We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Chichen Itza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location for Chichen Itza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel I was almost ready to give 5 stars, only a few small things changed my mind and I really wanted to give it 4.5 stars.

This is a hotel in the best location you can get for Chichen Itza - it's a 30 second walk to get there and you can beat the crowds by getting up early and going straight to the ruins.

All the staff were very friendly but the front desk staff were only helpful when I started to get forceful with them. For all people travelling there to see Chichen Itza first thing in the morning who do not bring cash with them - you can NOT use credit card to get into the ruins AND the ATM at the hotel is LOCKED until 9am. This makes no sense to me, particularly if you have planned your day and then have to wait around for it to open. BUT to the front desk guy's credit, he tracked down a security guard who temporarily opened the door so we could use the ATM. My concern is that other travellers will face the same dilemma - an ATM in an OPEN section of the hotel would seem to make more sense - I hope management will take on board this suggestion for future guests.

The rooms are nice - i don't agree with other previous reviews saying they weren't nice enough - considering the star rating and the price they are really great. In fact, if the bedding was upgraded (it looks very old and worn), I think the hotel could increase their star rating as the bathrooms are already fantastic and the facilities are good too.

The food isn't overly cheap, but not overly expensive either, so perfectly fine for the location. The food is very nice and I recommend eating all meals there. The ambiance is lovely.

There is no lift, BUT the staff are more than happy to help your baggage up the stairs!

We hired a car and drove down from Cancun - it's a good option but anyone doing this be warned of the $25 toll plus another $5 or so BOTH there and back on the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liztiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for your visit. Your comments are interesting and well taken.
You most know that the Federal as well as the State government are the only institutions that operate and manage the entrance fees, sales of tickets, non acceptance of credit cards and everything related to the Archeological park, temples and all elements inside Chichen Itza. We provide the bungalow, for free, that houses their respective ticket sales offices inside our hotel grounds, for the use of our clients. The ATM found inside a store within our facilities will now be opened at 7:30 AM, thanks to your review. Muchas Gracias!

We look forward to having the honor of your visit again. Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    420
    123
    67
    29
See reviews for
360
568
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfect place to see chichen itza. You can walk to the ruins' entrance and you can beat the Cancun tour buses if you go in the morning. The grounds were amazing and the hotel served very good and reasonable buffet meals so you don't have to drive into town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for visiting with us.

We appreciate your comments. We are all delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your return!

Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Yucatan last night. We stayed at the Hotel mayaland. Let me tell you it exceeded my expectations. This place is magical, beautiful views, food ...delicious. ceviche the best!. Room and bungalows very clean. It only took about 5 minutes to walk to the ruins . Staff was very professional and so friendly. Thank you Miguel and Wilbert you guys are awesome we will definitely be back. You guys made our vacation very special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Etrapozzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks so much for visiting with us and for your wonderful comments!

All your friends at Mayaland are thankful that you got to learn their names. Bravo! We are all happy to know they made such a difference during your visit.

We really appreciate the fact that you share your BEST VACATION experience with the world's traveling community. Muchas Gracias!

We hope to have the honor of your visit again in the near future. Until then, may you enjoy safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Mayaland is a good location to get into Chichen Itza. It's easy enough to get into the ruins first thing in the morning before all the tourist buses get in. It also helps that most of the traders are still setting up at 8am so you don't get bugged as much. He staff is really friendly. Drinks and food slightly overpriced but you don't have much options in this regard.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrettMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your visit!

I am surprised to read your good comment and the poor grade on your review. Perhaps the cost of the drinks made you decide on the mediocre rating. Please tell me... where in the world do you pay about 4 dollars for a premium margarita? Not even in Tequila, Jalisco! No, I don't believe your assessment of our pricing is fair. If anything, the value factor of the Mayaland Hotel is exceeded only by it's beauty and location. Honestly. Like you, I travel the world. Coming from London, I am truly surprised at your comment.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The location, grounds and staff make this resort a wonderful experience. It can be a challenge to get to however. We opted for a private driver from the Cancun Airport rather than bus since we had limited time. The driver worked out well but was very expensive (roundtrip $500). Hindsight being 20/20 we would have rented a car since the roads are in very good condition and well marked. The primary advantage of this hotel is you can beat the crowds and heat at Chichen Itza by getting an early morning start right from the hotel grounds. The gardens surrounding the hotel with the pools and restaurant are a nice way to spend the remainder of the day. A number of tour buses are routed through the hotel during the day, but weren't a big issue since the facility is designed to handle them. I was taken back a bit when I attempted to purchase a bottle of sun block from the hotel gift shop and the asking price was $27 (US!).

We hired a driver to take us to the Ek Balam Mayan site, which I would highly recommend if you have the time. Ek Balam is much less crowded than Chichen Itza and has a bit of an Indiana Jones feel with remnants of jungle surrounding the ruins and you can still climb to the top of the pyramid. This also affords the opportunity to tryout a local restaurant outside of the resort for a bit of local flavor.

Room Tip: We had an observatory view room, which had a nice deck overlooking the ruins to sit on in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thanks for your visit and your objective comments!

Next time you visit our area, give us a call. We have a toll free line from the USA & Canada. We'll
provide you with a Mercedes Benz transfer for less than half of what you paid for a taxi.
As you suggest, renting a car is another very good option. It gives you the mobility to visit so many attractions very much worth your time inside the peninsula. And driving the Yucatan is among the safest drives on earth! Venture to Uxmal and the Puuc Region, the very best Yucatan has to offer!

May you always enjoy happy and safe travels. Hasta la vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
330 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stopped in the bungalows and enjoyed the whole experience. Faultless staff. Excellent food. Take time to walk the grounds as this will enhance your Mayaland experience. Short distance from the mayan ruins at Chichen Itza.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
...And we loved having you with us! Thank you for your visit and your wonderful comments!
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful. It is right next to Chichen Itza and has a private entrance. You can go in early and beat the crowds. You can also return later in the day if you have the time.The exterior of the hotel and grounds are beautiful! You can eat on the patio which overlooks the wonderful gardens.Our room was quite spacious and we had a balcony with a beautiful view.. The rooms especially the bathroom part need a major remodel! Service was good and friendly as it is throughout the region.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for your visit !

You are right. Our standard rooms need remodeling and are they getting it! !00%. From tip to toe.
With spectacular new bathrooms. Our first couple of rooms will be ready by month's end. we are doing this extremely quietly so as to not disturb anyone, and we are succeeding, that is why you did not notice it.

We look forward to your return visit. The light and sound spectacle is to be re-inagurated in a couple of weeks and it promises to be the best ever.

Until then, may you always enjoy safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
24.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Property: Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing