We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every respect!”
Review of Hacienda Chichen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Chichen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Four years ago I stayed at this beautiful hacienda and always wanted to return, so last week I got the opportunity. It's one of the loveliest places I have stayed anywhere. Pretty historic cottages, lush gardens, excellent staff, and a perfect location to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza. We had been eating Yucatecan food all week -- everything delicious -- but wanted something different on our last night so opted for the chef's special lasagna. What a surprise! It may well be the best I have eaten anywhere -- including in Italy.

This time we had an extra rewarding experience by making a small donation to the nutrition program the hacienda supports in the local area for school children and had the opportunity to visit the school. The children and their principal were all wonderful and inviting and I wished we could have done more for these lovely kids. If you stay at Hacienda Chichen, be sure to check out the volunteer program on their website. A few pesos go a long way and this kind of experience can add so much to a visit.

Again, I took a bird walk early in the morning with Bibiano Uh Tun who is a great guide. We saw the pygmy owl this time, along with flycatchers, tanagers, vultures and many other birds. On my last visit I saw my first and only painted bunting. It's worth getting up early and getting out when the birds are feeding and singing.

Also visit the organic gardens behind the hacienda and see where the food comes from. There's a lot to do here with the beautiful pool, the ruins, Ik Kil Cenote and other cenotes within a few minutes drive. And the hacienda is the best place to stay to visit the ruins as you can get into Chichen Itza early in the morning before the tour buses arrive and get those wonderful shots minus the crowds that appear after 10 am.

And what a great place to sleep! Quiet, dark, peaceful. At the break of dawn the birds start singing. I just had to get up and open the windows to listen.

The spa is in a lovely setting. I didn't have time for a treatment this time around, but last time I had the chocolate (Kakaw - Maya coco bliss treatment). Delicious!

The only negative? I didn't want to leave! This is a place I could easily stay a week and just relax, read, and take walks. It's a very special experience and would be a great honeymoon spot.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any room -- depends on the price you want to pay. All are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

What a beautiful account! We are glad to know that the only negative you had is that you didn't want to leave. Thank you for giving us the chance once again to serve you. We are so happy to know that you made a more personal connection with the Mayan children this time and thank you on their behalf for your kind support. The beautiful words you have expressed about your visits are a vital part of our growth and for that, we are most grateful.

We look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

I first visited this hotel in 1973 and swam in their amazing swimming pool and when I returned 33 years later it was still fantastic. I was delighted to travel here with my wife to share the wonderful hacienda with her. We stayed in a bungalow room which is very private but is nice and close to the main building. The food in the restaurant is fantastic and the service is great too. We returned several years later and had another wonderful experience at the hacienda. I would say that it is a 'MUST' stay place in Mexico. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our yellow bungalow suite was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Glad we stayed as the hotel is so close to the ruins and is set in beautiful gardens with decent bird watching but something just was not right. The stiff, awkward service in reception and the restaurant did not help and it felt like the place was always trying to up sell. The menu did not help as it excluded tax which was added when the bill arrived.

We had lunch, dinner and breakfast and all the food was fairly good which was a bonus.

The room is quaint and rustic, comfortable enough though for a nights stay.

The hotel arranged a guide for the ruins which cost about £37 for the two of us plus the £9 entrance fee each and it was far better than just wondering about wondering on our own, it did bring it alive.

The hotel is fine for a stop off but does need to update the service to a more relaxed style and possible update the room interiors.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. Your feedback help us shape our business to meet our customers expectations and we will continue our efforts to meet them in the future as well.

We hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for one night. It is a perfect location to access Chichen Itza via the quieter entrance and gets you in ahead of the coach loads of people which arrive from around 10:30am.
The grounds, main building, rooms and swimming pool are beautiful and the perfect place to relax and get some shade. We were treated to a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was very kind. The room was very comfortable with an extremely nice bed. It was probably our best night of sleep of the entire trip. Very nice free coffee in your room.

We would have given this 5 stars if the food had been a good standard and if the service at the restaurant had not be so formal.
We don't mind paying a little extra than normal for really good food but sadly the dishes were the least flavoursome of all our meals in Mexico. Bland taste and not great ingredients in my opinion. It is a real shame! Because of this, paying just under £50 for dinner (2 main courses, one dessert, two beers and a fruit juice) was not to our liking.
Also the waiting staff are very nice but they need to be a little less formal and relax a bit. It felt extremely stuffy and serious.
Improve the food and service and it would be a 5 stars for sure.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about our service. We feel so honored that you found your room comfortable and that you had the best night sleep of your entire trip, wow! On the other hand, it is a bit sad to hear about your comments on our meal service as we are very proud to be among the best restaurants on the area and the Yucatan. We have received great food reviews that you can also read in this place from many customers and food lovers that value our healthy gourmet meals. Hopefully, we can capture you heart next time you visit us.

All the best,
Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Within walking distance to the second quieter entrance to Chichen Itza this is a prime spot to stay. Lovely bungalows, fabulous main building and great dining out on the terrace. The service is very good and drink selection is excellent. We also had spa treatments which were very high quality and even a small Mayan love ceremony from the spa owner which was very moving. I would definitely recommend this place, you only need to stay 2 nights, which will give you plenty of time for the pyramids, spa, relaxation and 2 lovely dinners. There are also lots of books on the history of the pyramids at the property, if you dont want to buy a guide book!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your entire stay and hope you visit us again to enjoy each time more and more this amazingly green destination.

Warm regards,
Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This property offers very nice rooms, a beautiful garden, a good restaurant and great amenities, in a beautiful and relaxing environment - but also walking distance from the ruins (less than 5 minutes away from the entrance of the Chichen Itza ruins). The staff is very helpful too. You can stay away from the crowds during your stay and during your visit, which makes it the perfect place to stay in Chichen Itza.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s1rscub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for visiting our hotel. Your review is much appreciated for all of us. We will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations.

We look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Sincerely,
Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed one night en route to Mérida in order to be able to visit Chichén Itzá before the crowds arrived. For this purpose, this was the perfect choice for us. The Mayaland Hotel is closer to the ruins' entrance, but it is a much bigger property that seemed to get overrun by the coach tours. The Hacienda Chichén has a much quieter and more elegant feel. We were greeted with refreshing chaya and pineapple drink during check-in, perfect after a long day of travel.

Our room was fine--spacious, if a little dated, but you are really here for the site, not to lounge in your room. If I had it to do over again, I might pay a bit more for one of the more recently updated rooms with a hammock on the patio. It was too rainy to swim when we were there, but the pool is beautiful and well-tended, as are the grounds and the main hacienda building.

Service throughout our visit was impeccable. I was expecting it to be a little rough around the edges, based on some of the reviews here, but I found all the staff to be very professional, courteous, and attentive. Side note: We asked the front desk to arrange a guide to meet us at the hotel in the morning to visit the ruins--not strictly necessary--but it was convenient, and our guide, Adan, was lovely, soft-spoken, and well-informed. If you are willing to spring for a private guide, I'd recommend it, because compared to our experience on a group tour of Uxmal, this was miles better and allowed us to go at our own pace.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hacienda, and food was very good, especially the sopa de lima, There is live music at dinner and, of course, birdsong. If we were to return, I would probably book for two nights and rent a car so that we could explore this area a little more and enjoy the hacienda grounds further.

Last note: the hotel is very involved with local community service programs through Pack for a Purpose, as detailed on their website. We arrived with a small bag of school supplies to donate to a local children's program, and the staff at the hotel was very appreciative.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about the great experience you had at the Hacienda Chichen. We enjoyed reading every single word and feel honored that our service throughout your visit was impeccable. We value your trust, and we’ll do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve.

Please come back soon!

Sincerely,
Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,405 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
313 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
474 reviews
23.9 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Chichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Chichen

Address: Carretera Merida-Puerto Juarez Km. 120 | Zona Hotelera de Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: £111 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Chichen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly boutique hotel, the Hacienda Chichen is committed to sustainable tourism and is devoted to Mayan culture and local community welfare. The resort consciously promotes an eco friendly environment rooted in Mayan tradition, which presents guests with plenty of romantic charm. An ambiance of 'home away from home' welcomes the Hacienda Chichen guests. The property's close proximity to the adjourning Chichen Itza ruins is a major plus for those travelers wishing to avoid the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Chichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Hotel Chichen Itza
Hacienda Chichen And Yaxkin Spa
Hotel Hacienda Chichen Yaxkin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing