We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very touristy and American but a fun experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My family stayed at Mayaland for one night. It was beautiful, comfortable, with lots of conveniences and dining options and an excellent ruins site walking distance away (Chichen Itza - obviously what you need to do if spending the night in this area!)
The staff was almost over-friendly and seemed to want to be tipped, but that's ok, because they went out of their way to give us a hand with show tickets to the planetarium, tour info, and even called us a tour guide to Chichen Itza.
The buffet restaraunt had good options, but not a whole lot of authentic food. There was jello in the desert bar!! I'm sorry, but that screams "American tourists, eat here" to me. If you want authenticity, go into the city or to the nearby Yokdzonot cenote and eat there (See my other post about that place - phenomenal!). If you are coming from a cruise ship or don't have much time to explore lunch options, it was good overall, complete with live dancing, but very much like a place Americans would pig out in, not something typical out of Mexico. The drinks were good everywhere at the hotel - the bar and the restaurants. There is a beautiful garden, pool, and even a fun chocolate museum/shop that you should check out! (But, note that some items are locally made and others are imported at the chocolate shop, so read the labels if you are picky about those things.) Bottom line - if you want American luxury, Mayaland is a nice place to eat and sleep! Personally, next time, I'll take a bungalow room!! Oh, and watch out for the beautiful peacocks all over the place!

We wanted to see the Chichen Itza light show but it was cancelled so we saw the Mayan Skies planetarium instead. I think it was not spectacular like the light show would have been, but it was a fun little evening activity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galaxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Thanks for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a beautiful hotel! And it couldn't be in a better location! And.. THE BEST LEMONADE I have ever had in my life!!! Service was fantastic too! The grounds are beautiful, the architecture is amazing, the view of the observatory when you first arrive is fantastic.. bring your camera!!! The history of the hotel is also great and there is a chocolate museum on site too... as if all the rest wasn't enough!!! Will be back.. next month actually!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here! This place is gorgeous. The bungalows are great as are the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

We eagerly await your return!! THANK YOU for such a wonderful write up of your experience while with us, and for sharing it with Trip Advisor readers. All of us at Mayaland wish you safe travels and a happy return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had an amazing stay, the meals were good and the prices fair. The hotel is surrounded by vegetation, its in the middle of the Mayan jungle but it has a store, swimming pool, restaurants, etc. At night there is a planetarium with an English show for free about the Universe and the Mayas.

There is a regional show at lunch for free if you eat there. The hotel has a private entrance to the Chichen Itza Pyramids so you can go to back and forth to the Pyramids (its a 5 minutes walk) and the hotel at anytime, but you have to pay the daily entrance fee.

The rooms were comfortable and the staff very friendly and chatty. Many celebrities such as Pavarotti, Jennifer Lopez, and Royal family have been in the hotel. There is a suite called the Pavarotti suited built for him and it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Wow ! What a fantastic, thorough review ! Thanks for sharing your experience with the world.
We really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from 17 August 2013 on a Yucatan Explorer Tour with Mayaland Tours through Thomson holidays,It was a wonderfull experience to enjoy this classic hacienda style resort set in a lush landscaped setting full of birds and small wildlife with beautifull pools and large cabana bungalows with 3 rooms each,the room was spacious with elegant furnishings,coffee making facilities,fridge, large screen TV,air con and a fan,with the added protection of a mosquito net over the bed,it had a large bath/shower room with the personal touch of hotel herbal toiletries.The bar and restaurant were in the hacienda main building which faced the Mayaland Observatory,the restaurant was partial open so you could eat inside or outside.The menus were a choice of Mexican Maya food which was excellent.The hotel also has a private entrance to the Maya Chichen Itza site as an added perk,so you could access as you pleased once you have paid.There was also a Planetarium in the grounds which did a nightly show of the Maya culture,well worth the small cover charge to experience.A great historical hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I.W.S.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for such a great review! And for traveling with our sister company, Mayaland Tours Gray Line Yucatan's Yucatan Explorer tour and experience. We look forward to your enjoyment of our "Timeless Paradise" in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had an excellent 3 night stay in late July booked as part of an inclusive Thomsons package. It was a privilege to stay in one of the thatched-roof bungalows situated in the beautiful grounds of this hotel with it's distinguished list of previous visitors. The hotel has its own entrance to Chichen Itza and hence indisputably deserves the 5 stars for location.
The spacious room was a delight with a king-size comfortable bed, en-suite bath / shower and balcony a few steps away from one of the swimming pools. How nice it was to stay in a comfortable, clean, quiet and convenient room with such old-world character.
All the hoitel staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the breakfast,lunch and dinners we had at the hotel and especially the convenience of the buffet lunches which allowed us to continue with the sightseeing, feeling replenished and refreshed.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the end rooms in a 3-room bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartFromKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

The privilege is ours. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A group of us rented two bungalows at Mayaland in June. We had never stayed there and had to trust their website and tripadvisor. When we pulled onto the property we were pleasantly surprised by how spacious and beautifully landscaped the property was. Immediately someone showed up to pick us up on a golf cart. He drove us to reception and helped us with our luggage. The bungalows are roomy enough and its nice to have your own little house. There are three pools on the property and we used all three! The restaurant was good for breakfast and for dinner. Five of us stayed two nights and didnt have any complaints. I would stay at Mayaland again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Chichen Itza. Also its very close to the Cenote Il Kil which is my favorite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Muchas Gracias for your review !
We look forward to having you again amongst us. Happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The stay at Mayaland hotel was probably one of my favorites. Not because they had the most comfortable chairs, or huge feather beds, but because of the location and the staff. It is just a short walk to the hotel’s private entrance to Chichen Itza, and you are able to enter at 8a. As you walk around the hotel though you start to see just how many people work here. All of them are willing, happy, and able to help you in any way they can; knowing some Spanish really helps though.
Every time we passed the front desk Salomon or Freddy greeted us by name and always asked how our day had been and what we had done. They were both very kind to us. Miguel’s two-week shift started our last day at the hotel, but we were able to talk to him three times throughout that night, and learn from him too. He even gave me a private lesson on the Mayan method of counting. Wilbert was also very helpful, and told us about the Mayan temples in Ek’ Balam. If he hadn’t of done this, we would of missed out on a great place.
Everyone in the staff is happy to talk to you, and share what they know about Chichen Itza and the Mayan culture, all you have to do is be willing to spend a few extra minutes with them. If you treat them like friends, they will happily be your friend. By the end of our short 5 day stay here, the staff knew us by name, and we knew most of them by name too. I also was able to learn more about the Mayan culture, and some of their language. The first day we arrived we were told that at Mayaland Alex said they are like a family, and on our stay we became family too; I feel as if this statement truly sums up our entire stay. Yum botik amigos!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel have a view of the Observatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillpickle93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your objective and informative review, and for sharing it with the world's traveling community. Our people greatly appreciate your comments; we want to welcome you again and again and look forward to your next visit. Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
734 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
206 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
342 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing