We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We are staying at the Hyatt zilara for two weeks and after five days I can say I'm really pleased. The staff are brilliant so friendly and helpful. The food is excellent with good variety and different themes each day at the Spice. One disappointment though was the Chefs Plate it was ruined by a group who didn't want what was on the menu so the staff had to alter it just for them. The Asian is brilliant as is the Maria Maria
The pool and beach is the best along this part of the coast from what I have seen whilst on my walks and although people do put towels on the beds there is no need as there are plenty available
I hope the rest of our holiday is as good as the first five days (and stay away rain)

Room Tip: All room face the sea but the 7th and 8th floor get you into the Chefs plate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear robert h,

First of all thank you very much for selecting Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your well-deserved vacation and for taking time out of your vacation to write this truly positive review.

We are very happy to know you are having a great time and are especially enjoying the great location, beautiful pool and beach area, delicious and varied dining options, despite you being disappointed in your experience at Chef’s Plate, and the great service provided by our associates.

It will be a pleasure to continue providing you with excellent service during the remainder of your stay and please do not hesitate to contact us if you should require any assistance.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,438
    850
    243
    77
    74
See reviews for
668
3,846
81
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We absolutely love this resort! We have been coming to this resort every year for the last four years with our friends. Everything is always wonderful. Unfortunately this year with the new name came a new menu! None of us were thrilled with the new food choices. We wish they would have kept the menu like they kept every other wonderful aspect of this resort! It is still a wonderful place to stay, and the staff is still fantastic! We look forward to our next visit in spite of the menu changes!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we've had were oceanfront and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lag726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear lag726,

It was a great pleasure to host you once again at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and we very much appreciate you taking your time to share your comments with us.

Please know that our valued guests’ feedback, especially from return guests such as you are, are always taken very seriously.

While we are truly sorry to read that the changes to the menus were not to your liking, we are very happy to know that you still very much enjoyed your overall experience, especially the hotel’s beautiful facilities and great staff.

Thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to host you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I cannot begin to explain how amazing this hotel is. I am absolutely thrilled with my recent stay. Our Romance Concierge went far above and beyond expectations when my friend lost her passport. He took so much extra time to sort the entire ordeal out. He made it so much less stressful than it could have been from arranging transportation to the embassy, to calling us on his day off to make sure that everything had been taken care of. The manager at Pelicanos was also one of the nicest and most thoughtful employees there. He helped us celebrate a big birthday with amazing attention and even a handwritten birthday message. The food was excellent (I highly recommend the nutella stuffed french toast at Pelicanos) and the drinks were fabulous. We had planned to go out on the town almost every night, but we loved our hotel so much that we ended up staying at the lobby bar and partying with other guests! Thank you Hyatt Zilara for an unforgettable trip! I hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: If you have an early bed time make sure to ask to be away from the lobby as there is an excellent ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotWheelsJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear WanderingWheeler,

Thank you very much for allowing as the honor of having you as our guests during your recent vacation and for sharing your truly wonderful experience with us.

We are excited to know that you had the best vacation while enjoying the delicious food & beverage offerings and especially the personalized service provided by the Romance Concierge and Wait Captain at Pelicanos. Be assured we will share your kind words with them and they will certainly be proud they assisted in making your stay and birthday celebration extra special.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you back to Hyatt ZIlara Cancun during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Best trip ever!! The Zilara is great in every way but the location makes the difference Get out and see the town. We rented a scooter and had a blast zipping up and down the main road. We stopped and everything that looked interesting or food and all the little shops. The Concierge service is out of this world. They set up our room with the most romantic details. Breathtaking. Pool, beach and ocean are also top notch VERY SPECIAL THANKS TO THE PEOPLE THAT MADE OUR TRIP THE BEST---CONCIERGE SHARBEL BECERRIL, BELL BOY ERICK SERRANO, AND THE BEST WAITER IN CANCUN MOISES OCHOA AGUILAR Thanks for making our tip the best and we will be back for sure and bring more friends

Room Tip: Perfect location to see it all. Swings on the beach bar are the best Rooms with swim up pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Bison300,

It was a great pleasure to host you Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and we are excited to know you had a truly amazing vacation.

We are happy to read that you especially enjoyed the great location, beautiful pool and beach service, as well as the personalized service received.

Please be assured we will share your kind words with every single one of our associates, especially Sharbel, Erick and Moises, who will certainly be proud they assisted in making your stay truly memorable.

Once again, thank you for your preference and we are very much looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Hotel zilara exceeded our expectations! So many times you see gorgeous images on hotel websites then when you get there, you realize how distorted the pictures were, but not at zilara! It's even prettier than the pictures! And with their top of the line staff from the poolside bartenders to the entertainment crew to the front desk staff, everyone had a smile on their face! We especially appreciated the amazing service from Edgar Ruiz and his team at pelicanos! Alberto and Jorge were the best! Along with Jose, Sergio, victor, Norberto, and roman! Hotel Bartender, Felipe was OUTSTANDING!! And the entertainment crew, Joshua and Evian made sure we had a great time at all hours of the day, and took us out to the best clubs in cancun! Absolutely amazing trip and we are definitely coming back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Victoria W,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Zilara Cancun for your recent vacation and for sharing your truly positive experience with us.

We are excited to know that we were able to exceed your high expectations with our beautiful property and excellent service.

Thank you very much for recognizing so many of our associates, such as Edgar, Alberto, Jorge, Jose, Sergio, Victor, Norberto, Roman, Felipe, Joshua and Evian for their dedication and personalized service. Be assured we will share your motivating words with every single one of them.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we cannot wait to host you again in 2015!

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

I've just arrived at the Hyatt zilara in cancun for our honeymoon! I've only been here a few hours but I am in love with this hotel!!!! The atmosphere is great, the service, the food, the place.... I can't find a single bad thing to say and trust me, I would if I could! I'm going to spent the next 9 days here so I'll be back with more details about this beautiful resort.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ligeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ligeri S,

First of all welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun!

It is a great pleasure to have you as our guests and to be able to be part of this once-in-a-lifetime experience.

We are excited to read you are very pleased with your stay so far and especially enjoying the beautiful facilities, relaxing atmosphere and great service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance during your stay and please know we will assure you have the wonderful and truly memorable vacation you deserve.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed 9 nights at the Hyatt Zilara. I believe that whilst the hotel is great, especially location, staff and service it is perhaps say 4 days too long - you can only eat the same food for so long. Don't get me wrong the Hotel is an "All Inclusive" hotel with ample food and beverages supplied 24 hours a day however the food after 9 days tends to start tasting the same. We ventured out to try a number of restaurants outside the hotel which was a welcome change.

The service is very good from the time you check in - especially Jerry was great to poolside and beach cocktail and drink service to breakfast especially Hector.

It is very hard to fault the hotel except perhaps for the food and guests hogging the chairs and cabanas. The staff are fantastic, extremely friendly. We tried all the restaurants and we disappointed in the Tapas and Mexican restaurants in particular.

The hotel needs to do something about reserving the cabanas and chairs. Guests go down to the Pool at 7am and put a towel on the chair and then don't come down to the pool until 1pm. There has to be a better solution.

We upgraded our room to a corner suite but to be honest there are no bad rooms at the hotel so I would not bother to be honest as the rooms are huge.

A word of warning - do not use BD travel advisory in the hotel. They are extremely dear compared with TourAdvisor outlet on the street which is about half the cost i.e. we paid $80 per head for a private tour compared with $129. Same with the car rental in the hotel which was going to charge me $250US per day for a Ford Fiesta when I got a Chrylser Town & Country from Hertz for $107US.

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms except I would try to stay on floors 6,7,8 as the view is better the higher y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso J, Director General at Hyatt Zilara Cancun, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear SydneyTraveller_2008,

It was a great pleasure to host you at Hyatt Zilara Cancun and we very much appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback with us.

We are very sorry to read that while you found the food & beverage options to be delicious and to have a variety of offerings, you did feel there were not enough new options towards the end of the stay and that you felt especially disappointed with Tapas & Pintxos and Maria Marie.

We are also sorry to know about the area of opportunity you experienced with cabanas by the pool being reserved. Please know that per our new policies it is not permitted to reserve cabanas. We do take these kinds of reports very seriously and will assure the procedures are followed appropriately.

We are however, very happy that you did not allow for these areas of opportunity to affect your overall experience and you had a great vacation while enjoying especially the location and excellent service provided by our dedicated associates, such as Jerry and Hector.

Be assured we will share your kind words with every single one of our associates, who will certainly be proud to know that positively influenced your experience.

Thank you very much for your preference and we cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Jarquin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 175 in Cancun
4,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
1.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Zilara Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Property: Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Zilara Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Zilara Cancun, an adults-only, all-inclusive resort (min. age 18). Prominently located on the widest stretch of beach in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, Hyatt Zilara Cancun is an adults-only, all-suite, all inclusive resort where guests experience traditional Mexican warmth in an intimate yet casual setting.Our resort features spacious suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and offers world-class dining, an impressive array of upscale amenities, outstanding service from an attentive and thoughtful staff, and spectacular grounds and facilities.Hyatt Zilara Cancun offers a myriad of activities and conveniences including, sophisticated culinary options at six gourmet restaurants, rejuvenating treatments and services at The Spa- Cancun's only ocean view spa - wine and spirits tastings, enhanced pool and beach butler service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Nozio Netplan srl, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Zilara Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal In Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing