We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel steeped in history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Chichen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Chichen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel steeped in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Hacienda Chichen is a convenient hotel when visiting the Chichen Itza pyramids, you can get to the site's rear entrance quite easily on foot. Apparently it was originally built for the archaelogists from the Carnegie Institute and the bungalows are named after them. Although the cottages have apparently been refurbished, they are VERY basic, if comfortable; they are set in very pretty gardens and we had a little terrace with chairs. I would stay at the hotel again because of its situation and also because the restaurant food was excellent. We had fantastic meals there and sitting on the terrace in the evening was magical.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We too enjoyed having had the opportunity to serve you and we would like to take advantage of the occasion to thanking you for your visit. It is a delight to read that you were aware of the hotel history and that you enjoyed it to the point that you would stay at the hotel again. It makes us feel so honored! Please feel free to visit your home away home anytime!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    227
    80
    29
    10
See reviews for
163
361
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a superb hacienda with great service and charm. We stayed two nights and it was wonderful. It is a great base to visit the ruins - a short walk away. Restaurant outsside seating is charming. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It's incredible how a short but so nice review brightens our day! Thank you very much for your visit!

All the best,
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was traveling from Sisal via Merida to chichenitza, this was a special treat just for me. I had a wonderful massage with seaweed, very relaxing. During the course of my stay in Sisal I burnt my hand, so Madam B made me an alloe vera paste and that night at dinner she sent me a special herbal tea. The pool was great, the food was great and the staff were just lovely. I am a 67 year old woman who has only been traveling for 4 years

Room Tip: I was near the restaurant which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lfachWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We deeply appreciate your visit and kind words. It is good to know that you enjoyed all the pampering and special treat of our Spa. We hope your hand is OK now and that we are part of the wonderful memories about your trip to Chichen Itza.

Much blessings,
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Hacienda Chichen Itza is a beautiful property located immediately adjacent to the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, allowing visitors early morning access to the archaeological zone before the hordes of tourists arrive from Cancun. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and tranquil. The staff is very attentive. Live music from a folklore trio every evening at dinner time enhances the experience. There is a shop that benefits a local foundation that aids the local population, and they would welcome you to bring toys, children's vitamins, educational materials, and toiletries (e.g., toothbrushes and toothpaste). If you get to the archaeolgoical zone early, look for an older gentleman who is a guide (I forget his name). He is a polyglot scholar with a photographic memory of the scholarship regarding the site and worth every penny of his reasonable fee for a two or three hour tour of the site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jsokolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It made us happy to know that you had a nice stay with us and that you have taken the liberty to spread out the word to help those who are in need, it's something very kind from you and encourages us to keep up with the effort. We look forward to seeing you in a near future!

With our best wishes,
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Having visited Chichen Itza twice prior to the visit as a tourist from Merida, which is two hours away, it was so special to stay on-site, explore the ruins in the early morning quiet before the tourist hoards. Hacienda Chichen is a magnificent oasis, a fabulous respite from our adventurous and sometimes bare-bones hotel options throughout the the Yucatan and Chiapas.
The Hacienda has that hushed elegance, flawlessly run, welcoming staff that made us - children too - feel incredibly pampered. Impeccibly appointed rooms, magnificent gardens, and a magical swimming pool. The breakfasts were amazing, food like a five-star hotel. The staff had sensitivity to the history of the area and they matched us with a personal guide to the ruins - a real historian with incredible knowledge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Screenplay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We are delighted to receive your review and pleased to read that you and your family felt incredibly pampered by our friendly staff. Thank you for making us your best travel option throughout the Yucatan! You are always welcome to stay with us!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Amazing hotel nestled in the jungle right next to the ruins of Chichen Itza. If you're looking for a beautiful quiet restful oasis, this is the place. I was concerned being so close to the ruins it would be lame and touristy, capitalizing on the location alone and offering little else, but they have really done things right. Food is good, rooms are nice, the grounds are lush with natural local plant life. The hotel really feels part of the surroundings and the wildlife is everywhere! If you like nature you will not be disappointed. You will see dozens and dozens of species. Woodpeckers, parrots, Motmot (which has iridescent tail feathers like a bird of paradise), iguanas, and a myriad of other species. We even had a kinkachu (they call it Mico de Noche in Spanish) climibing through the trees overhead during dinner. Our biggest mistake was only staying one night. I wish we had stayed several more so that we could have taken advantage of some of its nature tours around the hotel grounds. Even if you're not a "nature" person and would prefer to enjoy the Yucatan flora and fauna from the front porch drink in hand, this place is awesome.

The hotel also couldn't be any more convinient to going into the Chichen ruins. You can actually get a peak view at the top of one of the ruins from the hotel's back terrace. It's only a 2 minute walk to the less crowded back entrance. You can roll in early when the archeologicalark first opens (highly reccomended) and beat the crowds that come along with the tour buses.

Wifi reception is limited to one small spot on the front terrace and there are no TVs. But those are actually big pluses in my view ;-) It was great to unplug.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NN760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Your review about our hotel means a lot for us. We are so flattered that you think that the only mistake you found, was only staying with us one night! Yes, the hotel is worthy to stay more than one night not only for its great location but most important, for the fascinating experience that you can be immersed in a beautiful natural haven where you can also enjoy of comfortable rooms and excellent food! We all hope to see you soon.

Thank you again!
The Hacienda Chichen and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for two nights during the fall of 1967. You too will always remember your stay at Hacienda Chichen. Nighttime takes you back to the old days of this place...
The peacefulness and the evening stars are most calming while you consider the history of Chichen.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendellhester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
What a nice surprise to know that this was your second visit to the Hacienda Chichen. We are pretty sure that you found it so different and beautiful. We strive to keep that authentic historical ambience and providing excellent service to all our guests wishing to experience an intimate contact with Mayan traditions and history. The evening stars and calmness will definitely take you back and simply admire this magical place which we are happy to know that you enjoyed!

We hope you can return in a near future and please let us take care of you!

With our sincere thanks,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
24.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Chichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Chichen

Property: Hacienda Chichen
Address: Carretera Merida-Puerto Juarez Km. 120 | Zona Hotelera de Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Chichen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly boutique hotel, the Hacienda Chichen is committed to sustainable tourism and is devoted to Mayan culture and local community welfare. The resort consciously promotes an eco friendly environment rooted in Mayan tradition, which presents guests with plenty of romantic charm. An ambiance of 'home away from home' welcomes the Hacienda Chichen guests. The property's close proximity to the adjourning Chichen Itza ruins is a major plus for those travelers wishing to avoid the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Chichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Chichen And Yaxkin Spa
Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Hacienda Chichen Yaxkin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing