We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the old French Quarter!”
Review of The French Quarter - CLOSED

The French Quarter
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The French Quarter is a Sports Bar downstairs and fabulous restaurant upstairs with late night entertainment on the weekends. We are under new Ownership and have a brand new menu! Our specialty is Cajun/Creole cooking with a touch of the Deep South! You don't have to go to New Orleans to get an authentic taste of Cajun/Creole cooking! Just drop by and eat under our gorgeous Palapa Roof dining room to the sounds of Cajun Zydeco music! Feel free to dance if you get the urge!In the downstairs Sports Bar we are in the process of adding more satellite receivers and more TV's to make sure we can carry the most sporting events in Cozumel. We are currently able to show every MLB game scheduled on a first come first serve basis. Don't miss a football game! We will have the most football games available all season long!
middleville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the old French Quarter!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Sadly, Sabores has closed as a restaurant, but the cook and manager have moved down the street to the old French Quarter restaurant, which had closed. Will and Jose continue to offer local food at very low prices. Support them in their new venture!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    1
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best mojitos!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This little gem was a great find. This place is one of the best places for mojitos! The service was really good and fun. We stopped in for just drinks and ended up staying for a couple of hours. Every round of drinks they brought out appetizers on the house! Our time in Cozumel was 10 days ad we made it a point to go back 3 times. We will be going back on our next trip there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodland hills, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

I'm living in Cozumel for 2 months, so I've been trying out all the different Resturants. Last Friday a group of 8 of us wanted to enjoy a great dinner that had a good atmosphere.

We were the only people in the entire Resturant & our server was really fast at bringing our beers to us but that was about the only good thing. We waited 30minutes to order before one of my friends went downstairs to grab him. Once we ordered it took over an hour & a half to get our food. It i imagined at least some sort of music to be playing to get the place some life, but sadly we waited in a graveyard of a resturant. I ordered the French qtr combo which had a cup sampling of their gumbo, jambalaya & shrimp creole (they were out of the shrimp, but allowed me to substitute it). The food completely lacked taste! To wait that long for our food & to be served horribly cooked pub food was a nightmare. Everyone agreed we'd never return for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danyell_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
156 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Laissez les bons temps rouler”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

One of the most unique locations in Cozumel. If you get a craving for Cajun while on the beach....this is THE place. Great owners & staff, prices are reasonable. Only thing missing is the smell of the river.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NTXDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had A Great Time”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We went in to watch a football game on December 29th, we had 12 in our group. We all had dinner with drinks, food was awesome, service was quick. Met the owners Dave and Fran, wonderful people, even though he is a Aggie, he's a good one. We stuck around to check out the band, Zoom Trio, they were awesome, danced and drank until the Band finished. We all had a great time and I can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Quarter also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing