We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and beautiful Mayaland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful Mayaland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

A group of us rented two bungalows at Mayaland in June. We had never stayed there and had to trust their website and tripadvisor. When we pulled onto the property we were pleasantly surprised by how spacious and beautifully landscaped the property was. Immediately someone showed up to pick us up on a golf cart. He drove us to reception and helped us with our luggage. The bungalows are roomy enough and its nice to have your own little house. There are three pools on the property and we used all three! The restaurant was good for breakfast and for dinner. Five of us stayed two nights and didnt have any complaints. I would stay at Mayaland again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Chichen Itza. Also its very close to the Cenote Il Kil which is my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Muchas Gracias for your review !
We look forward to having you again amongst us. Happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    430
    127
    66
    29
See reviews for
369
575
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The stay at Mayaland hotel was probably one of my favorites. Not because they had the most comfortable chairs, or huge feather beds, but because of the location and the staff. It is just a short walk to the hotel’s private entrance to Chichen Itza, and you are able to enter at 8a. As you walk around the hotel though you start to see just how many people work here. All of them are willing, happy, and able to help you in any way they can; knowing some Spanish really helps though.
Every time we passed the front desk Salomon or Freddy greeted us by name and always asked how our day had been and what we had done. They were both very kind to us. Miguel’s two-week shift started our last day at the hotel, but we were able to talk to him three times throughout that night, and learn from him too. He even gave me a private lesson on the Mayan method of counting. Wilbert was also very helpful, and told us about the Mayan temples in Ek’ Balam. If he hadn’t of done this, we would of missed out on a great place.
Everyone in the staff is happy to talk to you, and share what they know about Chichen Itza and the Mayan culture, all you have to do is be willing to spend a few extra minutes with them. If you treat them like friends, they will happily be your friend. By the end of our short 5 day stay here, the staff knew us by name, and we knew most of them by name too. I also was able to learn more about the Mayan culture, and some of their language. The first day we arrived we were told that at Mayaland Alex said they are like a family, and on our stay we became family too; I feel as if this statement truly sums up our entire stay. Yum botik amigos!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel have a view of the Observatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillpickle93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your objective and informative review, and for sharing it with the world's traveling community. Our people greatly appreciate your comments; we want to welcome you again and again and look forward to your next visit. Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Alex greeted us upon our arrival and told us that we were "home"...that Hotel Mayaland was our home during our stay there. He was right. We felt at home. The staff greeted us by name when they saw us. We were surprised with a fruit basket in our room. They taught us Mayan...well, they taught our daughter Mayan as she is the one with a gift for languages.
I have never been to a hotel where the entire staff worked so hard to make certain guests felt at home and had every need and whim taken care of. One night, we mentioned we were going to look at the stars. A telescope magically appeared for our use on the balcony. The next night, we were invited to a private astronomy lesson.
Don Juanito greeted us each morning with delicious coffee. Alex, Freddy, Tony, Pancho, Valerio, and Wilbert were absolute joys and made each and every day perfect! Wilbert brought us local fruits to try. This really added to our enjoyment as we felt we were eating things that the locals eat instead of only "tourist food".
The hotel is full of charm. The views and grounds are breathtaking. We felt that this vacation was the perfect blend of adventure, history, and home. You won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mayan Observatory Room. The view was stunning and there was plenty of room for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a delightful review ! For remembering the names of collaborators that enriched your experience and truly made you feel at "home" . We have let them know how much you appreciated their smiles and service. We hope to see you again at home in the near future!
Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Thankfully we were only here for one night & in fairness to this hotel it does serve its purpose well which, as far as I see it, is merely to allow its guests access to Chichen Itza early in the morning before all the tour buses arrive & hawkers set up - for this I gave this hotel a 2. It's worth staying here for this fact alone if you want to see the site properly... Now for some home truths:

The staff at reception were unable to give us even basic information such as where the bus station was located - let alone they couldn't tell us how much a cab was into the town from the hotel.

The restaurant was empty when we ate dinner and breakfast. You have no choice but to eat here as you are in the middle of nowhere. I have had better food in hospital (processed rubbery chicken, bread that had a bite taken out of it clearly being reused). This was the most expensive & least enjoyable meal we had throughout our MONTH in Mexico. The staff were so rude. Also they bring food out with a cloche over it, but lift it before it reaches the table?? Odd..

The breakfast included incinerated bacon & stale bread for me (i am allergic to eggs).. My partner couldn't even eat his eggs they were that vile so pretty happy I'm allergic in any case. At least the waiter was very cheery..As we were eating breakfast we witnessed about 5 birds come in & eat a leftover breakfast that had yet to be cleaned (despite the fact the restaurant was empty!!!!)... Maybe that explained my bread from dinner...

The downstairs bar had no atmosphere whatsoever yet I have had cheaper drinks in Vegas than I had here. I get that we are in the middle of nowhere but does a coke from the mini bar fridge really have to cost €2 when it costs 50cent in some restaurants in Mexico... A beer cost €5 if I remember correctly.

I am sure I will receive a rudely written reply to this review, as I have seen the management do for other such reviews... I would advise everyone to read those replies, they are very indicative of the rude, tourist trapping ethos of this hotel in general, & stand as a warning to prospective guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Mayaland predates, in namesake and operation, by decades, Disneyland. We believe we provide the best experiences in Yucatan. Please allow us to serve you again. We want to give you our best effort. Until hen, safe and happy trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

we stayed in one of the junior suites for 3 nights as part of the Yucatan explorer tour. Our Bungalow was away from the building and adjacent to one of the swimming pools. Whilst the rooms are a little dated this probably adds to the character of the location. The hotel even has its own entrance to the ruins at chichen Itza, which allows you entrance early in the morning to miss the crowds. The hotel almost feels as though its out in the jungle. the Hacienda is a couple of hundred yards down the road, but you are at least a couple of miles away from the local town, Piste, a small Mexican town with very little if any tourists during our stay (21st to 23rd June). we were on a Thompson all inclusive holiday. We used to the restraunt during the evening, waiter service was very good and my wife myself and a 'fussy eater' 21 year old daughter all enjoyed the quality of food. We did use the buffet for lunch one day, the food was fine and plentiful however the restaurant was quite busy. I think there were parties of visitors to Chichen Itza who had stopped for lunch. in Summary, you could not beat the location or the atmosphere. Yes, there will be more modern hotels in the world, but the old world charm of this hotel and its location were perfect for us. Warning - buy the best mosquito repellent you can!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent location right by the ruins. Grounds were beautiful, pools were wonderful. Can't say enough about the service, everyone was super nice, helpful and top notch. Definitely going back, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicojunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We look forward to your return !

Thanks for such a great review of your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel has a really nice location. A few steps form Chichen Itza park.
The staff is polite, most of them English speakers.
The service were amazing.
The food could be a bit better.
I took a room with view. It was cool wake up with a Mayan Observatorium in the landscape.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments!
We look forward to being your host again in the near future.
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Property: Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing