We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night as part of a tour of Yucatan. The hotel is a perfect location for Chichen Itza as it is on the same site. We had a bungalow lodge which was a short walk from reception. It was a good size for three people and was clean and looks very pretty with thatched roof and spacious veranda. The bungalows are in a lovely setting with lush green gardens and tropical trees. The birdsong is beautiful.

We arrived not long after midday and were offered two choices of restaurant for lunch. Taking a midday buffet lunch was a big mistake. It's an overcrowded pure tourist trap / coach tour stop off and the food was not good. It would have been much better to have eaten in the main restaurant which is very good. We had a very good meal in there at both dinner and breakfast the following morning.

There are three pools. The one we swam in was small and shaded and needed some maintenance to its tiling. The main pool near the reception looked really nice.

The only other issue we had was that the golf trolley that was promised to pick us up with our luggage from the bungalow to reception did not turn up and as our driver was waiting we walked in the heat with our cases. Just a minor disappointment / irritation in the scheme of things.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the bungalows.

CCW - UK

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for viewing Chichen Itza through our resort, and for your 'charming' review.

We hope you'll visit us again.

Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    433
    129
    67
    29
See reviews for
373
579
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If the Chichen Itza is one of the seven modern wonders of the world, than Maya Land Resort is compliment to this wonder. Those who drove straight into jungle to see the world renown archeological site and made a choice to stay at this resort have counted themselves among the famous few who did the same - among them Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo, Indira Gandhi, Jennifer Lopez, and above all - the epitome of "chic"!
This hotel built thanks to Andrew Carnegie's foundation efforts to revitalize interest in Mayan civilization in the twenties has successfully captured spirit of that epoch and offers their guests this brief encounter with the glory days of adventurers discovering new worlds and travelling with the class.
The privilege of "in" and "out" pass to the archeological site right from the hotel ground in our case came as a blessing. It was too hot around 11:00 AM when we decided to abort our tour of the site and come later in the afternoon. We went to the room took shower, changed and enjoyed swimming in the pools that were surrounded with manicured jungle around us.
There is no many hotels in the world that would allow company of world famous for about $100.00 a night. We have felt that privilege of being in a special place through out two days stay.
Later we stayed in the couple resort with five stars in Cancun where unlike in this hotel everything function well. We could not get really hot water in our double bath tub at Mayland. Still, I appreciate my stay at Chichen Itza more. It is the same feeling as if you have visited your grandma in the house that still preserves grandeur of her time. And although mixing valve may not hold properly, you are ready to forgive, as there is no "other" place in the world that can offer the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your visit and the fine comments you made.

All of us that devote our efforts to this venerable resort appreciate your review

We hope to have the honor of being your haste again.
Until then, may you enjoy safe and happy travels.
Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is just perfect. I don't give 5 stars often but this place is just awesome. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the food is good, the cocktails are cheap and great, the whole scenery is just amazing. Beautiful plants, trees and very romantic bungalows. The main area is an old colonial building which looks very nice. Everything is just spot on and feels very pure. I can't understand why some people could give this a bad rating. I would highly recommend this resort to everyone.

And there is a private entrance to the Chichen Itza so u can be there at 8.00 am when it opens. Do your route when there is almost no one in the park and after take a refreshing swim at one of the many pools and order a pina colada, watch and listen to all the birds and enjoy one of the many great views this resort offers.

What more do u want? We booked only one night, I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Just enjoy complete relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
All our collaborators THANK YOU for your stay and the wonderful comments you have expressed in your review of your experience while with us. Muchas Gracias.

Do spend more time with us on your next opportunity. There is so much to see, learn and admire all around us ! Mayan Villages, Cenotes, Colonial cities, Flamingos, and yes, just some good old R & R right in our beautiful resort.

We look forward to having the honor of being your host in the near future,

Until then, may you always enjoy safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just stayed in one of this hotel's bungalows for the third time. We were blown away by how nice, peaceful and wonderful this place was the first time we went and we go back again and again. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly and the hotel is optimally located. There is even an entrance to the ruins on the property. The hotel has rooms in a tower, but we prefer staying in the bungalows that are fashioned after the Maya huts. Each comes with air condition, mosquito nets and TV. Many have a swimming poor right in front. The hotel is rustic, so don't expect opulence like you get in Cancún, but that's what we like. Here you can get away from the hustle and bustle in Cancún and enjoy true Mayan hospitality. And talk about peaceful and quiet. When was the last time you could go to sleep and not hear sounds of traffic coming from somewhere. You won't here it at this hotel. And there is no light pollution here either. At night you can see the stars like you've never seen them before, not to mention the Milky Way. The food at the main restaurant is fantastic albeit a bit pricey. Skip the buffet. It is for the tourist buses that come for day trips from Cancún and isn't as good as what you can get at the restaurant. If you're thinking about doing a day trip from Cancún, don't do it. Come and spend a few nights here instead. You won't regret it. One thing the hotels lacks, however, is good wi-fi. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby and it is excruciatingly slow. The only time I could ever get messages was by getting up early before everyone else started trying to connect.

Room Tip: Stay in the bungalows instead of tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your visit and your wonderful comments.

We look forward to being your hosts again and again. Muchas Gracias.

Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATELLITE BEACH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Resort has captured the perfect blend of architecture, rainforest, and jungle. The room and Balcony have a wonderful view in a semi private setting. The Resort is built right next to the Chichen Itza Ruins. The Entrance is literally a 5 minute walk from your room. I would Stay again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
What a great complement ! THANK YOU !!

We all appreciate that you chose The Mayaland during your stay in CHichen Itza, and look forward to having the honor of being your hosts on your next visit.

Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My mother and I recently visited Mayaland, we're blown away by the singular pyramid view from our eat on pateo. The stunning tropics blew us away, the heat and humidity almost killed us! The resort was quite nice, but skip the buffet and go to a nicer restaurant on the property. We stayed in a 2.5 floor walk up near the main pool, quite nice and very refreshing, that had all the amenities. I would stay there again, but not just for the loveliness of Mayaland, but for the back entrance to the site that you get making it easy to visit Chichen Itza periodically thought the day. The main gates are to be avoided at all costs!! Mayaland is just sleepy enough, has the ease of local travel (cenotes) and Chichen Itza, a wonderful bar tender, and friendly waitstaff. What is holding me back from 5 stars is the walk up, though porters carried our bags, and food. 4.5 would be perfect! Mayaland is also a great children's hotel if you are bring them to the site! It's a must stay!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank princessinchica... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your visit!
Hasta la vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Mayaland has literally Chichen Itza in the backyard and has the perfect location for a visit to this seven wonder of the world. The entrance to Chichen Itza was a short walk, around 4 minutes, from the reception, and that gave us the opportunity to be there the moment they opened. That gave us 30 minutes, one hour alone with only 6 other people. This made the visit to Chichen Itza much more special. It also gave us the possibility to take a rest midday when the heat was worst and there was most people inside. We had some hours at the beautiful pool and relaxed before we took a new look at Chichen Itza in the evening. Perfect!
The only minus with Mayaland was the restaurant. It was a bit expensive and the food wasnt that great. We had to nights at Mayaland, and tried the restaurant the first evening and wasnt happy. Luckily had we a rental car and the next day drove we to the small city Piste, only 5-10 minutes north for Mayaland and here found we a lot of more cozy, better and less expensive resturants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludvig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for you visit.
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Property: Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing