We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great first-time Cancun experience!”

Review of The Royal Islander

Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Outdoor Pool Aerial View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Master Bedroom
Outdoor Pool
Aerial View
Villa Living Room/ Dining area
Balcony
Kitchen
Studio side Bedroom with 2 full size beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cancun, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cmbldwn
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
“Great first-time Cancun experience!”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Royal Islander is a perfect choice for those looking to vacation in Cancun. We are just finishing up our first week-long trip in Mexico and I'm so pleased with the experience we've had while visiting. When we first arrived, we were greeted by Nereo (who told us to call him David) at the front desk concierge. He was absolutely incredible and told us the great things to do around the resort as well as activities taking place in the resort. We loved playing Bingo out by the pool and took advantage of a BBQ event taking place as well. The restaurants on the property had equally wonderful staff members - everyone here is just so friendly! Our maid, Maria del Socorro Pandelo was wonderful as well. She was extremely courteous and did and extremely thorough job on our room. We were very happy with her service! The location of the resort is great (right on the water) and even though our room faced the interior of the resort, the place is so beautiful we didn't mind at all. So happy we spent our first vacation in Cancun at The Royal Islander!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Glad to hear you had a good time. The Islander is beautiful and I will be there with my family X-mas week 2017. Looking forward to another great stay at this property. Love the Restaurants there and all the staff treats you like a king. Thanks for the nice words and happy you were comfortable in my unit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avrin2
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay.”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed for an amazing week with another couple. The 2 room villa was incredible. Clean and up to date, we had everything that we needed. I loved the beach, and we were lucky enough to be able to watch the sea turtles hatching. A must see is Chichen Itza. It is a 2 hour drive but well worth it.
The resort has a lot of good restaurants nearby. And a couple decent ones on location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I find that The Islander is one of the finest Timeshare's in all of Timeshare. Since I have been a Timeshare owner I have exchanged to several locations throughout the world and all the Royal properties are superb. Thanks again happy you had a great experience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwest01
The Cincinnati Region
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay - Highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Our family just spent the week of Christmas at the Royal Islander, unit 4673. We had both bedrooms and thoroughly enjoyed it. The kitchen was well stocked and enabled us to eat a few of our meals in the room, if we wanted to. The onsite grocery store was surprisingly well stocked and not that expensive. All of the resturaunts we tried onsite where very good and the service was outstanding. The beds where very comfortable and the cleaning lady (Lillia) was great. Our only complaints... if you call them that, was going from the beach to the pool or visa versa was a bit of a hike. Either steps up 3 floors or wait for the elevator. The tile is very slippery when its wet in the common areas and one bar tender (I think his name is William) was not very friendly or helpful. Otherwise, great place to stay, especially with kids. We will definitely go back. We have been to Cancun 8 times in 20 years and this was the best facility yet. We have stayed at the Great Parnassus (don't recommend), the Iberostar, Oasis and the Melia (now Paradisia sp?). The waves/sea weed are definitely an issue, but manageable !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the room, view of the facility (beach / pool), balconies !
Liked least: Access to beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Sorry you feel like it is a bit of a hike to the pool and the beach. However a few minute walk is exactly what you will get no matter were you stay unless you get a ground floor unit at any timeshare. Then you will not get a great view of the beach and pool if you are on the ground floor. NO PLACE IS PERFECT BUT YOU'D HAVE TO ADMIT THAT THIS PLACE IS WONDERFUL. And you mentioned this place is great and the best facility yet. I 've owned Royal Islander for several years. Our family always has a great stay. I hope you go back and try out a ground floor unit for a shorter walk but again you'll not get the view and will have alot more outside noise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing