We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
Nearby Hotels
Hacienda Chichen(Chichen Itza)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Oka'an(Chichen Itza)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen(Chichen Itza)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Quinta Marciala(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonte(Valladolid)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Zaci(Valladolid)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Candelaria(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
201
94
29
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
94
29
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate entranceroyal mayanmosquito nettingmultiple swimming poolstour busesfamous guestshotel guestsgolf cartmain restauranteasy accesshotel is situatedbeautiful propertyday trippersbuffet lunchmayan sitelight showamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Peaceful, welcoming and just one of the most welcoming places we have ever been. Listen to the birds and frogs from your hammock. Go early to explore the ruins (before all the sales men) return for a swim and drink by the pool, then revisit the ruins after the tours leave.
We loved this so much that we canceled one destination to stay at the Uxmal resort run my the same company.

Room Tip: The bungalows surround the pools and frogs gather there at night to sing you to sleep at night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you so much for your visit and your very nice comments!

We look forward to your return. Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We felt the service was excellent as the accommodations are as well . the birds sang all night long the swimming pools were very clean the properties maintained really well. The breakfast was wonderful the dinner the night before was really good we had a traveler with us who needed gluten-free only foods and they were really right on top of it. Loved having Chichén Itzá right next door without having to drive there. The only negative comment was we didn't know exactly how to enter the hotel by car and ended up in the lower parking. It was empty it was hard to find the reception desk. Enjoy this treasure. Summer is very very hot.

Room Tip: Wifi was down.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your visit and your wonderful review !

I take due note of your experience entering the hotel. Thank you for letting us know.
Wi Fi is finally being addressed by the archeologists and they promise to help the carrier with the necessary work. We should have a powerful signal soon.

We hope to have the honor of your visit again in the near future. Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place gets some mixed reviews and after spending the better part of two days there I understand why.
The good: 1) the property itself is beautiful; 2) the bungalow lodging is excellent -- quiet, nice access to the pools, a large room, nice bathroom, good air conditioning (which is very much needed). 3) excellent bar with good appetizers, good drinks 4) great location with its own access to Chitzen Itza that allows for early morning access, which is a must 5) very nice breakfast that is included in the price.
The less than good: 1) only one night time dining option, which was very expensive and consequently had very few guests. The food wasn't bad but very much overpriced. 2) reservation policy -- I booked 2 nights about a month out, without paying close attention to the cancellation policy. A couple of days later we adjusted our plans after reading reviews of Chitzen Itza stating that it was not a 2-day event (totally agree). Though I was still 3 weeks out, the lodge charged me a rebooking fee to swtich from two days to one. That seemed a bit ridiculous to me especially at this time of the year which is offseason.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SierraTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

You broke a string of two dozen PERFECT reviews... We are sad. Sad because we all really try very hard to excel, in every way, including value. I particularly believe the value is exceptional, a fact shared by the great majority of our guests.
Where in the world do you get all that you applauded in your review for the price of a run of the mill hotel room? Our hand made bungalows are very expensive to up keep. Our priciest menu entree is under $40 USD and most are under $15. Our drinks are less than half what they are in Cancun, most of the USA hotels in our category... Sad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This gem is adjacent to the archaeological site and the place to stay if you are planning a visit to Chichen Itza.
We rented a car at CUN airport and drove the tollway (about $25 USD) to the Lodge.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the bellman and whisked to the main hotel via golf cart for check in. The hotel is beautiful and has the old world charm of times gone by.
Our room was in the bungalows a short distance away surrounded by lovely gardens and a semi private pool. The room was spotless, spacious, and quiet. The porch is a great place to curl up in a hammock and listen to the birds.
We had Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the main resaturant. There is a buffet too but we enjoyed the restaurant food and service so much we never ventured away. One of the best evenings was topped by our waiter Regelio preparing a traditional Caesar salad for us tableside. Superb dining under the stars.
The Hotel and Lodge have an entrance to the Chichen Itza ruins so one can enter the park upon opening in the morning. This is perfect as the tour buses from Cancun have not arrived. Only a few others will be in the park at that time, it is very quiet and magical. Come 12 noon it is getting hot out and the tour buses have arrived. Also vendors have setup tables with trinkets to sell and the park is getting crowded.
That is time to head back to the lovely Lodge at Chichen Itza, take a swim, unwind and discuss the marvels of the Mayan Civilization.

Room Tip: The end room of the bungalows have a large curved window with screens. It makes for great sleeping when open and waking to the sounds of birds.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_keygrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

What a beautifully written review of your visit while with us. Congratulations !
You summed it up PERFECTLY well. And they all add up to be the essence of a great experience.

We hope to have the honor of having you as our guest again. Until then, may you always enjoy safe and happy travels. Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

During our brief tour of Mayan ruins in Yucatan we stayed at both the Lodge in Chichen Itza and the Lodge at Uxmal. The lodge at Chichen Itza is an incredible place and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to have a great travel experience.

The quality of service is outstanding, provided by staff that is both competent and welcoming. They greeted us with a welcome snack that was delicious, full with food from the zone and contacted us with a great tour guide by the nickname of "tortuga" which made our visit much more interesting.

The location is a few yards from the ruins, which allowed us to visit first thing in the morning as they opened and were able to take pictures with no or almost no tourists. The magnitude of the place is such that experiencing it empty is overwhelming.

Rooms are clean, comfortable and with very good air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCarvallo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying at our Lodge and for taking the fabulous Mayaland Yucatan Explorer Tour !

We all appreciate your wonderful coverage of your experience while with us throughout Yucatan, including your review for your stay at The Lodge at Uxmal. Muchas Gracias.

We hope to have the honor to serve you again in the future. Until then, may you always enjoy safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews