaites were able to provide you with the excellent service all of our appreciated guests are accustomed to.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,305
    817
    234
    69
    68
See reviews for
642
3,722
78
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Baden, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Overall a good experience. Would go back again if the opportunity arises. The food that wasn't familiar was interesting (Chef's Plate, Spice, Pelicanos) and fun to experience. There was plenty to do outside of sitting by the pool each day and it was great that there was a fitness center to use for exercise in addition to swimming and bicycling. The views were gorgeous and it was difficult to come back home to the beginning of winter. Of course the swim-up bars didn't hurt to have available either.

Room Tip: request to be just off main traffic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickn2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear chickn2go,

Thank you very much for taking time to share with us your review! We are glad to know that you had a very good overall stay with us!

We do apologize if you encountered any shortfalls, although none were mentioned in your comments, we did notice that we did not exceed your expectations.

Indeed we have beautiful caribbean views, as well as lots of activities to make sure our guests are entertained.

Once again, thank you and we hope your travels bring you back to Cancun very soon to have the opportunity to host you once again!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been going to Cancun now for 17 years and the Hyatt zilara , (the old royal) this year far surpassed all 16 years before. I am talking from service to the food , to the kindness of their employees. Ranging from their bell captain Avelino, his assistant Diego . These two went way out of their way to accommodate us. My hat off to Omar , the food was outstanding! My wife and I had the best massage by a lady named Perla. The experience this year was the best we have had ever!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danc1652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Dan C,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience at Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you were able to enjoy at a maximum our accommodations, services, restaurants, spa treatments and much more!

We will make sure to communicate your kind words to Avelino, Diego, Omar and Perla, I know that this will highly motivate them to continue providing exceptional service to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your prompt return!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascoutah, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our first time staying at the Hyatt Zilara and it was one of the most a beautiful places that we have ever seen. From the time that we check it we where treated like royalty by all of the staff. When we had question about different thing the staff went out of there way to help us and answer all of our questions to make sure are vacation was good. The rooms that we booked where exactly what they said they would be with a very nice view of the ocean front. When we got ready to leave from the Hyatt Zilara the staff there was very helpfull about making sure that we had all of our things. I would give this place a 5 star rating and we will be back to Hyatt Zilara for another vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Mark H,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your positive experience at Hyatt Zilara Cancun.

We are very happy to know that you had an exceptional overall vacation and that our staff was able to deliver fantastic service helping make your stay unforgettable.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to pampering you again very soon!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

5 star all around. Accommodations, service, food and drinks. Perfect weather. Asiana and Maria Marie were highlights on the dining side. Book your dinner reservations in advance. We went to XPLOR on this trip and it was amazing, highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear TA Member,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

We are so happy to read that you had an exceptional stay with us and that you were able to fully enjoy our accommodations, services, food and drinks and that the weather was perfect!

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your return visit!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place. We were at the Hyatt for 14 days and can not complain about anything. All who work there are wonderful and helpful no matter what you ask for. There is good food and lots of good drinks! Towel system is good, always enough towel. We spent the day at the wonderful beach where we were served by Guadalupe Diaz, Pepe, stunning everyone. We ate breakfast at Spice, lovely staff and very good food. Dinners we had both Spice and Pelicanos, lovely food and lovely atmosphere. All staff make the stay at this hotel was 100% satisfactory. I do not understand the negative reviews I have read here ...? The hotel was nice and clean all the time. Highly recommended, we will return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Benita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Benita F,

First and foremost, thank you for taking part of your valuable time to share with us your fabulous experience at Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

Our guests comments are essential for helping us to improve our services and also to motivate us to see what we are doing right!

Thank you for recognizing a few of our associates, we will make sure to pass on your kind words to Guadalupe, Diaz and Pepe as we know this will only motivate them to continue providing the excellence in service all of our guests are accustomed to.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was our third stay at the Hyatt Zilara (formally The Royal), we became members last year. At this time I won't talk about the membership issues that we ran into - but will highlight the greatness of this Resort. You are greeted with kindness and smiles. Your luggage will be delivered to your room, you will get things set up with a concierge and if your room is ready you can go on up...if it is not they welcome you to go have drinks, eat or walk around and take a look at the place. The Corner Suites are awesome. love them. They are roomy and spacious. The view from each and every deck at the resort is wonderful -- you are able to step out and enjoy the view of the beach and the variety of blue hues that makes the Gulf look just beautiful. Like I said each and every room has a wonderful view of the beach and gulf.

the pillows are exceptional as well -- they have a variety of pillows to choose from - which i love as i have neck issues and don't care to drag my pillow from home - and i found a wonderful pillow to use. They have soft, memory foam and others to choose from.

The food - i can only say DELICIOUS!!!! I too can honestly say i didn't have a bad meal in any of the restaurants. The Service was wonderful as well!! Noe at Maria's Maria was awesome...so so very polite. Any time we requested something like "fried ice cream" and it was not on the menu ...they would say "why not" and get us fried ice cream...they are there to serve you...it's so wonderful to have the "royal" treatment on vacation! My husband and I work hard all year and when we take a week to enjoy at the Hyatt Zilara - it's absolutely wonderful to be treated so kind!!!! Love it!! They make you feel so special!
I tried some new foods(to me) such as salmon, grouper and tuna --- all was wonderful and prepared very well. The presentation of the food is very pretty as well.

The pools are very enjoyable as well. You do have to get up early to get the chairs/bed you want - but i hear that is at every resort. I also like you don't have to check out towels....love that. Thanks to our friend Brenda - she is an early bird and always got us fantastic spots, but really there is no bad spot around the pool. Everything is laid out so well....the beds, the chairs etc....

I can't wait to go back and see some of our favorite waiters and waitresses...Frankie, Edwardo, Julio, Boc, cutie ( i mean Kuri) :) Guadaloupe, Noe, Alex, and all the one's that i have missed.

Also - when i needed a taxi - the men at the front lobby called for one and within seconds there was one there - and both times i used the taxi service that the Hyatt called - the men were very friendly and they got me to the mall and back in no time. A taxi ride to the Isla Mall was 10.00 each way (just fyi).

Everything at this hotel is very very clean as well. Spice is a buffet - but a very very clean one. The bathrooms are clean also. I love how we get to use a wash cloth each and every time we wash our hands in the public bathrooms (except the beach restroom) instead of paper towels.

I used the gym almost everyday - and there are more machines than last year...which was nice to see....it was nice to see staff cleaning them and replacing the sweat towel and water bottle at each machine as people got done using them.

The Entertainment in the evenings is alright - kinda got redundant - but that is just my opinion only...some people really enjoy the dancing, costumes and acrobatic acts. We watched it most nights - but by the end of the day (945pm) we were shot and very tired from drinking, eating and sunning ourselves all day - by the time 945 rolled around - we were ready for bed. LOL!


If you are looking for a party party atmosphere at night - this is not the resort for that - the evenings are kinda low key - which i love ... BUT i did LOVE the music the night of the beach party!! That was really fun -- the music kept a person moving - so we ended up staying up later that night. :)

otherwise - overall - i on a scale from 1 to 10 ---for sure a 10!!!!;) If you haven't been there....i will say what the waiter's loveD saying to us....."WHY NOT" ????? :)
See you next year Hyatt Zilara.

Room Tip: We love the corner suites. We stayed in 341 just a week ago and i thought i would be disappointed as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRobertsZilara, General Manager at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Karla B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive and detailed review!

We are very glad to know that you had an awesome, awesome, awesome vacation at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and that you were able to fully live the entire experience we have to offer!

We are very grateful for the time you took to recognize our associates for their hard work, we know that this will surely motivate them to continue providing the excellent service all our guests are accustomed to!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Best regards,

Monica Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 175 in Cancun
3,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Property: Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#6 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelbag, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing