We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time we will stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Next time we will stay longer”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Like travel was in the past. The accommodations are 50's 60's and truly enjoyable. Besides the the sites of Chichén Itzá this Hotel has it's own history and allot of it. The charm of it's isolation in the jungle and the extra attentive staff make this place a must destination. We will be back , it was one of the highlight of our Yucatan Adventure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
...We look forward to your return! And to enrich your life with wonderful experiences.
Until then, happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    441
    130
    68
    30
See reviews for
390
595
45
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel only one night in early Dec. 2013. If you are into 5 star American hotels with all the amenities, this is not for you. But if you love Mexican old world charm - tile floors, archways, beautiful and naturally landscaped grounds, outdoor restaurants and good food, then by all means, give it a try. It was comfortable, clean, and the pillows were the best I've ever slept on. We had a view of the ruins but the views of the gardens were just as good. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackientx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We all look forward to your next visit! And we'll help you make a week's vacation the best one you have ever had! Rio Lagartos, Izamal, Uxmal and the Puuc Region of the Yucatan Peninsula are magic places you do not want to miss. So come back soon to be pampered!
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, TN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had our 3rd visit to the Mayaland and it was as awesome as ever. The bungaloos are fun, neat and clean, though a bit dated. The restaurants are excellent. The proximity to the historic Chiche Itza site makes it well worth the visit. THE STAFF IS TRULY AMAZING!! We love this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyflyr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for visiting us for the third time! Return visits mean the world to us. Please let us know next time you are visiting that this would be your fourth. I personally would like to welcome you again to the Mayaland. May you have a Merry Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you want relationship with the nature is excelent. The location is 5 minutes walking from Chichén Itzá and you can get the access directly from the resort. The food is very good and nice breakfast too. Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nictheroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for visiting with us!
We look forward to your return.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I want to start the review off by saying how amazed I am with the service at Mayaland. I have stayed here before, and am returning- primarily because of the reservationist that booked me the last few times.
Yes, you read that right... the RESERVATIONIST is a main reason why I am returning.

Let me explain:
I have been to this area 6 times. Six vacations in the Yucatan. This will be my seventh... and I have stayed at many different places. The reservations are always a nightmare to make... and I arrive PRAYING that everything will be in order. Gianni at Mayaland has always taken care of everything for me, and I know that my reservation will be in order, even transportation when I need it, and that I am getting the best possible deal. Email Gianni, and you will know that you are taken care of. gianni@mayaland.com

Onto the hotel itself...
Listen... you are in the Yucatan. There will be bugs... they will sometimes find there way into your nice, climate controlled room... you will have to kill the occasional bug and wear bug spray- you need to let that go. Ever see a tailless mexican whip scorpion? yeah- harry potter didn't make that up. buck up people.

Remember, you are a short walk from one of the 7 wonders of the world and you are going to pay accordingly. In life, you generally do get what you pay for, and with this property, part of what you are paying for is the proximity to an amazing world treasure. Nothing is cheap here...not the food (I mean, where else are you going to eat... there is no TGIFridays around the corner)... not the rooms (you are almost in the SHADOW OF CHICHEN ITZA) and not the transportation there (what, are you going to walk or take a collectivo from cancun?)

nothing in this area is cheap, but considering everything that you get in return, it is worth it. i have stayed in the nearby hacienda chichen, which is lovely- but even MORE pricey, and have decided that mayaland is truly the place to be... bigger, more room options... better availability during high season.

service was very very good, reception was amazing, the guy driving the little trolley was even fun... the cleaning crew was equally friendly and seemed like they too were annoyed by the ever present mosquitos in the bathrooms.

so, why am i not giving it 5 stars? the restaurant. seriously, I am sure that it is more difficult than i can imagine to provide truly fresh, good food here... but lets talk about the over-salting of everything. literally everything (even the side of RICE) was salted to the point that neither me nor my partner wanted to eat it... but we HAD to. (it really was late and there seriously is no TGIFridays).

all in all, a very good place to stay- made excellent considering where you are- made even more excellent by Gianni and her attention to detail in reservations.

I will put up some pictures when i return from this round…

Room Tip: I would go with a Bungalow or above, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plasticbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
What a fantastic review! Wow!
You are into your seventh visit of the Yucatan... and that alone places you in a class by yourself.
Your comments are objective and enriching. It will be an honor to meet you on your next visit.
Please let our reservationist, of which you refer to very highly, know that you are visiting us for the eight time and that the hotel owner gave you a complementary Mercedes transfer to the Mayaland from the airport of your choice, Cancun or Merida,. I look forward to meeting you. Happy Holidays and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This old hotel boasts important guests who stayed there over the years. It could do with some renovation and upgrading by now. Rooms do not have telephone, and that is a problem because we had a tube at the sink in the bathroom, which decided to unplug suddenly, flooding the bathroom and part of the room before we where able to shut it down. Had to run to reception to get help. Have to say staff responded immediately and by the time, we returned from diner everything was cleaned up and repaired. Rooms have airco and a fan and mosquito net over the bed. Very useful has room was infested with mosquitoes. Diner and breakfast was ok. Excellent location for visiting chichen itza site. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us!
The Mayaland was built almost a century ago. We are perenialy working to upgrade and improve every aspect of the property. Not an easy task when the building is am mist Mayan Temples!
It most be done with great care and respect for our surroundings.
We look forward to having you with us again. Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I booked this hotel online at their website for the sole reason of early entry into the ruins. I thought for the price ($88 a night in November) that the accommodations would be very basic. To our surprise and delight, our room and the hotel were magnificent. You can get a pretty fair idea of the hotel style from people's photos - three story hacienda with wide sweeping staircases, outdoor hallways overlooking the superbly landscaped gardens and pools. I suspect that we were upgraded to a superior room because it was huge, and had a very large balcony overlooking the grounds. There were stained glass windows, lots of carved wood, and we had an enormous whirlpool tub in our tiled bathroom. For the lady who complained about not getting a king size bed, it appeared that all the rooms in the hotel itself have comfortable double beds. A very slight downside in this day and age, and it really wasn't a problem. The hotel was built in the 1920's so it has the grandeur and style of an historic hotel. It reminded me a bit of some of Julia Phillip's architecture. We went to the onsite Planetarium show called "The Mayan Skies" (in English, but headphones and translations are available in other languages). A very engaging and often beautiful depiction of Mayan legends. Not long, but very enjoyable - suitable for families. After strolling back through the grounds, we went to dinner in the dining room. As others have noted, very romantic and delicious food. After a quick breakfast (we decided to pass on the breakfast buffet and do the lunch buffet instead), we took the 8:00 entry into the grounds from the hotel's private entrance (they share with the Hacienda next door). Far and away the best way to see the ruins. The government operates the site, and not surprisingly, Guide services are pushed at the entrance, but we opted to self guide. Not sure how much more the guided tour would have added, bit we wanted to do it at our own pace and have many books on Mayan culture to read. We were there while it was still relatively cool and before most of the hordes of vendors set up. After a leisurely stroll around the ruins, we were able to go back to the hotel for a swim in the pool and a rest in our room. We went back and found the ruins overrun with tour groups! After another stroll around (distances are not great, but it gets very hot), we came back to the hotel for checkout (generous 1 pm checkout which can be extended for 100 pesos) and had the buffet lunch before departing. There were a number of local dancers to entertain and an enormous buffet with about 8 stations, including several specializing in Yucatan and a Mayan barbecue. The staff was courteous and helpful at all times. We didn't have time to try the spa - perhaps next time. Couldn't be more pleased and can't wait to come back here. Will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: The bungalows look lovely if you can afford them. We didn't ask but will check it out next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive, wonderful review of our property and your experience while with us! You truly enjoyed what we are about... Service with a smile in a unique setting. We look forward to your return. Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
203 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
332 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Property: Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing