We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Chichen Itza, Ik Kil Cenote and Valladolid Tour with Lunch
454

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Google
Ways to Experience Cenote Ik kil
Reviews (6,272)
Filter reviews
6,272 results
Traveller rating
3,639
1,707
605
188
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,639
1,707
605
188
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviews life jackets changing rooms deep water natural wonder tour buses buffet lunch lockers cenote chichen platform vest sinkhole lifejackets pesos roots mexico depth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 6,272 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

This Cinote is probably the most photographed and thus the most popular. The main con is the crowd nevertheless because of its popularity the services are meticulous - lockers, showers, life vest. Everything is very comercialized but clean and organized. The solution: comr early, or late. I was ther at 4pm an hour before closing and there weren't many people.
Laying on your back in the water looking up to the perfect circle opening, one can understand why the Mayan saw the cinotes as the source of life given by the gods.
Cost: $14 us / $11 CDN. Cash only.
Enjoy the swim and the spiritual experience.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank pinir67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024 via mobile

Had a beautiful morning swim, get there early to avoid the crowds. Changing room available and they provided the life jackets.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2024

Yes there are a lot of people but we were hot after visiting Chichen Itza and this was a perfect place to cool off. The cenote is cold. After an hour, my body was cold to the touch, so mission accomplished. The lockers were small for our family of 5 and they would only give us one which I didn’t understand since they gave single people a whole locker? Sure I could rent a second locker for twenty pesos more but we managed. The food at the snack bar was average food but service was fast and tacos, club sandwich, and hamburger were good. Yes you have to wear a life jacket, but I was ok with that because I couldn’t see the bottom. The catfish were neat to see swimming with us. My teen boys loved jumping off the two platforms. A lifeguard helped keep people from jumping on top of each other. One thing to be careful of are the stone steps down into the cenote. They’re incredibly slippery and you aren’t allowed to wear any shoes on them. Hold onto the rail. I saw more than one person slip and have to catch themselves. Going down is more slippery than going up.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Momteachruncraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2024

It is better than the pictures, very lush greenery on the walls of a large water hole that is very refreshing. It was worth the whole excursion and the heat at Chichen Itza ruins.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Maria de Fatima Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2024 via mobile

Not worth the time or frustration

Touristy, overcrowded, loud - most of the tour busses stop here. We went an hour before it closed and it was still packed

Expensive at $200 pesos each, no snorkelling equipment to rent.

Have to leave everything in a locker - including your shoes - even though you have to walk down dangerously slippery stairs. The cenote itself is beautiful and the water refreshing however it’s hard to appreciate. There is no peace or tranquility, just yelling, dive bombing, inconsiderate tourists.

Staff are rude and unfriendly, though I don’t blame them having to put up with herding tourists day in and day out.

Recommend going to cenote yokdzonot. Much quieter and less touristy. It’s run by Mayan women who created a co-op and voluntarily restored the cenote. The entrance fees go into helping the community.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank freya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews