We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Secret on the East Side”
Review of Playa Bonita

Playa Bonita
Ranked #46 of 374 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Liberty, Mississippi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret on the East Side”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I always take a day trip into Cozumel. Rent a jeep and stop at a lot of the beach bars and visit with the local artisans and see their work to pick up happies for people back home as we make our meal time around 1:30 at Playa Bonita. We discovered this little secret about 3 years ago and this is where we always eat. And get the Big Margarita. We last visited on May26 2014. This is our 6th time to eat and visit. Javier and the "gang" make you feel right at home.

I always get the Shrimp cocktail -Great selection. My wife has eaten a lot of items and it's all good.

Service is great, clean and has one of the most gorgeous views of the water.

Did I mention peaceful and relaxing. Thus is mental therapy at no charge!

Stop in and get one of the best meals on the island at a GRET price!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    94
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent drinks!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I heard the giant margarita was strong and boy was it! It came in a giant glass and was enough for four people. Great taste and supper strong!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindystoner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh lobster”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Expensive cab ride out to this place but delicious food. Had ceviche, lobster, drinks, chips and salsa. Very enjoyable. If you want to get away from the cruise ship crowds this is a great alternative to staying in town. The open air restaurant is literally at the water's edge. Spectacular. Come early to avoid the pub crawlers.

Helpful?
Thank TXJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Accidental favorite”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We found this place while hungry on the east side of the island, avoiding the crowds at other, slightly better groomed seaside eateries along that coast. What we found was our favorite restaurant in Cozumel. Maybe it was just the honeymoon, our ravenous appetites after diving, or the island vibe, but this is the spot we come back to again and again when in Cozumel. Specifically, the medium seafood platter. This is all we've ever tried here because, why mess with perfection. Add some beer and this is a feast of deliciousness. Squid, octopus, shrimp, fried fish, veggies, fries, pickled onions, and lime wedges will fill your belly and have you wondering how you could have possibly thought of driving on by. Yes, the ambiance resembles that of a hole-in-the-wall frat house, but we will happily scrawl our names on the wall and tip our hats to the (very) well endowed statue every visit. Go. Have a happy accident.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khanoomjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“might want to visit soon”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

better visit soon before the ocean swallows this place up. the first time i was there in the 80's, there was a beach between this place and the ocean...each year, the beach as eroded away. now the waves lap up on the building

location....fantastic on the east side of the island...the building sits up and always has a good breeze and spectacular views

drinks....good strong drinks and cold beer

food...about what you would expect from a dive bar

service...a little raunchy at times

overall...a must visit for a drink or 2 on the windward side of COZ..i just hope it's still there next year!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Bonita also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing