We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet Classy Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet Classy Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is our 2nd time at the resort and originally chose it because of it's adults only policy. The first time we though we had the best time ever, but this time tops it all. The food options and drinks are to die for and you'll never get tired of the variety. The beach/pool butlers are icing on the cake.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Anastasia B,

Thank you very much for trusting Hyatt Zilara Cancun with your valuable vacation and for sharing your once again wonderful experience.

We are pleased to read that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent visit and that you once again truly enjoyed the upscale food & beverage offerings and excellent service provided, especially by the Beachtlers.

Again, thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to pamper you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,978
    752
    208
    65
    57
See reviews for
592
3,411
74
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our 4th visit to this resort. That speaks volumes concerning our experience. The food was excellent in the establishments and the room service was prompt. The maid service was performed twice a day and that added to the feel of luxury. The pool is terrific and there is a beautiful view of the beach. I especially want to commend the resort tennis pro, Mauro for all of his assistance and instructions. He was very knowledgeable and I look forward to hitting with him on my next visit. If you want to be treated like royalty, the Hyatt Zilara is the place to vacation.

Daryl W.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms 15-17 on floors 5-7 for the best view of the beach and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Daryl W,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your vacation for the 4th time and for sharing your motivating review with us and all other TA reviewers.

We are thrilled to read that we were once again able to meet your high expectations with the upscale dining options, prompt room service, great housekeeping services, spectacular pool, gorgeous view and excellent tennis lessons.

Thank you very much for taking your time to recognize Mauro for his professional tennis lessons and we will make sure to share your kind words with him.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is amazing! From the food to the employees to the view and the pool. Amazing staff.
Special people to note would be: Avelino, Diego, Omar, and of course Perla. Avelino is Bell Captain, Diego, is Bellman, Omar is head of the restarants and last but not least is Perla, (masseuse) she gives a massage that is awesome, will keep you coming back... AAAAA+++++
resort. Would recommend to anybody. Dan C

Room Tip: Swim up suites were meant for a king.... Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danc1652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Danc1652,

First of all thank you very much for your loyalty to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your once again excellent vacation experience with us.

We are truly excited to know that we were once again able to exceed your high expectations, especially with the great service provided by our dedicated associates such as Avelino, Diego, Omar and Perla.
Be assured we will share your motivating words with every single one of them.

Thank you again for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you again during your next visit to Cancun!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel in May this year, had a fabulous time, staff were all wonderful. Moses ensured our glasses were never empty, and the cocktails were great. The food was lovely and something for everyone. The room was beautiful and cleaned twice a day. This is the best holiday I have ever had. Would I go definitely!! I cannot fault the hotel and the service it provided.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alisonaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear alisonaplin,

First of all thank you very much for having selected Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your well-deserved vacation and for sharing your amazing review with us.

We are excited to know that you had a wonderful time while enjoying the delicious dining options, luxurious rooms and excellent service provided by our valued associates.

Please be assured that we will share your comments with all of our associates, especially Moises.
I am certain they will be proud to know they were able to make a difference during your vacation.

Once again, thank you for your preference and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is our second visit to this resort.. We were here when it was the Royal Cancun and now as the Hyatt. Everything was lovely...Our room was always clean, we arrived with another couple and wanted our room on the same floor, the person at the front desk did everything in his power to accommodate us, and we ended up with a better room at no extra charge. The food, The beach, the pool were perfect. There were a few weddings taking place while we were there so during the day it did get loud in the pool area...not the fault of the hotel......once the wedding party left everything seemed to go back to relax mode. I tip my hat to Francisco working the pool bar.. He never stopped, He was manning that bar alone and did a fantastic job. Raphael was on vacation this time, we really missed him, But his son Solomon was a true gentleman. We did go to Maria-Marie;s and Asians, they were both great. We will definitely be back to the Royal (Hyatt) as we were treated very well. We have been to many All-Inclusive resorts and this one really is All-Inclusive! Thanks for your great service and hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal123Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Montreal123Montreal,

Thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your vacation for the second time and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are thrilled to know you had another amazing vacation while enjoying the upscale dining options, gorgeous pool and beach are and the excellence in service provided by our dedicated associates.
Be assured we will share your motivating words with every single one of them, especially Francisco, Raphael and Solomon. I am certain they will feel inspired to keep up the great work.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to host you again during your next visit to Cancun!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

me and my new husband spent 5 days in Royale playa del Carmen. Staff was great friendly and they treated us like a king and queen.we were brought to the romance concierge when we arrived where we were congratulated given champagne and the rundown of the whole place ect. king bed with rose petals and honeymoon cake waiting for us on our arrival. Location is amazing right in the middle of 5th ave. Staff always smiling and always ready to attend to you. ( I'm 28 and my husband is 30) For us the only complaints would be that during the day by the pool is it a bit dead and a little boring, although I did like the aqua aerobics. Ruth is a great bartender and took care of us by the pool all day for our first and 2nd days there. Room service was great we had an excursion one morning so the night before we set up breakfast room service and it came right at 7:15 as asked and everything we ordered was there. This place is top notch would definitely return.


Ok now Hyatt Ziliara I'v only been here for a out 2.5hrs now but I can already see the difference in the two hotels and am missing the royale playa del carmen(even though i'm told same owner just that Hyatt has the rights to run this hotel). We arrive and are taken to check in desk up front of the hotel (Not the romance concierge as in the royale). The lady seemed nice but spoke very fast with a thick accent. I only heard understood about 50% of what she was saying (I was tired of asking her to repeat herself so I just let her ramble on) You would think she would slow down after while but she seemed rushed even though there was no line of ppl waiting to check in. that was strike 1, strike 2 we were given some nasty cucumber juice (no champagne : ( ) strike 3 we do understand here telling us that there are no king beds available ( what this is our honeymoon we are suppose to sleep separately?) strike 4 she tells us its two double beds not even two queen beds smh,. We are taken to sit with a woman named Ale who is very nice she gives us some more info on this hotel and places to eat we also explain to her its our honeymoon and we were a bit disappointed in not having a king bed she advises she will also look into this for us. We get to our room No rose petals no champagne and no cake that's strike 5,6,7! We go back down to the lobby to do some exploring of the hotel and we pass the Romance Conceirge hmmmm that's were the Royale to us strait to when we arrived at their hotel how come the same wasn't done here? We go up to the man behind the desk and ask what is the Romance Conceirge? He explains oh its for ppl checking in with special occasions like honeymoon and anniversary oh ok hmmm so we explained this is our honeymoon why weren't we brought here? He advises my travel agent must not have made a note in the booking that it was our anniversary. So we take it as that and he says they will do the special package for us tomorrow night, that's great although we would of liked to walk into our room for the first time with this waiting for us (just makes you feel special on your honeymoon. So i'm thinking and I check my expedia reservation what do I see the note in the reservation stating guest will be celebrating their honeymoon. I call this strike 7,8,9. two woman we spoke with were told by us it was our honeymoon this should of been picked up to them as to why I was brought to them and not the romance concierge and strike 9 is the man at romance concierge blaming my travel agent meanwhile it was Hyatt who messed up and not expedia. strike 10 My husband goes back to show him the email with expedia advising this in the note and the mans response was oh I believed you, you didn't have to show me the email. Ok the proper response should of been some kind on an apology for Hyatt dropping the ball instead of blaming expedia not reassuring us that we were believed. So far i'm disappointed and its a good thing the Hyatt is no longer called the royal because they don't treat you like royalty. like I said iv only been here a few hrs but this is my review so far. I will give it 3 stars for now based only on the fact that the room is clean, location is good and all rooms are ocean view. P.S. its raining and im lonely here in rm 316 in my bed while my husband is in his double bed, only reason I decided to write this review now.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear ashley c,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for the 2nd half of your honeymoon celebration and for taking your valuable time out of your vacation to write this review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have encountered so far during your stay with the language barrier during check in, the bed type not being as requested and for your special celebration not being duly recognized.
Allow me to assure you that this is not a typical example of the service we aim to provide and be assured that we have communicated your concerns to the corresponding department heads for immediate resolution.

Once again, we appreciate you making us aware of the areas of opportunity you have experienced allowing us the opportunity to change the first impression you have received of our resort and to make sure you have the once in a lifetime vacation you and your new husband deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back from the Hyatt Zilara after the most amazing 9 nights here.

the only little thing i can pick my brain to moan about is seeing others arrive to the hotel greeted with cool towels and drinks on arrival, sadly we didnt get that and would of been a lovely touch after all the travelling from here in the UK.
The room was amazing, the beds are comfy, the food was amazing and room service was even better.. 10/10 from us. we paid extra for the lobster on the beach which was amazing, although i feel was a bit rushed.

staff really friendly, room kept lovely and clean.
amazing beach.. dont think about it just book it :))

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear snowied,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your vacation and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are truly sorry to read that you did not receive the cold towel and welcome drink upon check in and that even though you truly enjoyed the lobster & jazz dinner you felt that the service was rushed.
Please be assured that your comments have already been communicated to the corresponding departments and the appropriate corrective measures have been taken.

We are however excited to know that this did not affect your overall stay and you had an amazing time while enjoying the comfortable suite and delicious dining options.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
6.2 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Property: Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing