We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got ripped off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Plaza Leza

Restaurant Plaza Leza
Ranked #301 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We got ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a review of their happy hour deal. They were advertising one dollar Coronas like many of the establishments around them (even next door I believe). Anyway, after sitting for a while, we decided that we would move on. We got several beers and all of us also purchased a bottled water. As we were getting our check, the man informed us that our beers would be two dollars because we didn't get any food. Of course, this is not posted anywhere and possibly he just made it up. So, after arguing for a while and making a little bit of a scene we paid our 'bill' and left. We left no tip since the guy built in his tip by lying to us. He told us many lies like this is a rule of the owner and that he just checked with him about this. Then, he told us he hadn't spoken with the owner and that he was unreachable. Then he told us he didn't even have his number.

So, in short, I'm sure its possible to have a good experience here, but we had the worst. If you guess the conditions of the deal, perhaps you can get a good one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average food- Good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We sort of ended up in the middle of a waiter fight over customers with this restaurant and the one next door. In hind site, we should have just found someplace else. We ordered the Queso Fundito and it came in a nice double boiler type of heater to keep the cheese melted. That was the highlight of the meal.
They offered a free margarita with lunch, we don't drink but asked for it without alcohol. It was awful. I couldn't even finish mine. It was at least cold.
They don't accept credit cards. It is right on the square, so it is a good place to people watch. We also met a nice couple that was sitting at the table next to us. I think that there are better places to eat and spend money in Cozumel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biology-Teacher308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Beware: you might get ripped off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The food is just run-of-the-mill, no different than dozens of other places in Cozumel which are far more interesting. The problem arises when you try to pay your bill. In a sign only in Spanish, tucked away so as to not be obvious, they tell you they don't take credit cards. That would be OK except for the fact that if you don't have pesos and try to pay in US dollars, the exchange rate they suggest is a good 20%+ below going market rates. (For instance, when I was there, the going exchange rate as more than 12.5 pesos to the dollar; they translated my peso bill to dollars at 10 to the dollar. That is larceny by any other name. When I complained, they immediately changed the exchange rate to 11 to the dollar, revealing that they knew they were ripping me off. Go somewhere else which offers better food and a better attitude to the customer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat and Watch People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Good food, reasonably priced, great Margaritas and wonderful people watching right on the main square.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Safe Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Good safe food. Right accross the street from the town square. Miguel the waiter is the best. Very helpful and a great host. Lots of shopping in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank elgordobowmanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Plaza Leza also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Restaurant Plaza Leza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing