We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed here, as most people do, because it has it's own entrance to the ruins and you can beat the rush before the tour buses get there.
We had a bungalow in the grounds near a swimming pool. It was hot and humid and the pool was awesome. The hotel bit seems crowded but it was very quiet were we were and the pool wasn't crowded.
The room was big with a bed on a second floor as well. The bathroom was fine although the floor got wet when the shower was used. The room was wood paneled with AC and a fan.
The suprising bit was the food was good. They only had one restaurant open (lack of guests me thinks) which was the A la carte one. The buffet was shut. We expected the worst but were suprised by the quality of the Mexican food and the waiters were very good.
All in all a positive experience for the 2 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is 2 hotels in 1 to suit all tastes and different budgets. We are a family of 4, with 2 teenagers. We booked a twin room in the main hotel for the teenagers. This was excellent, everything they needed, clean and very cool. They loved the free internet (we had been charged up to $10 per hour at other hotels). The rooms were a good 4 star standard.

For ourselves we booked a double in a bungalow. Wow oh wow oh wow. The room could not have been nicer. Full of carved wood, stained glass windows and the most amazing bathroom – double Jacuzzi bath. Lovely terrace, hammock, great seating area and a little path down to the loveliest pool we had whilst in Mexico. More expensive than the main hotel, but 5 star and to us worth it.

The Mayan food in the restaurant was exceptionally good, reasonably priced and the service was great.

However this brilliant hotel is really about location, location, location. There is a gate directly into the ruins and you are there immediately. This meant we could go in late in the day and early in the morning. This had the fantastic benefit of having the place almost totally to ourselves and seeing it at cooler times of the day. Amazing and then to go back for a great swim, good food and relaxation.

In my opinion if you are going to see Chicken Itza this is the only way to do it. We booked private transfers to and from the hotel with Jumbo Tours which was perfect (not keen on driving and getting lost, tends to spoil our holidays, but each to there own) which were very well priced. All in all a perfect break from the coast and a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The grounds are beautiful, and make it so convineint to stay here overnight to be able to watch the Mayan Ruins and the light show.

The staff is incredibly nice, they do anything to accomodate your needs. The food at the hotel restaurant is Horrendous. The only problem I had with the room was there were soo many bugs keep getting in. When I turned off the lights I kept getting bugs hitting on my face. I killed a spider, several bugs, and also seemed to have bed bugs in the Bungalows. The sheets had some blood on it, which made me scared that indeed there were bed bugs.

I have mixed feelings with the property, Its beautiful, perhaps a room in the main building wouldve been much better. Stay away from room CHICHEN - 1.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

With a view of the ruins from the hotel lobby and it's own entrance into Chichen Itza, this hotel couldn't be better located. The manicured jungle grounds are stunning and the hacienda style architecture and furnishings are captivating. I agree the plumbing needs an overhaul, the towels are shabby and the food is mediocre, but the room rates reflect that. The hotel and the ruins are not to be missed. Best to arrive in the afternoon, see the night light show and do the ruins at 8 a.m. A swim afterwards works wonders.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasualTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

If you're looking for a relaxing getaway near the ruins, this place is perfect! The bungalow was beautiful, with carved teakwood doors and shutters. Our front porch had a hammock and our own table and chairs, looking out to the pool we shared with just five other guest rooms.

The Chichen Itza ruins are right next door, literally a 50 foot walk from the hotel. It was perfect for getting to the site early while it was still cool and leaving mid-morning when the heat started to rise.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night and received a golf cart ride to our bungalow. One thing we would suggest to other guests is to bring a flashlight. There are no outdoor lights, so we couldn't have found our way around without the staff. And there was a short power outage one evening in which we could have used some light to get from the restaurant to our bungalow. Much to our surprise, when we arrived back to our bungalow, the staff had already set a lit candle on our porch. Some people might not like the prospect of lost power, but for us, it added to the adventure. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiatraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

The Mayaland website claims this a 5-star hotel. Most of my complaint in this hotel comes from the fact that the hotel is in desperate need of repair and is definitely not a 5-star in its current condition. For example: The jets in the jacuzzi tub didn't work. The air conditioning died on us the last night and it was unbearably hot. One of the beds was broken. No phone or safe in the room. One of the windows wouldn't close properly. There was a dead bird on our balcony when we first checked in. I don't know how the maid missed that! Also, there were animal droppings all over the patios and areas surrounding the pools and restaurants. It is beyond me that they don't clean it up! They have golf carts available and will shuttle you for free to wherever you want to go on the property, which is great. However, the carts seems to be 20 years old and should really be replaced. Definitely not 5-star worthy.

The pros include that there is a nice entrance to Chichen Itza from the hotel. The gardens around Mayaland are also beautiful. We enjoyed the convenience to the park and the secluded atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guntherbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We expecially enjoyed the lush landscaping and wildlife - birds, peacocks lots of iguana and a handsome black cat. Rented a cabana and mostly had the place to ourselves due to the swine flu scare. The food was average at best. Had a good cesar salad made at the table one night, but it went down hill from there. So don't go for the food.....
The ruins were a disappointing. We were there in 2002 and you could climb the temples and go inside. Since it's now a world heritage site, you can only walk past - so we won't be back. Our guide, Victor, was very good and we enjoyed our tour with him.
You can find less popular ruins in the region that you can still climb and get the hands on experience. Get a map and look for the ruin symbol.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepperSeaside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
751 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
485 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
372 reviews
24.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: £75 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing