We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pyramid View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My mother and I recently visited Mayaland, we're blown away by the singular pyramid view from our eat on pateo. The stunning tropics blew us away, the heat and humidity almost killed us! The resort was quite nice, but skip the buffet and go to a nicer restaurant on the property. We stayed in a 2.5 floor walk up near the main pool, quite nice and very refreshing, that had all the amenities. I would stay there again, but not just for the loveliness of Mayaland, but for the back entrance to the site that you get making it easy to visit Chichen Itza periodically thought the day. The main gates are to be avoided at all costs!! Mayaland is just sleepy enough, has the ease of local travel (cenotes) and Chichen Itza, a wonderful bar tender, and friendly waitstaff. What is holding me back from 5 stars is the walk up, though porters carried our bags, and food. 4.5 would be perfect! Mayaland is also a great children's hotel if you are bring them to the site! It's a must stay!!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank princessinchica... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for your visit!
Hasta la vista.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Mayaland has literally Chichen Itza in the backyard and has the perfect location for a visit to this seven wonder of the world. The entrance to Chichen Itza was a short walk, around 4 minutes, from the reception, and that gave us the opportunity to be there the moment they opened. That gave us 30 minutes, one hour alone with only 6 other people. This made the visit to Chichen Itza much more special. It also gave us the possibility to take a rest midday when the heat was worst and there was most people inside. We had some hours at the beautiful pool and relaxed before we took a new look at Chichen Itza in the evening. Perfect!
The only minus with Mayaland was the restaurant. It was a bit expensive and the food wasnt that great. We had to nights at Mayaland, and tried the restaurant the first evening and wasnt happy. Luckily had we a rental car and the next day drove we to the small city Piste, only 5-10 minutes north for Mayaland and here found we a lot of more cozy, better and less expensive resturants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ludvig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for you visit.
Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

So much to say but I'd rather not bore you so here goes a summary. Greeting was great after our visit to Ek Balam and Valladolid, we were greeted with ice cold lemonades and happy faces. YES, it is safe to drink the hotels water and ice for those that want to know.
We stayed in the hotel and not the bungalows. Our 1st room was really bad, the AC was not working and neither was the plumbing. However, they were able to quickly change us to a different room on the 3rd floor which was excellent. NOTE: No telephones in any of the rooms so be prepared to walk up and down if you need extra towels etc., Ac units are not as powerful as we hoped so please keep in mind that it may not be as cool as you'd expect. Coming from Miami where our temps may reach 85-90 it was not too bad for us..
Overall this hotel has great pools, good food, good drinks and if you are looking to escape from the city life, want to see a jungle and the clearest stars at night from the comfort of your suite, this is the place for you. They maintain the Mayan traditional appearance throughout the hotel and staff. Extremely convenient for us to walk back and forth to the ruins because they are located in the hotels back yard. Our tour guide VICTOR, from Grayline tours is the BEST! He is an experienced tour guide that knows his history and even brought pictures with him to show. There is no doubt that we had a restful and memorable family experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your visit!

We hope to have the honor of being your hosts again. Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved this hotel, which is straight out of an Isabella Allende novel. We stayed only night and will be back for me. We splurged on one of the rooms overlooking the Mayan Observatory. We left the blinds and windows open and were greeted by a spectacular solstice sunrise over the ruins. It was such a special way to end our trip. The jungle enveloped us upon our arrival and we loved walking the grounds at all times of the day. We had a wonderful breakfast on the patio and enjoyed listening to all of the birds and visiting the gardens. It is a treat being situated at the back entrance to the ruins and were were the first guests in the park.

We read other reviews and were prepared to pay crazy prices for water and internet use. This seems standard of hotels in remote and spectacular locations. I only give it a 4 because we arrived at dusk and found no one at the front desk in the parking lot. A second entrance to the main hotel was hidden in the dark and we spent some time in a complete panic. We started walking and eventually found the front desk. The 10-minute walk was almost completely in the dark. There was also not clear signage on the road and we had to ask for help to find it. We choose to arrive at dusk, but did assume the grounds would be easier to navigate. Second the park staff were quite late arriving to work on the day we toured the ruins. It is great the property boasts having its own entrance; however, if the guards don't arrive to work on time, it negates the privilege. The Mayaland park guards must check in each morning at the main park entrance and then walk to the Mayaland entrance. We stayed at the Mayaland so we could see the ruins first thing and arrived early in the morning to wait to be the first in. We would have been better served at the main entrance. It was unfortunate this happened, so be prepared. Last, our room had two full beds. This seems typical in Mexico but would have loved one large bed.

Loved the hotel. Truly an unforgettable experience! Hope to be lucky enough to go back!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to see the ruins from your room. Make sure you don't get two double beds on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your visit !

Please realice that Chichen Itza Park management is done by the Federal Government. The yards are government employees. WE provide the facilities (building, utilities, etc. etc.) but they are totally beyond anyone's control but the Federal Government. They are punctual 99.9% of the time. They most have had a problem the day of your visit. We kindly request that you do not reflect this upon the hotel.

Muchas Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night. Absolutely beautiful setting and grounds Front desk/reception not very helpful on arrival.. Evening meal on arrival was not great. Rooms lovely. Ideal for viewing Chichen Itza as you can walk in at 8am and beat the crowds and the heat. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your visit and your nice comments on the beauty of our resort.
We look forward to the honor of having you amongst us again.

Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We took a side trip for a couple of days to Chichen Itza and stayed at this hotel. The grounds are amazingly beautiful and expansive. Iguanas are everywhere. The hotel is right at the Ruins and we could see some of it from our room! The room was adequate but had a jacuzzi tub and a nice sized patio that the room opened up to. Wifi was only in the lobby area and not in the rooms. There are no elevators! The a/c worked fine and was necessary. I would recommend this hotel for visiting Chichen Itza.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor that overlooked the dining patio but we could see some of the Ruin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We appreciate your visit and your nice comments. Thank You.

We'd love to be of service again in the future. Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night at Mayaland to visit Chichen Itza having read that the location was ideel for visiting the park. That's really an understatement. The hotel is located about 100-150 meters to the main attraction. The pyramid. You can't actually see the pyramid from the hotel but it is right behind some vegetation. I suppose that's intentional since you really wouldn't have to cut a lot of trees to get a full view. Anyways the good thing is that you can just stroll over to the park when it opens at 8.00 am and basically be the first ones at the site. We stayed in room 21 which is a twin bed room with direct view to the planetarium.
Pros:
- Location - perfect
- Rooms are very niced spaced and decorated
- Surroundings; the hotel and bungalows are set in a well kept garden/jungle
- The bar; the cocktails made by Valerio where amazing

Cons:
- Pool area; the pool area is not very well kept. Seems there was some sort of renovation going next to the pool area which made it less appealing. Some of the sunchairs were broken.
- No wifi in room
- Front desk staff; the front desk staff were not very welcoming and gave us wrong information three times on bus scheduele.
- The lunch buffet is ok but gets sort of annoying when a lot of outside tour visitors invades the place. So go early or late to avoid that scene if you like to eat quiet.

Comments/Suggestions:
I would recommend that the hotel upgrades the pool area to look more in line with the rest of the hotel and property. It's a bit strange that the only staff who was not smiling and welcoming was the front desk staff. That's a disappointment. Wifi in room is not that important especially at a place like this. But still in todays world it is sort of expected.

Room Tip: Room 21 has perfect view of the planetarium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your visit !

We look forward to being of service to you again.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
313 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
473 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
353 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: £76 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing