We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at four years ago when it was the Royal and I have to say I noticed little to no differences. This hotel deserves a better rating on Trip Advisor than its current standing. If you come here and have a bad time its your own fault. I even recognized some of the great staff from a few years back. The staff takes a lot of pride in serving you. Guadalupe at the pool is always smiling and willing to help you.

Our favorite pool bartenders were Urial and Eduardo. They make the best drinks. Eduardo has a special drink called a "lucky lucky".... it was wonderful. Absolutely by far the staff work very hard for you and will do anything to please you. Ross in Asiana was more than accommodating and made sure we had a special show for entertainment. Luis in Spice is very helpful and ready to accommodate our group of 8 to sit together.

If you are able to book at Chef's Plate it is by far a very nice experience. the food is wonderful even if you are a picky eater there will be something you like on the menu.

Our rooms were always clean and the hotel overall is spotless and beautiful. The location of the hotel is great for getting out for nightlife or shopping.

The rooms have safes to put your valuables. it is recommended that you use them for all of your valuables. I happened to leave mine open one day by accident and I was pleased to find that nothing was touched.

The only thing I can say an improvement can be made is the entertainment. The lobby entertainment consists of a show and then a small band afterwards but when we stayed a few years back the shows were a little later and there was a mixture of entertainment including bands, karaoke, and DJ. The night life is a more relaxed type atmosphere so if this is what you prefer you won't be disappointed at all. it would be nice to have a night or two with a little more engaging interaction.

Room Tip: 7th floor has a stunning view!! upgrade your room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear alodell,

First of all we would like to thank you for once again selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your excellent review with us and all other TA reviewers.

We are very happy to read that you had another fabulous vacation experience and truly enjoyed the upscale food & beverage offerings, clean and luxurious suites as well the amazing location of the resort.

We are sorry to read that you felt the entertainment could have been a little more engaging and please be assured that your suggestion has already been communicated to the corresponding department for the review and appropriate follow up.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,732 - 4,738 of 6,212 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our 1st time @ the Hyatt. We enjoyed our stay @ this resort very much. From the relaxing atmosphere to the amazing ocean views & the great service. A special Thank you to Jesus in Spice who after the 1st time waiting on us greeted us every time he saw us by name & Claudia who made amazing omelettes for us.
To Frankie, Moses & Guadaloupe who were amazing drink runners. Raphael for arranging an awesome lobster dinner @ the beach & always keeping our sunglasses clean & Genoveva for keeping our room spotless. Looking forward to returning :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Laura S,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your positive comments with us.

We are truly excited to read that you had a wonderful experience while enjoying the relaxing atmosphere, amazing views and great service.

Please be assured that we will share your excellent review with every single one of our associates and especially Jesus, Claudia, Frankie, Moises, Guadalupe and Raphael who you have kindly recognized for their dedication and personalized service.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we sincerely hope you will allow us the privilege of hosting you during your next trip to Cancun!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Such an amazing place felt so welcomed and safe , staff are so lovely and go that extra mile to make sure your having a good time !!
The entertainment around the pool area made the holiday even better David always made sure me and my friends had a really good day by joining in thanks for making our holiday so perfect .
Coming back again 100%

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Karen G,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent Cancun vacation and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you perceived the authentic Mexican hospitality and felt truly safe while enjoying the entertaining activities and great service provided by our dedicated associates.

Be assured we will share your kind words with every single one of our associates, especially David who I am certain will be proud to know that he was able to assist in making your stay truly memorable.

Thank you once again for your comments and we cannot wait to welcome you back on your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, accommodating hotel! Everything is amazing including the entertainment staff. David was excellent at providing pool activities and entertaining us throughout the day! Anyone visiting this hotel will not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank choy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear choy1988,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing this short, but excellent review.

We are truly excited to know that you very much enjoyed the beautiful facilities as well as the entertaining day and night time activities.

Please know we will share your positive comments with all of our associates, especially David who you were kind enough to mention.

Once again, thank you for your preference and we are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have been members of Real Club Resorts since 2007. We have used our time share many times at the multiple Real Resorts and have had many great vacations. Hyatt took over Royal Cancun and many cuts have been made. It has gone from stellar to mediocre. Examples of this are upon arrival...champagne and cold towels not presented..only given upon request. Next, menus at several of the restaurants have been reduced to minimal selections. The only spot that is better because they have now defined themselves is Maria Maria's which is offering authentic Mexican food, and the Tapas Pinxtos - excellent, I think the best restaurant in the whole place. Multiple employees seem to be "walking on eggshells" with the new management. No longer does the evening turndown include rose petals or beautifully created swans with towels. The house wines are barely drinkable, they used to be really nice Chilean wines that were nice drinking wines. If you wanted to order a better wine you could. Now, if you want to drink something decent you have to pay ALOT for it, or request the high end liquor. We purchased the time share because of the Mexican hospitality and the SUPREME Real Resorts quality and knowledge of all-inclusive. Royal Cancun was SUPREME quality. No longer...now it is mediocre Hyatt Zilara. Hyatt doesn't know all-inclusive, and how it needs to be in a supreme all-inclusive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Jennifer E,

First of all thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your detailed comments and suggestions with us.

We are sincerely sorry to read that we were unable to meet your high expectations during this past visit and that you felt some services were reduced, that there was less variety in the menus and that the house wines were not to your liking.

Please be assured that all concerns you raised have already been communicated to the corresponding departments for the appropriate follow up.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future in order to provide you with the excellent all-inclusive experience you have come to expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 week, you could not fault it in any way, from when we arrived staff we very helpful starting with Solomon who help us in every way he could, then you had David the pool entertainer who work hard all day playing games and entertaining, then u can't forget Frankie the waiter he is one of the hardest workers you will ever meet never went without a drink when he was serving. Must say we will be back at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanbeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Ryanbeatz,

Thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for this once in a lifetime vacation and for sharing your excellent comments with us.

We are very happy to read that you had a truly memorable honeymoon vacation while enjoying the fun activities and excellent service provided by our dedicated associates.

Thank you very much for taking your time to recognize David, Solomon and Frankie for their efforts and be assured that we will communicate your kind words to them.

We are truly pleased to know that you are already planning your return and we cannot wait to host you once again.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just sharing my two cents here. We went down for a week in February and everything was outstanding. The food was great, beachfront was great, and the pool was fantastic.

We were a little nervous because there were some reviews here about the service and food going downhill since they switched to Hyatt from The Royal, however by the end of the week we were all in agreement there was nothing wrong with the food quality in our opinion.

Random thoughts/tips:
- At check in they tried to convince us to come to a "special" breakfast hosted by the owner to say thank you for coming. We heard later this was actually a timeshare sales thing. We didn't go.

- As everyone else says, the cabanas by the pool are pretty much taken by 7am. If you don't have an early bird in your group don't get your hopes up. However, the other spots aren't that bad anyway.

- Asiana was our favorite meal, make sure you get a reservation there when you check in.

- They didn't have a king size bed for us at time of check in but made up for it by putting us in a room higher up. We just moved the queens together and it was fine, plus we had a better balcony view.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear TJ H,

First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you during your past vacation and for sharing this detailed review with us and all other TA reviewers.

We are sincerely sorry to read that you observed a lack of availability for pool cabanas, as well as that no suite with king size bed was available upon your arrival.

Please be assured that the concerns you raised have already been communicated to the corresponding departments for the appropriate follow up.

We are however very happy to know that you did not allow for these matters to affect your overall experience and that you truly enjoyed the gourmet dining options, beautiful beach and pool area and great view from your suite.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we sincerely hope you will allow us to welcome you back to Hyatt Zilara Cancun in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,075 reviews
1 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
6,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
6.4 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £287 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing