We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great place.”
Review of Casa Denis

Casa Denis
Ranked #52 of 368 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great place.”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It was a great atmosphere! free tequila and as much salsa and chips to your hearts content! the tortilla chips were fresh made and some of the best! if you try their green salsa make sure you only have a little bit!! its some of the hottest salsa i have had yet. They have a grilled pork that is incredible. I have never had a bad meal there and always walk away with a happy face and an even happier stomach not to mention a happy wallet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    179
    61
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Tx USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was ok”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were on a DCL that stopped there in Cozumel and I had previously researched where to eat so when we asked a store employee about Casa Denis she agreed it was good. Very easy to find just be prepared to pass tons of vendors along the way who are eager to sell you something. Once we got to the restaurant, we were seated right away and were given a basket of tortilla chips with salsa. The waiter recommended the "Mexican Platter" which came with a piece of skirt steak, a piece of adobo type pork, two chicken flautas, beans, crunchy fried plantains and guacamole. The flavors were ok, just seemed a little on the skimpy side. We also ordered the "lime soup" which had shredded chicken in lime broth, also ok only the chicken seemed a but dry, not fresh. Overall ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EHH_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cute little place with history”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just stopped in here for bite............I had the tortilla soup which was great and we had the Queso- also very good. Service excellent- Jackie Onassis ate here as they claim. Very convenient to the square too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjp4767212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I highly recommend the Octopus.
The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very comfortable.
When you are out on the patio you are right on the street where you can people watch.
It was very buggy when we were there and the staff was quick with bug spray to make sure we were comfortable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bensuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

One of the oldest restaurant in Cozumel and always good. A trip to Cozumel in never a trip without Casa Denis. Thank you for always making us feel at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Denis also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing