We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great resort from the second we enter guest leaving were telling us we won't want to leave I have been to cancun twice before n did not enjoy myself this resort changed how I feel about cancun Hector zepada n spice buffet was great always very helpful and service with a smile and Castillo Reyes at the pool was great he kept excellent drinks coming and always pleasant the rooms r amazing the food is great the staff are v amazing n the other guest were nice also this was the greatest birthday thanks for making it possible staff at Hyatt zilara by husband and I can't wait to return to room 635 it was great beach front room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear r c,

Thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your amazing experience with us.

We are very happy to know that we were able to meet your high expectations with the delicious food & beverage offerings, luxurious suites, amazing and great service provided by our dedicated associates, such as Hector Zepeda and Castillo Reyes.

Please be assured that we will share your motivating words with every single one of them and they will truly be proud to know in making your birthday vacation truly special and memorable.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are very much looking forward to pampering you again during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,485 - 4,491 of 6,021 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great resort beautiful grounds and suites. We enjoyed breakfast every day at spice, the best omelettes! Ate dinner at Asiana and marie marie and pelicanos. Enjoyed Asiana the best with the hibachi grill! Excellent staff were there to assist you in any way possible. Staff members to mention, Mario excellent welcome, all the staff at Spice, and at spa. Only thing to mention was beach service was slow seemed to cater to swimming pool more. Otherwise very enjoyable stay! We will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jlt1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Jlt1057,

First of all we would like to thank you for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your excellent experience with us.

While we are sorry to read that you perceived the service on the beach to be a little slow, we are truly excited to read that the service received by all our associates was excellent, especially the welcome received by Mario, the service at Spice and the Spa.

Also we are very happy to know that you truly enjoyed the beautiful grounds, comfortable suites and delicious dining and that we were able to offer you the amazing vacation experience you deserve.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

we just returned from the hotel Zilara for our third time. we love hyatt hotels however we were concerned that the hotel zilara (formerly the Royal hotel) may have lost it's intimacy with the hotels guest but they did not! our visit was just as good if not better then ever before. we are world travelers and this is by far our favorite hotel, favorite staff and restaurants which are exceptional being an all inclusive adult resort. I hope the Hyatt Brand appreciates the GEM it has in the hotel Zilara. Marcelo and his staff have been and continue to be most excellent in their service to their guests. we'll be back!

Room Tip: love the premium swim up suites -- it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Paula B,

First of all thank you very much for your loyalty to Hyatt Zilara Cancun and for sharing your excellent experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you once again truly enjoyed the upscale all-inclusive offerings and especially the personalized service provided by our dedicated associates such as Marcelo and his team.

Once again, thank you very much for your motivating feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back for your 4th visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place was taken over by Hyatt a year or more ago. By the looks from the outside driving up, it's not the most beautiful resort on the strip but once you are in, you're hooked. It's very, very nice. The staff are wonderful, a very open feeling inside but since it's an open air type of lobby...it's HOT! The rooms are really nice! I saw three different rooms of our friends who were there. Amazing views. The wedding couple had an amazing room with a dining table, kitchen, bedroom and a huge corner balcony. Our room, was just as nice but not as big and no extra room, table or huge balcony. I was impressed and it takes a lot to impress me (for the cost that is). The food was so good at the buffet or at the fancy Mexican restaurant. All good! Drinks were not bad and service was pretty good. Took a while for beach drink service but we were not in any rush. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in front of Pellicanos pool bar. It got a little loud at times but we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JTorres80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear JTorres80,

First of all we would like to thank you for allowing us the privilege of hosting you for this special event and for sharing your comments with us.

We are excited to know that we were able to meet your high expectations with the beautiful suites, gorgeous views, delicious food & beverage offerings as well as our attentive associates.

We are sorry to read that you found the drink service on the beach to be too slow and that the lobby area was too warm for your liking. Please be assured that your concerns have been communicated to the corresponding department heads for their review and appropriate follow up.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you back again during your next vacation in Cancun!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My sisters and I celebrated their birthdays at this all-inclusive, all-adult resort. From arrival to departure, the staff was attentive to our every need. The room and view was gorgeous with sight and sound of the surf. The property is beautiful and very accessible, the restaurants served delicious food and the pools are wonderful. We indulged in spa services and received the best deep tissue and detox massges from Luz, Josefina and Jose. It was a perfect vacation and celebration!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank joytraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear joytraveller007,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your sisters’ birthday celebrations and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful time while enjoying the comfortable accommodations with gorgeous view, beautiful facilities, delicious dining, relaxing spa and attentive staff.

Thank you very much for recognizing Luz, Josefina and Jose for their professionalism and service and be assured we will share your kind words with them.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are very much looking forward to having the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Thank you Zilara for a fantastic return visit. We visited last 5 years ago for our honeymoon and returned for our wedding anniversary. Delighted to say it was just as good. This place is amazing. The staff... And I have to mention Felipe, Eduardo and Victor especially who were the best. Professional and caring. We were treated so well. The food especially in Asiana, Pelicanos and Spice was fantastic. Rafael on the each is a star too. We can't wait to go back. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sonia S,

First of all we would like to thank you for allowing us to host you once again and to be part of your special anniversary celebration.

We are excited to know that we were able to meet your high expectations and that you truly enjoyed the delicious dining, with Asiana, Pelicanos and Spice being your favorites, and our accommodating associates.

Thank you very much for taking your time to recognize Felipe, Eduardo, Victor and Raphael by name and please be assured we will share your kind words with them and all our associates.

Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you back during your next Cancun vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 10 days at this beautiful resort. Well located just 20 minutes from the airport. We travelled with united airlines and aeroservice pick us at the airport. Check in was ok, with cold towel and a drink. Our room wasńt ready, they offered us a upgrade but we decline it since we already had a premium deluxe oceanview room. We went for diner and by that time our room was ready. We met our concierge Mario, he was excellent and always jovial! Great guy! We accepted to attend to the meeting for the membership. The 90 minutes meeting lasted 4 hours! After talking with four different persons, we decided to sleep on our decision... It looked as it was a good bargain... We did research on the internet and the cost for the flight was double... not good! We looked at hotels which we could exchange our credits, and the ones they showed us wasńt there... They have swich pages during the presentation... not good! So for the cost, we decline the offer... after the all inclusive cost included, it wasńt worth it. So be careful and do the research.
ROOM: perfect in everyway. Not oceanview but oceanfront! Thanks to Leydi, our maid, it was always clean. David, the fridgeman, wasńt that effecient... sometimes our fridge was empty even if we left him a good tip with a note.
HOTEL: spotless and beautiful
BEACH: white sand, many chairs but no umbrella, plenty of cabanas. That wasńt a problem to get one. Frankie was the best waiter, always running in the sand! Marco was very good. The other waiters wereńt efficient, sometimes they never came to see you... but the bar wasńt far. The ocean was great, but with big waves... be careful, even in july. We walked everyday on the beach for 2 hours...
RESTAURANTS: we had diner and lunch at Pelicanos and it was very good. It is nice to eat and see the ocean. Thanks Jesus for great service. We had diner at Asiana twice. Once with the show cooking that was ok. You must reserve for it. Otherwise, you dońt need a reservation to eat upstairs and we found the food even better! We ate 3 times at Maria Marie. Once with reservation... We just show and within 15 minutes had a table... I dońt know what is the big fuss about "you must make reservations 2-3 days in advance"... And the hotel was 90% occupied we were told! Noé was our favourite server! We had breafast , lunch and diner at Spice and it was excellent. Thanks to Luis, a friendly manager, and Erich and Jesus. Always smiling and efficient. We did not try the chef´s plate because it was extra and also you must again reserve in advance but without knowing what would be the theme that night... We did not try Tapas because it is hors d'oeuvre and not a real meal... By the way, men can wear shorts at every restaurant except the chef´s plate! That is a little sad because it takes away the little something about that prestigious hotel... even women were not wearing fancy clothes...
BARS: premium brands all the time. Very good drinks. Miguel was awesome at the lobby bar. Guadelupe was the most wonderful waitress we met! The sport bar 24 hour lounge was lovely...we played pool and ping pong almost everynight. Drinks and food are always available.
SHOWS: We did not see any since they are at 8 pm... If you eat at 5 or 10, then it´s ok. That´s too bad. Same for the different degustation... They are at 5 pm... We only saw the beach party from our balcony when we were getting ready for diner.
COFFEE SHOP: great! We always had a coffee around 4 pm and it was delicious.
OVERALL: great stay! Would recommand it!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Louise B,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for recommending us with fellow travelers.

We are truly sorry to read that the real club presentation lasted longer than expected and that the offer did not meet your needs, that your suite was not ready upon arrival, the minibar service and some of the beach waiters not being very efficient and that you were unable to enjoy any of the nightly shows.

We very much appreciate you sharing your comments and concerns as they allow us to detect our areas of opportunity and continue enhancing our valued guests’ vacation experience.

We are pleased to know that you truly enjoyed the great location, well-kept facilities, gorgeous beach, delicious dining and excellent service provided by many of our associates, such as Leydi, Mario, Frankie, Marco, Jesus, Noe, Luis, Erick, Jesus, Miguel and Guadalupe.

We will most certainly share your motivating words with every single one of them.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to host you once more in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,680 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £309 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing