We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #5 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a fabulous 2 week holiday in this gorgeous hotel.
Everything about this resort was exceptional in every way...
We upgraded to a corner suite. .well worth the upgrade for the extra special features which make your holiday.
Saying that, every suite in the resort are beautiful with sea views and luxury amenities.
The mexican football association were holding a conference at our hotel for part of our second week..and all guests were treated exactly the same as they were..no special treatment was given to them at all...which says it all really.
Every member of staff were sooooo happy and made us feel really special for our entire holiday...nothing was too much trouble for them..Each of them always going the extra mile....brilliant!
I would return in a moment, and would recommend everyone to go there 100%
Thank you hotel zilara for a fantastic holiday

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear liz e,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for recommending us with this excellent review.

We are truly excited to know you had a fabulous time while enjoying the fabulous views, luxurious suites and excellent service provided by our dedicated associates.

It was a true pleasure to host you and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,230
    798
    225
    68
    65
See reviews for
628
3,649
78
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I went to this resort when it was known as The Royal (a year ago). So if things have changed along with the name, I don’t know about them.
My husband and I came to The Royal for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Right from the start we were treated great, greeted with champagne and good service. They arranged roses on the bed and had a “congratulations” cake waiting for us. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. The only bad thing about our entire trip was that our AC was broken. They would fix it, it would work, then break. It wasn’t until the last night (when someone checked in next door) that it started working full time.
But AC aside, we have a wonderful stay. The food was amazing, the staff was very friendly. I loved the swim up bar and the pool-side service was lovely. We spent most of our time at the pool but the beach-side chairs were nice too. I will say people claimed the beds really early, but we usually got pool chairs under a canopy without a problem (my husband prefers to sit in the shade). Personally, I enjoyed the coffee shop a lot. It was nice to get a blended coffee drink and a cookie before going out for the day.
We did an algae wrap spa treatment and both agreed it was one of our favorite things. I have never felt more pampered.
Even with a busted AC, I can’t say enough good things about this place. We both can’t wait to go back. I even sent my parents there and they had an equally as wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jenny C,

First of all thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your honeymoon vacation and for sharing your excellent experience with us.

We are truly sorry to read about the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioning in your suite not functioning correctly.

We are however, please to read that you did not allow for this situation to affect your overall stay and you still had a wonderful time while enjoying the delicious dining, attentive service, beautiful pool and beach, as well as the relaxing spa treatment.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and for recommending us to your friends and family. We cannot wait to pamper you again during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had an amazing trip to the HZ for our 10 year anniversary! My husband and I had a wonderful time. The staff are all great! Just to name a few...ROXANA at checkin was so polite and welcoming, asked our pillow preferences and turn down times, very nice! BAAK at the lobby bar was awesome, he remembered our favorite drinks from the first night and had them waiting each time after that before we sat down...LOUIS and OMAR at Pelicano's were outstanding! We ate at Pelicano's every night, it was delicious. We had Spice and room service for lunch. Mainly just didn't want to worry about reservations and dress codes...also, enjoyed the snacks in the 24 hour lounge. Each got relaxing messages from the Spa, I had JOSE' and my husband had CARMEN...both were great! Remember, TIPS GO A LONG WAY!! It's not required but very much appreciated by ALL staff!! Loved the nightly shows in the lobby and live music in the bar...It did end pretty early so not much to do after about 10:30, but still fun. We did have lots of rain but managed to get in some gorgeous beach time. Beach servers were nice and fast. All in all a wonderful worry-free trip! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a corner suite on the 8th floor with the reserved beach cabana...Room and Views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mary R,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for this special celebration and for sharing your amazing experience with us.

We are truly excited to know that you were able to truly enjoy the beautiful beach despite the weather conditions, as well as the delicious dining, relaxing spa and fun entertainment.

Thank you also for taking your time to recognize our valued associates such as Roxana, Baak, Louis, Omar, Jose and Carmen who will certainly be proud to know they were able to positively influence your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we sincerely hope we will have the privilege of hosting you again for your 11th anniversary!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our 8th visit to this hotel, six previous visits when it was the Royal, and our second visit as the Hyatt Zilara.
We received a very warm welcome from David and Avelino at the front foyer, and was checked into suite 430, there was however no recognition with the wristbands that we were repeat guests.Previously we have been given the black wristbands, but since Hyatt have taken over we have just been given clear ones.
Our suite was as expected, however the cleaning schedule was very late during our stay.
We would be out of our room from 7am to 4pm and the room would not have been cleaned during this time.My recommendation to the management would be to return the "clean my room" hangers to be used on the exterior door.
The 24hr lounge is nice to pop into for a coffee or snack, but the volume of the music in there is far too loud for comfort, and needs to be addressed, also the bin has been removed from this room, so waste would be left lying around as there was nowhere to put it, this needs to be replaced.
Asianas has a new menu, and there is a lot of seafood, which i do not eat.I asked if the salmon teriyaki could be done with chicken instead, and i got a resounding "No" i was amazed, apparently if i wanted chicken i had to make a reservation at the show cooking Hibatchi table, and then i could have it, so i guess the motto of"Expect The Exceptional" no longer exists.
There are quite a lot of new staff members, and you can see the difference in the customer training of these new members of staff, from the training and ongoing service given by the old Royal staff.
We were there when there was a deluge of the Mexican football federation on the hotel, and the whole ambience of the Hyatt changed from a relaxing holiday hotel, to a full on confrence centre. Management and staff focus shifted onto these visitors, with security staff blocking your way into and out of the foyer, not to mention the numerous camera crews and reporters blocking the way, at one point security tried to block my access to the toilets in the foyer because it was next to where the federation was gathering, this was not acceptable, and i used them regardless of what he said, i had paid to stay at this hotel, therefor i had paid to use the facilities also.
Another suggestion to the Hyatt would be to use the empty office in the foyer, that is being used as a storage area, and either use it as a reading room or a library, especially now that the 24hr lounge is too uncomfortably loud to sit in peace.
As always the backbone of this hotel is the staff,who it is a pleasure to know, and
who give outstanding service.
Luis and Hector- spice
Sergio and Jorge-pelicanos
Ivan and raphael-beach butlers
Frankie and Moises-pool service
Morris, Ligia, Eloisa, Miriam, Guadalupe, Wendy-lobby bar
Avelino and David-concierge front lobby
I have raised the points above, in the hope that these can be addressed by the Hyatt management, as everything else was very good.
This is still my favourite place in the world, and i have two further outstanding bookings, and i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
It would however be fair to say this visit was not my favourite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank marsbar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear marsbar02,

First of all thank you very much for your loyalty to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your detailed and honest comments with us.

We are sincerely sorry to read that this has been your least favorite stay with us and that you felt there was a decrease in service, the cleaning being done too late in the day and the music in the 24 hrs lounge being too loud.
Please know that your comments and concerns have already been addressed with the corresponding departments and the appropriate corrective measures have been taken.

We are however please to know that you still enjoyed your overall stay thanks to the great service received by many of our associates, such as Avelino, David, Luis, Hector, Sergio, Jorge, Ivan, Raphael, Frankie, Moises, Morris, Ligia, Eloisa, Miriam, Guadalupe and Wendy.
Please be assured that we will share your kind words with every one of them.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and for recommending us to your friends and family. We cannot wait to welcome you back for your 9th visit in order to make sure your receive the exceptional vacation experience you have come to expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A fantastic hotel great food, service and overall a fantastic place to stay however not without fault. We stayed here for our honeymoon and we expected it to be romantic going the extra mile eg room set up, reservations booked in our marital name etc but it never happened. We holidayed here for ten days but in reality we had 3 days due to the hotel being used by the Mexican football league officials they drained the hotel and the focus was on them and not us the paying guest who have travelled and spent a lot of money to stay (£4,000). Facility's were closed, there wasn't anywhere to sit, music during the day was minimum and the knock on effect for us was stressful it was like being at work waiting for the working day to end. Avoid the hotel during this period we are disappointed and feel like we have wasted our hard earned money and we will never honeymoon again it has be ruined.
During the day a little music at the bar and at night the entertainment show was good but that is where it ended a bit of music/ disco after the shows wouldn't harm anyone overall the night time was slow.

Thomas cook wasn't any help giving us wrong information on the football official numbers saying they'd be increasing the capacity of the hotel by ten percent more like 40-50 and it got worse as the week progressed we'd have asked to be moved if we wasn't lied to this has ruined our honeymoon.

Please please check if the hotel is hosting business meetings if not book this hotel as it is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nickllitoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nickllitoot,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your honeymoon and for sharing your honest comments about your experience.

We are sincerely sorry to read that we were unable to meet your high expectations and that your vacation was negatively influenced by a corporate event taken place during the majority of your stay and that nothing was done to make this once in a lifetime event truly special for you.
Please be assured that this is not the type of service we aim to provide and that the appropriate corrective measures have already been taken.

We are however, pleased to read that apart from the above mentioned situation you truly enjoyed the resort.

We sincerely hope that you will allow us another chance to host you in the near future in order to provide you with the perfect and truly memorable vacation experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wonderful, adults only, all inclusive resort on a beautiful wide white sand/turquoise water Cancun beach. A fantastic property to relax and enjoy a quiet get-away. The lobby is an attractive 3 story, airy, beautifully decorated area. It serves as the venue for the evening entertainment. Many comfortable chairs and sofas surround a central stage. Numerous cabanas available all along the pool and beach areas for privacy and comfort enjoying the breathtaking views. Several great restaurants with diverse cuisine to select from for buffet or a la carte meals; or choose private in-room dining; along with many bar areas offering a wide variety of beverage options. Our favorite restaurants were ASIANA, offering Japanese teppanyaki (reserve early to sit grill side and enjoy the chef’s culinary show); and TAPAS & PINTXOS, with delicious Spanish tapas.

Spacious suite lay-out with large shower area, in room Jacuzzi, and balcony caters to privacy for couples. The spa offers a diverse set of quality exercise equipment, with male/female sauna, steam bath and whirlpool areas. A wide selection of spas treatments are available. The entire staff was genuinely warm and extremely helpful. Always at your service with a smile and sincere desire to make your vacation unforgettable. Or particular note for their outstanding service and helpfulness were: Mario, chief guest services; Marcelo, chief concierge; Jessica in reception and Alma, massage therapist at the Spa.

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms have a fabulous beachfront view and a balcony. Request higher floor towards the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ron S,

First all thank you for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are excited to know that you had a truly relaxing stay while enjoying the beautiful facilities, gorgeous views, great spa, delicious dining, especially at Asiana and Tapas & Pintxos, as well as the great service provided by our dedicate associates such as Mario, Marcelo, Jessica and Alma.

Be assured that we will communicate your kind words to them and I am certain they will be honored to know that they were able to assist in making this a truly unique and memorable experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous time at Hyatt Zilara, such a beautiful hotel. Came here for a one week getaway with two friends and we enjoyed all the amenities the hotel had to offer. Food was excellent with great variety. Our rooms were kept clean and well stocked everyday! Most staff were definitely very welcoming and accommodating. Diego and Manuel were amongst the staff with superb customer service. The lady working inside spazul ( I wish I got her name!) was also so welcoming and was so kind to care for us during our many visits into the hydrotherapy room. My friends and I enjoyed the variety of activities offered such as Edoardos's stretching class and tastings! Oh the tastings were so much fun, and was an incredible experience. However, I don't know how others would have known about it as it is not posted in the activity list shown in the elevator. We were fortunate enough to have attended Eduoardo's class to be informed about the tastings he conducted each day.

CONS:
- Security, or whoever were the line of uniformed men swarming the front, were not welcoming at all! Each time my friends and I entered (with our bracelets clearly visible) we were greeted with unwelcoming scowls. We are guests, not intruders.
- Now imagine an excessive abundance of unwelcoming scowls. We came during the futbol draft so security was heightened. Understood, but to create such an intimidating environment? Not the appropriate vibe for a vacation resort!
- Ordered the beef something over room service. Steak still had tendons attached and was pretty much raw! Not rare, but absolutely raw with just the outsides barely cooked.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay thanks to the staff that were so welcoming. I would definitely return again, though hoping security personnel were more personable next time around.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nylarsdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear nylarnoc,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for this getaway with friends and for sharing your review with us.

We are truly sorry to read that you feel the security staff was not welcoming and that the beef you ordered from suite service was not prepared to your liking.
Please be assured that the issues you raised have already been communicated to the corresponding departments and the appropriate corrective measures have been taken.

We are however excited to know that you did not allow for these shortcomings to affect your overall experience and you truly enjoyed the relaxing spa, fun entertainment & activities, as well as the great service provided by most of the associates.

Please be assured that we will share your kind words with all of our dedicated associates, especially Eduardo, Diego and Manuel whom you were kind enough to mention by name.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, and we sincerely hope we will have the privilege of hosting you and your friends again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
6.4 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Property: Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#5 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing