We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're already there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You're already there”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We flew into Cancun and drove immediately to this hotel at Chichen Itza, arriving around dinner time. It is a charming hacienda style hotel with thatched roof bungalows that has its own private entrance to the park that opens at 8 a.m. This was perfect because we beat the crowds and the heat. We stayed in the main hotel, in a room with a balcony looking out on some of the ruins in the park. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was also very pleasant to sit out on the verandah and to wander the grounds in the evening and the next morning. The only downside is that the food is only so-so. We got the buffet dinner which is served in a separate thatched-roof open air building. The setting was great, the food was only so-so. The same with breakfast in the main building which we ate sitting outdoors. Great setting, average food. Also, the hotel advertises that it can make change dollars 24 hours per day. However, they did not have any change either day. This was a problem because the park only accepts pesos, no credit cards or cash, which is what we had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thanks for your visit!

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    440
    130
    68
    30
See reviews for
389
593
45
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in a superior room upstairs for one night. The room was clean and pleasant and we were very impressed with the private Jacuzzi. The hotel itself is a beautiful setting and the staff are extremely helpful. Although there didn't seem to be much choice for dinner, what was available was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for visiting with us and for your nice comments.
You were at Mayaland all to briefly. There is so much to see and enjoy in our surroundings, you may want to re visit with more time to devote to our many wonders.

Until then, may you enjoy safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel property is soooo clean, and the entrance to the Chichen Itza ruins is literally on the grounds of the hotel! We toured the pyramids, came back to swim, toured again. The rooms were quaint, overlooking the well manicured lawns. Want something really unique? Rent a bungalow and you'll be in a secluded area....so wonderful.

The food at the restaurant was WELL ABOVE anything hotels serve.... EVERY meal was a treat.

Then...the people....they were amazing, and made the experience just that much better.

Have fun, and enjoy the history of the Mayas!

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be double beds...rather small, and the mattresses are not all that comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlinfmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
What a great feeling one gets from your comments. THANK YOU !

You truly enjoyed what the Mayaland has to offer and we are all grateful for your posting so that world travelers are aware of what the Mayaland truly is about, at rates that we believe give the best ratio of price to service, experiences and amenities anywhere in the western world. Right in the heart of one of the Wonders of the World

We would be honored to have you visit us again. Until then, may you always enjoy safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our group of friends stayed at this property arriving around 9 pm. We had a long day for travel and we were hungry and tired. The rooms we were given needed updating and did not have closable window (wooden shutters with screens). It was cold when we arrived and many of us suffered being very cold during the night.
The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and went to the ruins before the crowds arrived. We were close enough to walk in through the back gate. By the time we returned to check out and have lunch the hotel was mobbed with bus loads of tourists and a big BarBQ was burning smoke directly into our rooms! I was happy we were leaving. The hotel has a newer section and a beautiful swimming pool with a nice restaurant over looking the pool and gardens. Perhaps if you stayed in the newer area it would be less uncomfortable.

Room Tip: I would pay more and stay in a newer room or bungalow. Ask for a room away from the Bar BQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelokb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
As mentioned on various previous responses, we are totally remodeling the south wing of the hotel, one room at a time, so as not to disturb anyone.

We have over 500 acres of grounds, with at least 30 that are beautifully landscaped and cared for by an army of 36 gardeners..... for properties that together have less than 90 rooms. Please read the comments of countless guests that treat the subject objectively. The Mayaland does cater to day tours. Not so the Lodge, open only to individual travelers. The rate structure reflects that.
Some patrons enjoy a lively ambiance. Other prefer the quiet environs offered by the Lodge.

Thanks for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent one night at this hotel and would rate it okay overall. We rented a car and drove from the Cancun airport to Chichen Itza in about 2.5 hours. The toll road is fast and no traffic. Average around 80mph but do have pesos for the tolls (around 270 pesos).

The hotel is in a very convenient location right at the entrance to the park thus just get up in the morning and walk over (5 min walk). The hotel down stairs is nice and the food is good. The room upstairs is okay. Safe and clean but a bit outdated and a bit worn. We had a view of the observatory thus nice patio.

Overall good place for one night but wouldn't want to spend more time there than one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanville, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Our own bungalow with a pool, beautiful grounds, peacocks strolling by and sooooo convenient to the pyramids! Margarita and a nap in the hammock on the bungalow porch. My children and I were in heaven!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thanks for your thrice beautiful comment!

We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Wonderful.

We'd love to welcome you again. Come back soon. Until then, may you have safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the level of service. It is very high. Very courteous staff, attentive, polite and not at all overbearing. 10/10 .
Food in the main restuarant is good if somewhat overpriced. Bottled water is well overpriced, but I'm afraid you are a captive audience.
Visiting the ruins (via the hotel's own entrance) is easy but do go early (8am).
The interior of the hotel is very pleasant, airy verandas overlooking the well laid out gardens. Our room was a bit "tired" but everything worked.
All in all you're paying a hefty premium for an excellent location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful comments.... which are not reflected on your opening phrase or your final score. As mention in other responses to reviews, we are quietly remodeling ALL our rooms in the main building. One at a time, so as not to disturb a single guest.

We hope to be of service to you in the future. Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
202 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
332 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Property: Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing