We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time well spent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residencias Reef Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just stayed 10 days in 8170 at Residencias Reef. The grounds are well kept and staff go out of their way to accommodate any need. 8170 is small but who plans to spend time in the room when amazing snorkeling, diving, and beach walking is just steps away? The pools are beautiful if you don't plan to spend time in the ocean. Please note that Carlos and Charlie's and a Secrets Resort frame these condos and they both provide loud entertainment. We both felt very safe and would highly recommend a stay. We rented a car for the week and loved the opportunity to go to the other side of the island for really quiet beaches.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wendytravelsStilwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

What a wonderful place, Residencias Reef #8220; the private beach area, the sparkling clean pools with plenty of loungers looking out to ocean, this upscale gorgeous condo, and the friendly people, all made this a place I can't wait to return to.

Big thanks to Fulvio whose communication and willingness to help with any questions we had made our time there so enjoyable. Also, it was nice to be able to reach Michael easily when we booked the condo and our airfares, and with any questions we had during our holiday.

The condo was absolutely beautiful, with a great view of the ocean, the beach, and pools from the deck. The jetted tub on the balcony was a treat too, a wonderful place to relax after long walks along the beach. Everything was well maintained, bright & spacious, excellent water pressure in the walk-in shower, and a well-equipped kitchen. It was nice to have internet access and a US phone number to be able to make and receive calls if needed.

We decided against renting a car this trip and found that taxis were always available and the drivers honest and friendly. We enjoyed hearing their stories about the history of the Island.

The beach and pools were steps from the condo, the grounds were well cared for; beautifully maintained. The pictures can't begin to show how pretty this place really is. The flowers on the property were lovely, and it was easy to meet people (many repeat visitors) in this peaceful setting.

We spent a day on the other side of the Island, and when we go back, we'd probably rent a car for at least a few days to spend more time checking out the East side of the Island and restaurants there as we loved that part of the Island as well. We had a fantastic lunch at Mezcalitos, right at the shore, and walked along the secluded, gorgeous beach after.

Another highlight along the East side was El Mirador and climbing on the volcanic rock formations as the waves crashed on the rugged rocks and sprayed up through the water-worn rock-openings. Spectacular!

We also loved the panoramic view of the endless white waves in the multi-coloured blue ocean and white sandy untouched beaches from the top of the lighthouse at Punta Sur Ecological Park. Our favourite place for dinner, just a quick cab ride from the condo, was Alberto's Beach Restaurant at sunset....wow, incredible setting, great service, and the seafood was delicious.

Cozumel is truly beautiful. The people were so friendly and this well maintained, beautiful condo was a wonderful place to call home....can't wait to go back! Highly Recommend Residencias Reef #8220. A true Island gem!

Room Tip: Highly Recommend #8220...beautifully maintained upscale condo. Ocean & Pool View from balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in Unit 8360 this past December and were very impressed. Our particular unit was in Building 4 and although it appears to be set back from the beach, almost behind another building, the way it is situated still gives you a great view of the ocean and beach. We visited Cozumel strictly for Scuba Diving and found this to be a great place to stay.

There are a few big pluses for divers staying at Residencias Reef:

First, is free use of the pier next door for dive boat pick up. It was a two minute walk from our unit to the pier and it was super convenient not to have to taxi to the harbor.

Second, is the proximity to the best dive sites on the island. We've stayed in town and also close to the cruise ship piers and the boat rides to dive sites could be up to 25-30 minutes some days. Some of our boat rides from Residencias Reef were as short as a minute or two.

Third, are the showers and a water basin to rinse your dive gear.

Even if you are not diving, RR would still be a great place to stay. The beach is beautiful and not too crowded. If you don't want to get sandy, there are two pools with great views of the ocean.

The only negative thing is being so far South, you are pretty much required to take a taxi or rent a car if you want to eat out. Paradise beach is only a few yards away and they have lots of restaurants/bars, but they all close down in the evening and there is nowhere to get food or drink.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you enjoy a more quiet and relaxing vacation. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our first time in Cozumel, and we stayed at the Residencias Reef Condos. We rented a condo on the third floor of building 3 (unit 7320) from At Home in Cozumel. This review is for the RR property. I have written a separate review for the actual unit.

The RR property was exactly what we were looking for. The location is out of the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, but not so far that you can’t run into town for groceries (recommend the Mega-it has just about anything you might need) or dinner. I highly recommend renting a car, not just to use to run into town, but to also take a drive to the other side of the island. Also, know that there is really no place to walk to if you want to stay close to home for dinner. There are a few beaches within walking distance that have places to grab lunch or a late snack or drink, but they all close at sundown. The resorts that are near RR are mainly all inclusive, so having dinner within walking distance is not really an option. We did find Albertos on our first night, which is a short drive south of RR, and had a good dinner right on the beach sipping margaritas while the kids played ping pong and beach volleyball.

The property is very well-kept, peaceful and clean, and the staff is very friendly. There are 2 heated pools. The deck chairs are comfortable and were available whenever we needed one. By the pool near the beach, there is a large palapa covering two big tables. In the cabinets of the palapa, you will find a small supply of books and pool toys to borrow. Staying in building 3 was great, as we were off the beach (but not very far) and looked down on the second pool, so our teens could be in the pool while we played cards and enjoy a cocktail on our huge balcony. The beach has a number of small palapas and clean lounge chairs to park yourself with a good book for the day. Our kids spent much of the time snorkeling right off the beach (we had our own equipment) and found a large variety of interesting fish. The resort to the right of the condos has a great place to book snorkeling and dive trips, and a few beaches to the left have places to rent jet skis and play on big inflatables right in the ocean. It is a little rocky going into the water, so some water shoes might be a good idea. While it seems like many of the units were in use, the pool and beach areas were never crowded. Overall, the property was very peaceful and a safe place to let your teens go off and do their own thing.

It would be nice if there was a hot tub near the far pool to hang out in after dinner, and the only other thing that is missing is a snack shack where lunch and drinks could be available for purchase during the day. That said, we will definitely return to Residencias Reef.

Room Tip: We liked building 3 as it overlooked the second, more quiet, pool and had a great view of the entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Idontwant2gohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our 5th consecutive year visiting Cozumel and, like many others, have literally fallen in love with the place.
Our previous visits have all been to an all-inclusive resort and, while we have enjoyed it, we wanted to try the condo experience in order to determine how we could plan for longer term stays on this beautiful island.
Not knowing exactly what to expect and, in order to ensure an enjoyable vacation, we decided to book our first week at the Condo and then move over to our AI resort for the second week.

Considering this was our first experience outside the all-inclusive environment, we felt completely “at-home” and thoroughly enjoyed our week in unit 8240. Dealing with the owners and making the arrangements was effortless.

We took the shuttle from the Airport to Isis and rented a car for the entire week(highly recommended). This proved very helpful as the condo is about 15 kilometers from San Miguel. After a quick stop for groceries, we arrived at the Condo to be warmly greeted by the owner who gave us a personalized tour of the unit. A very nice touch and excellent start to our vacation.

The unit is located in building 4 with a direct view of the infinity pool, the beach, ocean, palm trees and amazing sunsets. It is an immaculate one-bedroom that is very tastefully decorated, fully furnished and left us wanting for absolutely nothing during our stay.

We found the entire facility at Residencias Reef to be well maintained with immaculate grounds, excellent pools and a very nice beach. (although I would highly recommend water-shoes to get across the ironshore when going into the ocean)

Our week in unit 8240 was extremely relaxing and enjoyable. Never a problem finding a spot on the beach and always very calm and peaceful.

We took advantage of having a car and made a couple of trips to town for dinner and to visit friends. We also made 2 trips to the other side and come to the conclusion that our favourite spot on the east-side is sipping a cold beverage and enjoying an order of shrimp fajitas from a beachside table at Mezcalitos.

We had some heavy rain during our stay which resulted in an extended power outage but the facility management and the owners were extremely helpful and considerate in dealing with this minor inconvenience.

At the end of our week, we returned the car and prepared for our move over to the Royal Club at the Occidental Grand. (Separate review on that stay)

Overall, although this was our first experience having to look after our own meals while on vacation, we completely enjoyed our week in this condo and would HIGHLY recommend this unit to anyone looking for a relaxing and laid-back stay in paradise.

As for comparing the All-inclusive resort to the Condo experience, I believe my wife summed it up best;
“The AI resort is like living in a fantasy world and the Condo experience is more like reality”.
I’ll close by saying that if our “reality” can be in this condo, steps away from a beautiful beach, the crystal blue ocean and enjoying life on Cozumel well. . . . . . . . .I’m good with that!!!

Room Tip: Renting a car is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NovaScotiaNick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed here twice now at condo # 7110. These condos are well built, clean and a pleasure to stay in. The property is maintained at a very high level. There are 2 HEATED pools and a beautiful long sandy beach. There is good shore snorkeling just beside the pier.
All of the people we met while staying there were fantastic. It is a ways out of town which can be inconvenient. Rent a car you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tropicaljenn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Unit 5120 is AWESOME!! You know it is good when the only thing the unit is lacking is koozies for my beers:) We went to Cozumel November 2012 and stayed at the Secrets all inclusive next door to Residencias Reef. However, Residencias Reef is much better. Unit 5120 looks even better in person. The proximity to the beach is literally about 10 steps from the patio. Having a ground level, beach front unit is priceless in my book. The entry into the water is rocky, but that is why you are able to stand in the water and eventually you will see fish right there. We shared the unit with another couple and the living space has plenty of room to share. My husband is 6'10" and the other guy is 6'4" so it was great that both bedrooms had king beds. Furniture was comfortable and did not look worn. Veronica was great. We had her cook two meals and each was great. Having housekeeping come six days out of the seven was nice, but in my book, not necessary. We went to Albertos one night for supper and our meal and evening was very enjoyable. My husband scuba dived three days with Dive With Allison and he thought his experience was much better than last year. The security at the front gate made us feel very safe. All personnel we ran into were very friendly and did a great job keeping the grounds looking good. We spent a few hours in the swimming pool right on the beach. You can be in the pool and still view the ocean. The pool area was well maintained. One morning, they were chopping down the coconuts and they cut a couple open and brought over to us sitting on the patio to drink the fresh juice. Then they chopped it open for us to eat the coconut. Can't beat it! We did rent a car so being 10 - 15 minutes from town did not bother us. We will be back and will plan on it every year!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with Unit 5120.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
4.2 mi away
The Landmark Resort of Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,683 reviews
1.6 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencias Reef Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencias Reef Condos

Address: San Francisco Beach, Cozumel, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious beachfront condo development combining exclusive tropical living with white sandy beach and Turquoise Caribbean waters. From studios to 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residencias Reef Condos Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing