We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with The Grand Oasis palm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Oasis Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oasis Palm
Ranked #49 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In love with The Grand Oasis palm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are planning to have a vacation
i would definitely recommend this hotel..
The staff is great and very helpful,
rooms are spotless, the view is amazing

Try to avoid timeshare personal
they will take up a lot of your time...

Alcoholic beverages are weak

You should visit :
* Xcaret
* Chichen itza
* Coco bongo
* Xplor
* Playa del carmen

If you are buying souvenirs
please DON'T go to "Plaza 28"
they sell triple the price

Best place to go is
MERCADO 28

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Rey:

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are glad you spent your holiday in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    880
    417
    216
    218
See reviews for
1,744
730
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I just got back from a wonderful week of vacation with my 2 daughters (18 and 20)....this was by far the best vacation we've ever had. The entire staff at Grand Oasis was amazing, accommodating and more than happy to make our stay incredible. We were originally booked for the Oasis Palm but we were upgraded to the Grand and couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay. I had read so many good and bad reviews so we really didn't know what to expect. Like all resorts, different things will be pros and cons for different people, but we have no major complaints. The worst thing I experienced was the noise in the hallways because of people who had too much to drink or young kids running up & down the halls and screaming, the halls echo pretty bad. Clean rooms, fresh linens, plenty of hot water and good water pressure, decent food (even the buffets were okay), pleasant staff, and plenty of fun things to keep you busy. I specifically want to thank David from Las Palmas restaurant. He was amazing!! We ate at this particular restaurant every morning for breakfast, first because of their food selection and convenience, but after we got David that first morning, we specifically asked for his section every morning after that. He remembered what we drank, from my picky demands for my coffee, to both of my daughters requests of coffee, juice and water. He always had a smile on his face every time we saw him, even late in the day when he was then tending to the crowd at the pool beside the restaurant. If everyone had been as wonderful as David was, I would have had to spend all of my money just on tips (not complaining at all because he was worth it)!

We will definitely go back and plan on staying at Grand Oasis again. Thank you for making our vacation one to remember!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had no issues other than the noise echo in the halls. I'm sure this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Judy:

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.
We are glad you enjoyed our daily shows and activities since we work really hard to keep our guests entertained and make sure they have an amazing time with us.
It is gratifying to receive such great comments regarding members of our team. We shall of course congratulate them for their terrific work.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just got back from Cancun and a stay at the Grand Oasis Palm with the family (Wife and four kids (19, 13, 11, 7)). This was our first family trip to Mexico and booked Cancun due to package deal via Vacation Express). Been reading the reviews and basically went with a "let’s hope for the best" mentality.

First, I think the majority of the "poor" ratings are from folks who stay at the Oasis Palm; we stayed at the Grand Oasis Palm which allowed us more access to other dining establishments. Below are my comments and touching on areas that other people have called out. I will note that I think we were there during an off peak week as the place was never crowded at the pool, beach, or diners.

Elevators - They are small and only two for the whole building. Our family was on the 8th floor and while we did walk down several times we really did not have to wait long periods of time to catch a elevator. I joking commented that the elevators should be forbidden to stop on floor 1, 2, or 3 but overall all not a pain point,

Staff - Very courteous; no attitude. The most difficult part was understanding some of them butI had to keep in mind that I am a guest in their country and most of the staff speak Spanish, English, German, French, etc.. to accommodate all their guests. They will jump on you when you first arrive for their "timeshare" speech. Even after saying no several times they still persisted. Best advice is when they asked you when you arrived say yesterday.

Room - Nothing special; clean but would advice wearing socks or sandals in the room because the floor always seemed gritty (assume it was sand). The mini fridge is stocked but only two waters, two sodas, and two beers per day are free. Anything above that they will charge you. They do stock it with candy and other drinks; keep that in mind if you are travelling with kids and set the rules straight (no candy!). The Safety Deposit box will run a extra $8 (US) per day but thought it was well worth it to secure our passports, cash, etc.. Never could figure out the TV stations; most were in Spanish but some would be in English one night and then Spanish another night. Not a big deal since we did not go to Cancun to watch TV but keep in mind that they do not edit for content; R rated movies showing on TNT have all the language, violence, etc... in place. One good thing is that the Cartoon Network was always in English which was nice having youngsters with us. WIFI is extra; believe it or not you can survive without it and we did. My 19 year old could not and paid for the service. No complaints from her so I guess no problems with the Wi-Fi. Bathroom was clean; trying to consistently get hot water in the shower was challenging at times but never had to take a cold shower.

Beach - If you want waves and deep water then don't stay here. The beach is part of the inlet so you get to see all the boats go in and out but no waves and you are roped off from going out to far. For kids the water can get somewhat deep but you can walk all the way to the roped off area and the water will barely go above the waist. We were suppose to have access to some water craft but never really investigated it. We did rent a wave runner one day and had a blast; the gulf is very calm and does not beat you up like riding a wave runner on the Atlantic side. A wave runner will cost you $50 (US) for half an hour which is about average. Everything is negotiable so if you have multiple folks wanting to participate just barter with them and see what you can get. We never had any trouble getting lounge chairs, even for six of us, and we could always get them in a shaded area which was fine with me. It looks like they clean and rake the beach sand every morning and the staff constantly walk around picking up trash (is it really that hard for people to throw way their own trash?). Vendors will walk back and forth but 99% of them will leave you alone if you shake your head no or say no. Every now and then you will find someone persistent but just say no unless you are really interested in what they are selling.

Pools - Two main pools; one in front of the Grand Oasis Palm, and one in front of the Oasis Palm. Both very nice and well maintained and deep; no diving but over five foot deep in some sections. There looked like there was a third pool with water slides reserved for the kids club but my youngest did not participate in this so no comment on that. If you like to sit and soak in a hot tub, the only ones I saw were for the Spa and none seem to have water in them. So if a daily soak is high on your vacation agenda, then you might look elsewhere.

Towels - You get one card per guest and then can trade that card for a towel during your stay for the pool and the beach. Never felt like I "had" to carry it with me at all times and left on a chair on the beach while swimming in the pool. No one bothered them and you can trade a wet towel in for a dry towel any time. You will need your beach / pool towels when checking out.

Food - You will not go hungry but don't expect 5 Star food. Breakfast was the same each day (Pancakes, French toast, Waffles, Fresh Fruit, OJ, Coffee, etc...) with some Mexican breakfast selections and they will make you a omelet to order. My biggest complaint about breakfast was no bacon (love me some bacon) but they did have a couple of different type of sausages. For lunch, most of the time we hit one the grills by the pools for hamburgers, fries, chicken tenders, nachos... Kids loved walking up, order what they wanted anytime they were hungry. While there were a few times we had to wait to get our order in it was never more than 5 minutes. For dinner, you can make reservations at some of the cart restaurants. If you want seafood, reservations can be made as early as 7 am while the rest of the restaurants reservations can be made as early as 9 am. We only did this once and ate at the "steak" place; really good and different from the buffet. If you go to the buffet, it is changed up every night. Even if you have picky eaters in the family (like we do), you will always find something and I said earlier, you will not go hungry!

Bar/Drinks - We are not big drinkers but did enjoy the beer (margaritas, pina colodas, house wine, etc... Never ordered anything considered premium (IE Extra $$$) and very happy with the quality. The wet bar in the pool and the bars around the pool and in the restaurants all served the same drinks. Bartenders were very good with the kids fixing them virgin drinks which they loved.

On site Activities - We caught a circus act one night from 9 to 10 pm in the main ball room and then a Mexican Music festival another night at the same time. Nice way to end the day but other than that there were not a whole lot of activities other than the beach or pool to keep kids entertained. Keep that in mind on rainy days because we had a couple of those. There is no indoor pool for those rainy days. The resort is right next to the Captain Hook pirate adventure which cost extra but kids 12 and under are free. I think it was $94 per adult plus $10 "docking fee" that you have to pay separately. We did this and I must say it was a blast! You arrive between 6 - 6:30, hit the sea by 7:00 and dock by 10:00. While you are on the ship, your wait staff will keep your drinks filled before you know they are empty (bring extra $$ for the tip) and the food was very good. Read that someone complained about the portions but our steak was a pretty good size and came with salad, bake potatoes, and other sides. Highly recommend Captain Hook.

Check In / Out - No major complaints; checking in was hard to hear because so many other folks are checking in as well and like I said earlier, English is not their primary language. What I listed above should help with some of the things they will tell you. When you check in they will put a wristband on you which are numbered and tells the staff what you have access too. If one becomes loose or comes off, go to the reception desk and get a new one right away.
I would recommend that if you have a earlier flight when you are leaving, checkout the night before as there is no automatic check out. When checking out, you will need to return your towels and safty deposit lock/key. Anything missing you will be charged. We had to leave at 5:00 am and while there was no line to check out, we had to wait since only one person was working the counter and I think he was new. If you can check out later, go eat breakfast first as when you check out they will cut off and keep your wrist band.

First Aid - Read in a post about the staff not being helpful when it came to someone getting hurt. My poor son ripped off one of his toenails out last day there and it bleed pretty bad. The lifeguards were great, they not only treated the wound bandaged him up but replaced the bandage a few hours later. Best advice - always wear sandals when walking around the pool and beach area.

Sleeping/Noise - Never heard the peacock or any disco on the 8th floor. The halls do echo badly and if you have loud neighbors there could be a problem but for the most part no issues.

Tipping - Not required but tipped the bartenders during the trip. Did not pay off in huge dividends but could tell that they remember who has tipped and who has not. I think this worked out well for my kids who were getting their virgin drinks.

Overall, no complaints and glad we went. May not go to Cancun again anytime soon but for this family of six it was just fine for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobn924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Bob:

We are pleased your stay with us has motivated you to share such a great review about our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the qualities that made your stay unforgettable. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Our staff work hard to satisfy our guests so that they have amazing experiences.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

It's not easy to get a reservation into few restaraunts on site.
But you know what, that was all about our problems! Everything else was very good!!!
We got a better room than expected, there was a wide variety of tasty food, both speciality restaraunts and buffets. Nice beach, activities. Might be you get more in some pricey upscale resort but otherwise it's an excellent place to go to.
PS. Ocean was as laguna, shallow water - very good, because my daughter is shy of tydes and sun warms up water well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yak0v72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we know the great importance to you and your family mean your holiday, so we are honored to have received in our hotel.
We hope to visit again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We enjoyed our staying, we had heard horrible words about the hotel but it turned to be a good experience. Liked the people.

Not very impressed with Sunwing. Didn't expect anything special for our vacation since it's first time in Mexico. But we were treated as the most wanted guests at the reception and restaurant Las Palmas from the day one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Irena:

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are glad that you spent your holiday in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Oasis Palm from Dec 20- Dec 27. The first three days of our trip, it was the perfect vacation. Not many people, amazing food at the restaurants, nice service from the wait staff and it was all perfect. We loved eating at the Mexican restaurant, the Cantina was our favorite hangout - beautiful ambience and the churascaria was really good, we enjoyed that a lot too. Pool was a good size pool with a swim up bar. Kids really enjoyed the pool side entertainment.
Beach is not an ocean beach, it is a clam inlet. Great for little babies, toddlers.

Then came Christmas eve and from then on it was a roller coaster ride down. The restaurant reservation system was flawed, they asked us to come at 9:00am but started at 7:00am. Then they said 7:00 am and started at 9:00am.
The churascaria broke down and food at the other restaurants suddenly was not as good as before.The size of the shrimp went from a nice big shrimp to tiny shrimps. Our towels from our beach chairs disappeared. The front desk was rude ....they gave us a run around for a few things.

So overall I think this place has the potential to be a good place - we experienced it first hand for three days. Just remember if you go to this resort go off peak.

Room Tip: Elevator was too slow. So we took a room on the third floor and walked up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NQTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest:
Let us thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Such opinions helps us know our weaknesses in order to improve in the future. We regret the inconvenience occurred during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to enhance your perception.
We reiterate our thanks.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Didn't expect anything special for our vacation since it's first time in Mexico. But we were treated as the most wanted guests at the reception and restaurant Las Palmas from the day one. I'm glad that I booked Grand Oasis 5 stars hotel and not the next door. It is very clean and quite to compare with the other one. The peacock that entertains guests at the pool area woke us up every morning between 4:30 and 6:30 assuring we don't sleep over our vacation. The water is great, calm and warm. Would be nice to have floating things just to relax on the water. The most impressive thing there was staff at the restaurant Las Palmas. Few guys: Juan Angel, Ever and Leonardo were supper friendly. Angel remembered us from the first night and also served us at the Sushi place.He remembered what we like to eat and even grilled beef to order for my husband. Ever has noticed ones that one of us not at the table longer than for 5 minutes and came to ask if everything was OK.! I don't know how those young boys can manage to see everything around them at the busiest dining time and be just there for you. If you ever decide to stay at this Resort, don't waste your time to look for place to eat - just go to Las Palmas. There are a lot of places but this is the best. Easy, quick, very clean. Everything is absolutely delicious, great selection of different kind of food. But don't go there if you don't want to put on some wait - you have to be very careful, it's very tempting. place.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, ocean view, quite A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Palm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Marina:

We are flattered to know that your stay with us has motivated you to share such a great review about our hotel.
We are very happy to have met your expectations and that you had an excellent trip to Cancun. We work hard to create positive experiences for our guests to remember our hotel with a huge smile.
Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer.
We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
5.2 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Palm

Property: Grand Oasis Palm
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan km 4.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Palm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"I'm all about the kid-stuff: endless entertainment, family-friendly accommodations, child-centric restaurants and a Kids Club that's cool as can be. But I've got that pampered, indulgent side, too, as a visit to my Kin Ha Spa shows - I always find plenty of fun stuff for parents to do while the kids are having fun. I'm like my sister resort, Oasis Palm - but a bit more upscale, with the extra amenities you're looking for. I'm Mexican and proud of it: my dancing, dining and decor reflect the culture of Cancun, with my delicioso Mexican food in the cantina and lots of activities for everyone". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oasis Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Palm Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Caribbean Beach Hotel
Grand Oasis Caribbean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing